We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good option”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
south africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A good option”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Got this hotel on a deal on lastminute.com The hotel is centrally located and newly renovated with comfy beds and fairly spacious. Free Wifi is provided. The housekeeping staff were very efficient and and when there was an issue with sink in the bathroom they arrived in 5 mins to resolve it.

Cons: No porters (or perhaps no-one bothered to offer us assistance with our bags to the room) and parking at R90 a day is v high! Only 2 checkin/out desks and Check out staff quite slow and had to wait a while. No Alchol in hotel bar.

Should we have not got this room discounted i would have expected more as they market themselves as a 5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighdermick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel. Your comfort is our number 1 priority and I am happy that you had good rest on your Hilton bed.

As a global hospitality company, we serve as a meeting place for people from all walks of life. In an effort to meet the needs of our diverse guests and the communities in which we operate, Hilton Cape Town City Centre provides a Halaal-friendly environment. However, alcohol is available at Signal Hill Lounge located at the pool deck and the Executive lounge.

I hope that this did not negatively affect your stay and that you were still able to create magical memories in Cape Town.

I am happy to report that we have since added a third reception help desk and apologise for the delays you may have experienced during check out.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the future!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    430
    135
    60
    43
See reviews for
166
434
90
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We just spent time at the Hilton Cape Town
They give new meaning to the cleaning service , they cleaning you out completely of your money and valuables.
They don't assume any responsibility for any loss material or financial.
Our advice is to stay away from this hotel

Room Tip: Never again
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gilles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Cape Town City Centre and taking the time writing to us.

Following to your report and personal meeting with you during your recent stay, an internal investigation was launched and findings communicated to you by e-mail.

We do inform all our guests to lock valuable items in the electronically operated safe in the guest room. The Hilton Cape Town City Centre cannot accept any responsibility nor liability for items lost during their stay in the hotel.

Once again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed five people in one of the two bedroom suites (707). Nicely decorated rooms, great beds!! Good service - and a nice pool area with sun all day. Only disappointed was a belated check-in but the hotel upgraded us and supplied a complimentary bottle of wine so it was handled elegantly. We can definitely recommend this hotel for downtown Cape Town

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannaGustav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I was delighted to read that you had a good night's rest on our comfortable Hilton beds. Your compliments on service is also greatly appreciated and has been shared with my team.

I would like to take the opportunity to sincerely apologise for the delay during check-in. I am happy that we were able to offer you an upgrade, but never the less regret the incident. This is not in keeping with the standards we strive to maintain and the relevant head of departure will address the incident accordingly.

We look forward to welcome you back to more sun filled days at our pool deck!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Situated on the edge of Bo-Kaap (the Cape Malay district) with its colourful houses and restaurants the hotel is excellently located within an easy 10 minutes walk of both Long Street - with its plethora of restaurants - and the City Centre. For those who would find the 25 minute walk to the Waterfront too taxing the hotel runs a free hourly shuttle bus there and back between 09:00 and 18:00.
The general management and running of the hotel was exemplary. Staff were welcoming, helpful and friendly; Rooms are well furnished and provide a wide range of amenities and the breakfasts were excellent.
Additional facilities include a small but welcoming open air pool, free internet access and an underground car park beneath the hotel available at a reasonable daily charge.
The Executive rooms on the 7th and 8th floors are luxurious and provide excellent views over either the V&A Waterfront and Table Bay or Table Mountain.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel as a base for your Cape town stay.

Room Tip: Executive rooms on the top floors provide excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hezac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

How wonderful that you enjoyed the luxury and breathtaking views from our Executive floors.
Your comfort is our top priority and I am delighted that we met all your expectations.

Your compliments regarding our management and team was particularly heart warming and I have relayed your message to my team.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and I hope to have the pleasure of meeting your during your next stay.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Location is okay - close to Table Mountain and GreenMarket, but far enough away from V&A and other attractions that you need a lift. Shuttle provided to V&A but only at certain times, and not in the evenings. Rooms are nice, and luxurious, however the noise was unbearable from the elevators backing up to our beds. Staff was average - meaning some great, some bad. Housekeeping didn't pick up our laundry as they said they would which left us with dirty clothes for the 2nd half of our trip. Located in the Bo-Kaap Muslim area of downtown, the "Honors" breakfast had no meat items. Our safe was opened by Staff while we were out, and the letter managment wrote was not accurate as to circumstances. Overall for a multiple nite stay, the poor attention to details and lack of security was unacceptable. Too many finer places to stay in Capetown to go back.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of table mountain and away from any elevators, especially backing up to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mzungu f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed the luxury offered by our hotel rooms.

We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. Please accept my sincere apologies for the frustration you experienced during your stay.

Your report is viewed in a very serious light and I have taken the necessary steps to inform the relevant Heads of Department of the issues raised, who have taken the necessary action within their department to ensure that the shortfalls you encountered do not happen again.

In an effort to meet the needs of our diverse guests and the communities in which we operate, Hilton Cape Town City Centre provides a Halaal-friendly environment. Breakfast is served according to Hilton Brand standards and as an alternative, Macon is served on the breakfast buffet.

We would like to welcome you back . Given such an opportunity, I should be most grateful if you would contact me directly so that I can personally take care of your reservation and ensure the hospitality you would expect from the Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haarlemmermeer
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

this hotel offers an easy and safe bo-kaap location on buitengracht street. 30min drive from/to airport, 10min to table mountain cable car and walking distance to downtown. from 9-6 the free hotel shuttle takes you to the v&a waterfront on the hour and back to the hotel 10min past the hour. after 06pm can be arranged against a small fee. across the street of the hilton is a fully stocked liquor store next to a very clean and safe subways sandwich shop. furthermore only a couple of restaurants closeby without many customers as far as we could notice. go to the waterfront for spurs (like chili's or applebees) or try karibu's african restaurant (must do!!) for incredible and affordable quality meats. hotel staff very friendly and accommodating. rooms may either have city/table mountain or bo-kaap/pool view. when staying at the latter you may hear a slight sound from the mosque at 5am, but only when you're a very light sleeper and sleep with open windows. even if you're awake the prayer is barely noticable. I'd prefer those rooms with a pretty view of this capetown landmark with it's colourful houses and the pretty pool deck, while the table mountain is best seen from a longer distance like e.g. the waterfront. rooms have a safe, flatscreen tv, coffee-/tea facilities, bathroom amenities, desk, non sensored mini bar and they are really large. I can also recommend room service (e.g. yummy cheeseburgers) which is not expensive. the parking garage underneath the hotel is safe and costs 90rand a day. when driving in and out frequently, check the reception to activate your room key(-card) which then can be used for getting out (out only). the heated saltwater pool area is just fantastic in summertime. this would always be the reason for me to choose the hilton instead of other hotels of it's class (e.g. westin). overall no major faults at this hilton and you can't go wrong here, however ask for an invoice preview before checking out. I found some mini bar items on there which we did'nt use. capetown area is fantastic, but you will not do without a rental car from the moment you'll arrive. enjoy.

Room Tip: ask for high rooms with balcony and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griswolds09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Dear Valued guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed the culture and heritage offered by our location in the Historical Bo-Kaap area. Your compliments regarding our "yummy" cheeseburgers is appreciated and have been communicated with our Executive Chef Andy!

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused due to a billing error. Your report has been forwarded to the Food & Beverage Manager who will take the necessary steps to avoid this from happening again.

We are delighted that Hilton Cape Town City Centre is your number 1 choice of hotels and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The new Hilton in Cape Town is fresh, clean, elegant and stylish. A warm welcome at reception (though only two check-in desks could cause delays at a busy time). Rooms were bright, airy, tastefully decorated. Beds, as usual with most Hilton hotels were extremely comfortable. Our executive-floor room had views over towards the bay and a small balcony, safely railed for kids. Staff are friendly and helpful. The pool area is small but pleasant, and the outdoor pool is well shaded and heated. Worth noting that both the main restaurants are entirely halaal, and no alcohol (or foods like bacon, etc) is available at either. You can get a drink at the poolside bar, the executive lounge or in-room dining.
Their signature restuarant 'Mezbaan' was closed for a private function leaving only the Bistro and pool bar for paying guests, which was most unfortunate. However, the Signal Lounge (pool bar) manager managed to rustle up a Mezbaan menu for us and we had the meal poolside. Food was tasty and plentiful without being outstanding.
It is surprising that a global chain such as Hilton should choose to restrict its choice of menu/drinks in both its restaurants in a country with such a small minority of Islamic patrons, especially given that there are many Halaal restaurant options available in the city. You may as well have made it kosher.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thepeckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

Your comments describing our property as "elegant" and "stylish" is particularly warming coming from a well travelled guest as yourself.

I would like to apologize that you were not able to enjoy the ambiance of our authentic Indian restaurant. Your feedback is appreciated and will be taken into consideration for future planning.

As a global hospitality company, we serve as a meeting place for people from all walks of life. In an effort to meet the needs of our diverse guests and the communities in which we operate, Hilton Cape Town City Centre provides a Halaal-friendly environment.

Two of our restaurants, Bistro 126 and Mezbaan have been certified as Halaal by SANHA (South African National Halaal Authority).
Alcohol is available at Signal Hill Lounge located at the pool deck and the Executive lounge.

I hope that this did not negatively affect your stay and that you were still able to create magical memories in Cape Town.

I look forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Property: Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing