We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed here on Points for 5 nights in late May, and the experience was very positive. Things I liked:
1. I'm HHonors Diamond. I received a tremendous room upgrade on my stay. We were in a 2 room suite which was amazing. HUGE room with an amazing view of Table Mountain.

2. Concierge service was terrific. We had great recommendations on tours.

3. Shuttle service was timely and well run. Mercedes E class picked us up at the airport for a shockingly modest fee, and the mini-van shuttle to the fisherman's wharf area was free.

4. Nice Executive Lounge. Nothing special, but solid.

What I didn't like:
1. The mosque down the street is between the hotel and Table Mountain. We were on the 8th floor and the prayers are sent through an amplifier in the area. It didn't wake us but you could hear it.

2. Not walking distance to much great food.

Terrific staff. Great room. Would stay there again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor room with a view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uga_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Hilton Cape Town City Centre. I was pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you would return to our property.

Your loyalty as a Diamond member is appreciated and I am happy that we were able to spoil you with an upgrade to a 2 bedroom Suite.

Due to our location in the traditional Bo-Kaap area, some guests may be aware of the noise from the mosque. As a solution I can suggest requesting a pool facing room during your next stay. Your comfort is our top priority and we will do our best to accommodate your request.

Your positive feedback is appreciated and have been shared with the rest of my team.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    443
    140
    62
    44
See reviews for
176
444
97
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramrod Key, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I really am pleased that I stayed at this Hilton property. They had excellent service, an amazing breakfast included and was centrally located close to my meeting and attractions of the area. They even had dedicated staff to arranging trips to match my need for quick visits to the sights of the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFishin6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our central location and attractions offered in the immediate area.

Your positive comments regarding our excellent service is appreciated and have been relayed to the Concierge and rest of my team.

I am honoured that we were able to create vacation memories for you and look forward to welcome you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHEEPY MAGNA
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed here whilst visiting my daughter
All in all it's a very nice hotel I would recommend it I felt entirely safe dispite being a woman travelling alone

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JULIEBROGAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I was pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you would recommend Hilton Cape Town City Centre to others.

Your comfort is our priority and I look forward to welcome you and your daughter back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

A standard 'in town' large hotel with welcoming staff. Best suited to business traveler rather than holiday maker. But we could not understand why only Halal food was served. No bacon for breakfast! This aspect would put me off if we ever go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

Your positive feedback regarding our welcoming staff is appreciated and have been shared with the rest of my team.

As a global hospitality company, we serve as a meeting place for people from all walks of life. In an effort to meet the needs of our diverse guests and the communities in which we operate, Hilton Cape Town City Centre provides a Halaal-friendly environment.

Two of our restaurants, Bistro 126 and Mezbaan have been certified as Halaal by SANHA (South African National Halaal Authority). Although we do not have bacon, beef bacon is available as alternative.

I hope that this did not negatively affect your stay and that you were still able to create magical memories in Cape Town.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed Febuary in a mountain view room. Okay view of mountain but a fast and busy road that side of the hotel creates a lot of noise. Check in was a nightmare took ages my Hilton Honors card was not recogised they said they would sort it out did not bother in the end. Safe in the room was not open (left locked by the previous guests). Should have been checked when the room was made up? Another delay while that was resolved otherwise the room was fine. 15 minute walk into city centre maybe 20 to the waterfront,there is a shuttle from the hotel but we never used it. Expensive breakfast was available but not grea there are a number of other local restaurants within walking distance. We have stayed in Capetown on many occasions and there are better hotels available at the same price range. Holiday inn Express has a great location and is better value. Overall experience was average it should have been great but no one seemed to care.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerlindaSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and frustration you experienced with regards to shortcoming in service received from the Front Office and Housekeeping staff.

At Hilton we pride ourselves in offering true Hilton Hospitality and I regret to read that you did not feel cared for. Your feedback is viewed in a very serious light and your report was communicated to the relevant Heads of Department to take the necessary corrective measures.

Your loyalty to the brand is appreciated and I once again apologise for any inconvenience caused. I hope that we have the pleasure to redeem our services to you and welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,
Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in this hotel last April as part of a trip to South Africa. It's a good business hotel with nice decorated room, professional service, comfortable bed / pillows and a good breakfast.
It's located in the Malay Quarter in Cape Town. You can get good pictures from this picturesque neighborhood. It's also located 5 min drive to a good shopping area with nice restaurants (V&A Waterfront). Although it looks like a good idea to walk to V&A, I wouldn't recommend this since you have to walk in the middle of a large avenue in a business area. We tried that and met some drug users in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molnar71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our location in the traditional Bo-Kaap area.

Your positive comments regarding our professional service and comfortable Hilton beds are appreciated.

Looking forward to welcome you back to more picture perfect moments!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
1,658 reviews
295 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,180 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed here for a total of 5 nites (1 using points, 2 using cash and points and 2 with cash). Of these, 1 nite was comped because of a major service issue. As per the HHonors program these days, the points for each property now vary according to demand and season and are not fixed unlike other hotel programs. At 35000 ppoints a nite, it is very expensive and perhaps not good value. At 17500 points plus $50 per nite, it is not bad value. At $350 per nite, it is ridiculously priced!

As a HHonors DIamond member I was upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite for the entire stay that included breakfast in the Executive Lounge and wifi. The suite was modern and spacious, with a separate powder room in the living area. There was a wonderful view of the Table Mountain from the room. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

This property 'became' a HIlton property just a year ago, and therefore the Executive Lounge does not meet with the ususal high standards of Hilton lounges. First of all, it is not on the Executive floor or a higher floor but on a mezzanine floor. It appears to have been set up in a makeshift function room. There is no receptionist or any one to monitor or check who gets in there. At breakfast time there would be just one waiter who would struggle to keep up with all the guests. Tables were not cleared, food was not refilled, coffee machine rarely worked, a common item like cornflakes was not always available, butter had to be asked for and so on.....In the evening, there were never any vegetarian snacks. It just did no t ppear that any one was in charge of this Lounge.

The concierge desk is very helpful with information, maps etc. We found the area around teh hotel quite safe and secure. The hotel is within walking distance of almost everything in central Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

As a Diamond Member your loyalty to the brand is greatly appreciated and I am delighted that we were able to upgrade your room to a modern and spacious Suite.

I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the shortcomings in service received in the Executive lounge. Your feedback is appreciated and have been shared with the Food & Beverage Manager who has taken the necessary corrective measures. Your comments regarding the location of the Executive Lounge will be noted for future planning and design.

Your positive comments regarding the concierge desk is appreciated and have been shared with the rest of my tea.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,730 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
983 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Property: Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing