We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, recently refurbished”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location, recently refurbished”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed at the hotel at the end of august with friends. The rooms are modern yet plush, with large bathrooms. The hotel gym is small but good for the size of the hotel, and all of the machines- like everything in the hotel are brand new. It wasn't quite warm enough when I was there, but the pool area looks really nice- beds, day beds, bar etc....I've been to capetown a lot, and there really aren't many hotel options in such a good location that have pools at all! We had club level rooms that gave us access to the lounge- happy hour in the evening for free drinks and snacks, soft drinks during the day too.... Breakfast in the hotel was a really good selection- hots cooked to order, and good fruit, yogurt, pastries etc...
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katie-likes-holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTCCHI, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you for talking the time to comment on our hotel and your recent stay with us.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel located in the Bo-Kaap area. The complimentary shuttle bus to the Waterfront and free wireless internet are well appreciated by all our guest.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely

Andreas Bossard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    587
    441
    140
    61
    43
See reviews for
172
444
96
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Hilton cape town is located in the historic bokaap area around 15-20 min walk from the V&A. The service is top quality as can be expected from a Hilton hotel. The room is very nice and comfortable and has a view of the table mountain and lions head. The hotel also offers complimentary shuttle on the hour to the V&A waterfront. This service is very convenient. The hotel also offers complimentary wireless internet at the room. This was a welcome addition. We really enjoyed our stay here and will surely come back next time when we are at cape town.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karthiksrinivasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

I was for one night at the Hilton Hotel Cape Town City Center, and my stay here was very average!!

Starting from the reception , when I arrived, there were only one person very busy ( it seems to be!!), and not very pro-active and positive . I am not English mother tongue, but I really understand English, but I had some difficulties also in anderstanding what he said.

Room was average, not bad but nothing of special, while shower and bathroom was nice.

Position , in my opinion is not the best, far from the waterfront and not in the best part of the City Center ( in BooKap - nice place but not the real center).

During my stay I had other contacts with reception, but all the answear was very limited, not totally correct and it seems taht they were very bored!!

In my opinon there were better hotel to stay in cape Town

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoalebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTCCHI, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel and stay with us.

We apologise for the shortcomings at our reception and rest assured that the problems will be addressed through additional training and counselling of the team members involved.

We are located in the historic Bo-Kaap area which is a short walk from the city centre and we offer a complimentary shuttle service to the Waterfront.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Andreas Bossard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Hilton have only operated this hotel in Cape Town since April 2011, having acquired it from the previous owners, so it is still undergoing the transformation into the Hilton Brand.
We found all the staff to be very warm and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble.
The room was spacious and very clean. Our room had a view of Table Mountain. Unfortunately the toiletries are not the usual Hilton offering of Crabtree & Evelyn but a rather unpleasant smelling brand. The bottles are clearly topped up during housekeeping as both our shower gel and conditioner had not been replenished, however the towels were large, white fluffy ones a pleasant surprise as of late Hilton seem to have been putting hankerchief sized "shower" towels in their rooms!
The Executive Lounge is not fully functional at the moment, it appears to have been a conference room which has hastily been turned into a Lounge, it is on a lower floor with absolutely no view, which is unusual for a Hilton who's Lounges are usual on higher floors affording great views of whichever city you are in, perhaps this is something that will be changed once the transition is fully completed.
The building itself has certainly seen better days and is need of some TLC in the public areas which resemble a 70's office block.
They operate a complimentary shuttle service from the hotel to the V&A Waterfront which is brilliant if you want to have a meal and drink away from the hotel.
We ate in the North Indian Restaurant in the hotel, the food, service and value for money was all excellent and well worth a visit.
Without doubt once the Hilton brand is rolling the hotel will be an asset to the Cape Town Hotel scene, I sincerely hope they keep their greatest asset which is the staff, we will definitely stay on our next visit to Cape Town!

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors have the best view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTCCHI, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel and your recent stay.

We are glad to hea that you enjoyed our facilities and services and appreciate your compliments about our team members.

We apologise for the shortcomings of the guest room amenities and executive lounge.

Please be assured that these problems have been addressed and rectified.

We hope to welcome you to back to the Cape Town City Centre Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Andreas Bossard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Staff were brilliant at helping and making us feel welcome. Gorgeous room and a view over the Bo Kapp area. Breakfast was not cheap but it was so fresh.
Facilities were great. We loved the bus down to the V and A, but the Limo back was better.

Room Tip: Hilton Card
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliMac30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTCCHI, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
24 August 2011

Thank you for your kind comments.

I have shared them with my team.

We hope to see you back soon at the Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern ireland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

This is a great hotel, that I would be happy to recommend to anyone, business or pleasure. It is positioned away from the waterfront area. Where most visitors will want to go in the evening, but they make up for that with a free shuttle to and from the harbour side (in a new mercedes) so don't take that as a criticism.
My room was fantastic, being anew hotel it should be, but it had everything and was spotless. But a special mention has to go to the staff I came across as they were fantastic and made the whole stay so easy, whether that was arranging taxis, going out to local shop for me at night or suggesting perfect restaurants.
The gym is great and although didn't use it the pool looked great also. Lastly if you want to stay in the hotel at night the on site Indian restaurants served great food the night I ate there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulAblenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Great hotel, good location & free shuttle to & from waterfront.
Staff at reception & room service were good

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iamgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPTCCHI, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 22 September 2011
Thank you for a taking the time to comment on our hotel and stay with us.

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and services.

Your comments regarding our team members have been passed onto them and they appreciate it.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Yours sincerley

Andreas Bossard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
971 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,252 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Property: Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing