We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous City with Amazing Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dal
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Gorgeous City with Amazing Service”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This was one of my best hotel experiences ever from the food (breakfast, in-room dining, and restaurant), to the concierge services, to the friendliness of the entire staff, to the location of the hotel, to the quality and cleanliness of facilities, to the responsiveness of staff to problems or concerns. Definitely top notch! We will be back to Cape Town and specifically the Hilton as a result of this stay. It has totally improved my perception of the brand despite being an existing HHonors member.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your truly amazing feedback about your recent stay with us.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back for more Hilton Cape Town Hospitality!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    443
    140
    62
    44
See reviews for
176
444
97
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed Here for 3 nights and had a wonderful stay. The staff is wonderful, friendly and very helpful. Great views of the mountains, table mountain, and we thought the location was great. Easy access in and out of the city.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I am delighted to read that you had a "wonderful" stay and enjoyed our prime location and views. Your positive comments about our team members are greatly appreciated and well deserved.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

A very friendly hotel staff who made us feel welcome and were really helpful. When you look out of your window at Table Mountain you know you're somewhere special and I'd be more than happy to stay at this hotel if I visit Cape Town again.

The bathroom is slightly different than usual with a three-quarter length glass partition seperating the bedroom but it feels relaxing with so much light getting in.

It's a short walk from the National Gallery in the local municipal park and there is a student-like feel to a number of the streets and restaurants nearby. Although there were a few odd characters wandering about the locality the area feels relatively safe and touristy.

It took about 30 minutes to get by taxi to Newlands Rugby Stadium and that is a place well worth going to if you like your rugby! A fabulous atmosphere......

Room Tip: View of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyngScpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

It is a pleasure to receive such compliments for my team and our hotel in general and I am delighted that you had a throughout enjoyable stay.

Please come back soon for more Rugby and true Hilton Hospitality in Cape Town,

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This was a clean, bright Hilton located more in the business district. We had a room with a fantastic view of Table Mountain! They have a free shuttle 5 minute to the 'V&A Waterfront' shopping and restaurant district. We walked two blocks to catch the Red double decker bus tour which I strongly recommend if this is your first trip to Cape Town.Good way to get your bearings and it has a stop at the base of Table Mountain and it's cable car lift.
The executive lounge is smallish but the people there were very helpful and food/drinks were plentiful. Pool is small and cold:) We did not eat at any of the restaurants as there are so many great ones to choose from at the Waterfront area.
We used the in-house conceirge twice to arrange trips to a safari and a tour of the Cape of Good Hope Pennisular. Great tours but the pennisular is an easy 8 hour tour not 4. If you like lighthouses take this tour.
If I was more of a beach person, I would stay nearer Camps Bay or Houts Bay area.

Room Tip: Try to exchange your currency into smaller amounts before you get to the Hilton. Making change from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CToye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

About a 18 minute drive from the airport is this very nice Hilton. Located in the Malay district of Cape Town. The staff here is extremely friendly and the service was great. We stayed on the executive floor and had a wonderful view of Table Mountain. The room was very nice with bathrobe and turn down service. The executive lounge was fantastic - excellent staff and food at breakfast!! The room was very clean and modern. Loved the faux fireplace. Overall a great hotel, just not in love with the area. Run down around the hotel. - no restaurants nearby or grocery stores. Walking to the waterfront is only 20 minutes away, but during our walk in the daytime was accosted by a number of people asking for money. Did not dare venture out at nighttime.

Room Tip: high floor great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xiphoid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your 5 star rating on this website.

Your positive comments about our "extremely friendly" team members, the "fantastic" Executive Lounge and our clean and modern rooms are greatly appreciated and I have proudly shared them with the rest of my team.

It is with regret that our location is not to your liking. Many guests especially point out the advantages of our prime location in the City Centre - in the vicinity of many places of interest as well as restaurants etc.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here over the Argus weekend using Hilton Honours points. The hotel is centrally situated within easy cycling distance of the start of the Argus cycle race. The hotel entered into the spirit of the Argus weekend with storage for bicycles and refreshment tables set up in the foyer on the day of the race. There is a handy shuttle service to the Waterfront every hour.

A definite Muslim influence prevails over the hotel such as no alcohol in the rooms or restaurants but this didn't worry us unduly. The hotel staff were always friendly, helpful and obliging. The breakfast in the executive lounge was adequate but the cutlery was either dirty or tarnished - rather off-putting! Our room was on the 5th floor and was a decent size. The only criticism that I have is that the bathroom is not completely sealed off from the bedroom and so lacks complete privacy if required.

We will definitely use the Hilton again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJDLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review on this website regarding your recent stay with Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

Your positive comments regarding our staff members are greatly appreciated, however, I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the mentioned shortcomings.

Kindly note, that as a global hospitality company, we serve as a meeting place for people from all walks of life. In an effort to meet the needs of our diverse guests and the communities in which we operate, Hilton Cape Town City Centre provides a Halaal-friendly environment.

Two of our restaurants, Bistro 126 and Mezbaan have been certified as Halaal by SANHA (South African National Halaal Authority)
Alcohol is available at Signal Hill Lounge located at the pool deck, the Executive lounge and can be ordered via Room Service.

I am pleased that you enjoyed our Cape Argus set-up and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back next year!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, France
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Good hotel, little bit far from the main touristic points of Capetown and nothing special about it.
The internet wireless access is OK (much better than Taj) but the rooms are not functional. The TV is very small, the bathroom+toilet does have a proper door (no privacy enough) and the breakfast was not included in the price.
you can get more for less in capetown.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bottan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,730 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
983 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Property: Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing