We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Table Mountain View available”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Breitenfurt
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Table Mountain View available”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Do not book the “executive rooms” – they do not have any ! All rooms have the same size, only one per storey is a little bigger (number 17), and the reception desk does not know about those executive rooms. We complained, got a bottle of champagne, and a room with mountain view on the next day. Breakfast ok, free hourly shuttle to the waterfront, 100 meters to the next hop on / hop off station (recommendable !), garage car parking for only 90 rand a day. Pool area a bit small.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauls-beisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

The Hop-on-Hop-off bus is a great value add to our location and I appreciate your recommendation to other potential guests.

I regret to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with your Executive room. I do however want to clarify that the Executive room type is not sold as a bigger room, but only a room with additional benefits such as access to the Executive Lounge and it's amenities. Please accept my sincere apologies if you were mislead in any way.

The building and layout does give a bit more space to certain rooms, but this is not linked to necessarily linked to specific room types, with exception of the Suites.

We constantly strive to improve our services and appreciate your feedback.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    446
    140
    64
    44
See reviews for
177
448
97
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed here for six nights while in Cape Town on business and was impressed with the hotel's combination of quality service, central location, and overall value.

The staff are generally quite efficient and unfailingly courteous. Both check-in and check-out were handled quickly. Staff were pleasant and helpful in all areas of the hotel - concierge, porter, housekeeping, executive lounge, restaurant. The only minor shortcoming was this: when calling the hotel's main Guest Services phone line, sometimes the staff answered promptly but on several occasions there was no answer at all.

The hotel is centrally located within easy walking distance of Parliament, St George's Cathedral, and a plethora of shops and restaurants. The more touristy Waterfront area is an easy 10-minute taxi ride away. I had a spectacular view of the Bo Kaap neighborhood and Table Bay from my balcony.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivaSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and I am delighted to learn that you experienced true Hilton Hospitality. Your positive comments is appreciated and I have shared your review with my team.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to shortcoming in service received from our Guest Services Department. Our Front Office Manager has taken the necessary steps for immediate service improvement in this area.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our location in the Historical Bo-Kaap and view of the beautiful Table Bay.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed here for two nights while on the Cape Town leg of a South Africa vacation. The hotel is nicely maintained, the service was amazing and it was in a great location. We could walk to Long Street (bars, restuarants, etc) and also the Green Market Square (vendors). Our room was clean, the hotel has free Wi-fi and the breakfast food was amazing. We also had a great view of Table Mountain and downtown Cape Town. I would definitely recommend staying here. The only reason I didn't give the hotel 5 stars is the prayer that blared on a loud speaker from the mosque nearby that woke me up each morning at 5:30am.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelyladylatisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for writing about your recent stay at the Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I was pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you enjoyed the free Wifi and majestic view of Table Mountain.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience and frustration you experienced with regards noise level in the room. Due to our location in the historical Bo-Kaap area, we are surrounded by the culture and traditions of the community. For a future stay, I can suggest requesting a pool facing view, which will be facing the opposite direction from the Mosque and limit noise level to the minimum.

I would like to invite you to contact me prior to your next visit, so I may meet with you and ensure you receive a room of the best quality and location.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed 11 - 24 march 2012. Overall this was an excellent base for seeing Cape Town. With a 5 minute steady walk to get into the centre we were able to see all the main sites there without transport. We used the free shuttle to the waterfront most days and found this an excellent service allowing us to see other sites and visit Robbens Island. A taxi ride from the waterfront back to the hotel being only 40 rand after the shuttle's last run at 6pm. The staff at the concierge were excellent and organised transport to and from the airport. This was probably a little more expensive than normal taxis but worth every rand for the service. They organised two 1 day trips for us with tour companies which proved to be excellent choices.
This is not a pure tourist hotel and I found it all the better for it. We found our room very comfortable and clean. There were some little niggles but nothing of any consequence which distracted from our enjoyment. If you don't get your room cleaned just check you have not switched the 'do not disturb' sign on. Easily done. As for the amenities, those we used we enjoyed. The pool is small but you do not get crowds around it. There is a bar if you need a drink although in some areas you cannot get drinks with your meal.
Overall we really enjoyed staying here and found it good value for money. I must admit to having doubts about this hotel after reading some of the reviews but now, we would have no hesitation in returning here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geditramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I was delighted to read that you were able to enjoy sightseeing by making use of the services offered by our Concierge Desk . Your positive feedback regarding their excellent service is greatly appreciated and has been share with the rest of my team.

Please accept my apologies for any delays you may have experienced due to the Do No Disturb "light" system. I am very happy to report that we are in the process of replacing these with a standard door card, which would avoid challenges in Housekeeping service moving forward.

I trust that we will be able to welcome you back for more refreshing drinks poolside!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Check-in was easy and efficient. They were able to upgrade us to the executive floor, and the room we had was very nice, very clean, modern, and comfortable. There was a good sized desk, and a couple of chairs. The bathroom was very modern, with seperate tub, and seperate shower. We had a great Table Mountain view from the room. We enjoyed breakfast in the executive lounge each morning - the coffee was especially good! Plus the executive lounge was a great place to enjoy a cold drink in the afternoon or early evening after being out all day; they provided some light snacks early evening. The hotel location was very good for us doing sightseeing on the red and blue busses. The red bus was about a 3 minute walk away, and the blue bus was about 7 minutes away. All of the staff we met, from check-in, to exective lounge, to consierge, were all very friendly and eager to please. Would not hesitate recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ats262m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at The Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I was pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you would recommend Hilton Cape Town City Centre to others.

It is very rewarding to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are being represented by our team. These positive comments about our team are greatly appreciated and I have thanked them personally.

I am delighted that you enjoyed quick and easy access to the Hop-on-Hop-off Bus and I trust that you were able to create beautiful memories during your stay in Cape Town.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The hotel is beautiful, nicely furnished, clean, comfortable. I must praise our room 516, I think it was bigger than most of the standard rooms, and we had fantastic views of the Table Mountain and Bo Kaap area. If I'm going back, I want the same room again! :)
Check in was quick, all hotel staff were nice, concierge fantastic! They can help you arrange many kind of tours. The shuttle bus to the V & A Waterfront is very convenient, from 09 am till 18 pm. The hotel has 2 cars, one of them is a very luxurious and comfy Mercedes, we used it a few times and they are charging rates as any normal taxi would.
The location is very convenient for a city center location, the tourist bus line (Red) is very near, the other line (Blue) is a few minutes away.
I loved the Boo Kaap as well with their colorful little houses. The area is absolutely safe. Long Street and the Green street market are nearby. V & A 5-10 minutes by car.
Breakfast was good. They have a few meals which you can order from the menu, but is included in the breakfast cost. I tried the blueberry pancake once. Very thick, very different from your average pancake, but very delicious, try it!
And now the 1% dissatisfaction: when we got the bill in the end there was some items from the minibar we didn't take (actually we didn't take anything). I have read in previous reviews it has happened to others as well. I know it's a small amount, and it got deleted immediately when we said we didn't drink it, but why do you want to destroy the perfect experience in the end? Some people might fall for it and you get some extra money, but most people won't and it can do sirius demages to your reputation. If it's some system error or staff mistake, do something to improve it! That's the only thing to complain about and it should be a very easy task to change it. Otherwise everything was excellent and hope we will be back soon!

Room Tip: I loved our room 516! Big room, big bathroom, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legionella84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

How wonderful to know that you were able to enjoy the heritage and culture of the historic
Bo Kaap Area!

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused due to a billing error. We are currently revising our mini bar controls procedure and hope to provide a more efficient service in future.

I am very happy that you enjoyed the Majestic views of Table Mountain from your room and encourage you to request you favourite room for any future bookings and we will do our best to accommodate your special request.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Hilton recently bought this older hotel property near the Parliament buildings in Cape Town and have done a very creditable job of bringing it up to date.

We stayed there twice and twice were given a beautifully designed modern room and bathroom.The room was well equipped though clearly aimed more at the single business man than at couples on holiday.

It is a typical city centre hotel. Space is at a premium so everything is a bit squashed.Small pool, no garden space.Pleasant helpful staff

The neighbourhood at night seemed a bit lugubre

The hotel has a free shuttle to the Waterfront complex

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I appreciate your compliments regarding Hilton's take-over of the property. I am proud to announce that we are celebrating our 1st birthday anniversary on 08 May. It has been a very successful year. This being said, I look forward to even further improvements planned for 2012.

Even though as mentioned we are a City hotel, I am very happy that you enjoyed the modern design of our rooms and friendliness of our team members on both occasions.

Your loyalty to the brand is appreciated and I look forward to meet you personally on a future stay.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
986 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,664 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Property: Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing