We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“My favourite Hotel”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This hotel was one of my best experiences of hotels, from around the world. On arrival the staff were so friendly and helpful, they could not do enough to help.

My room was upgraded and I was based in a very clean and modern room with beautiful views of table mountain and the BoKaap. Inside the room it was really comfortable with all the mod cons and nice large bathroom, complimentary water, wine, chocolates and fruit.

We had access to the executive lounge, which served breakfast in the mornings, snacks in the afternoon and canapes in the evenings with alcoholic beverages until 21:00. The staff in the lounge were wonderful, so friendly and genuinely interested in me having a good stay and did all they could to help, with a massive smile on their faces. The best service I have encountered in ages!

The pool area was brilliant to relax in after a long day site seeing and attending business meetings. The service at the pool was great, and food lovely.

Overall the hotel made me feel really at ease in Cape Town, as it is so central to access long street, the V & A (In which there is a courtesy bus for every 15 mins), BoKaap, and other areas safely by foot. As far as I am concerned this is the only place to stay when in Cape Town and just loved the entire experience.

Room Tip: Ask nicely :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for this outstanding feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Hilton Cape Town City Centre!

It is particularly warming to receive such praises for our hotel and in particular our staff members and I have proudly shared your report with the rest of my team.

I am so glad you were able to experience our authentic Hilton Hospitality and I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    443
    140
    62
    44
See reviews for
176
444
97
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

A very comfortable hotel within easy reach of all of the attractions of Cape Town. Complimentary shuttle to the V&A Waterfront and return. Car Park under the hotel at a reasonable price. Check in was very easy and the facilities what you would expect of a good Hilton. The deck/pool was excellent together with the exercise room and sauna/steam room which were seperate for men and women. Although a spa is not included treatments can be booked within the room and are a good standard.
The food was excellent and breakfast a good quality. No silly prices here.
Rooms were well laid out with a good view and had attractive bathrooms featuring both bath and seperate shower. Only minus there were not two sinks.
Straight drive to the airport down Buitengracht street and onto the N2, 15 mins in total.
Can reccomend it for the start or end to a South African tour or just a visit to Cape Town

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Table top mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and for recommending Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I am delighted to learn that we could contribute to a "perfect" holiday and I am looking forward to welcoming you back for more Hilton Hospitality in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Myself and a colleague stayed for 4 nights at the Hilton Cape Town (in separate rooms). Positives are the friendly staff and food. We were greeted in with a glass of juice which is what was needed after a 12 hour journey in from UK. Lady at reception (Fundi her name was I think) was lovely. Advised us of all tourist activities and all the do’s and don’ts. Hotel had two restaurants, one being an Indian which served some finest Indian dishes other was your usual Burger Chips & salad place which was also great! They even had Shisha (pipes). Taxi’s were fairly cheap, they had a free shuttle service to and from the Waterfront which is a tourist attraction. Rooms were cleaned 3 times a day! I had a small issue with WIFI which they quickly rectified by giving me a access to high speed connection free of charge.
Few negatives (didn’t really bother us but thought I mention it), the decor is very old, doesn't look like a Hilton, esp the reception area… needs a facelift. The room were kinda small too. Other than that it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaymax112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our restaurants and rooms. Your positive comments regarding the service offered by our team members, in particular Fundi, are greatly appreciated, many thanks.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Good location. Room very comfortable and staff very welcoming. Enjoed our 6 day stay here. Absolutely no complaints about the hotel but having booked early with a so called 20% discount found that it would be 30% cheeper than this 5 months later. A bit annoying of the Hilton group.

Room Tip: Look for the special offers and bide your time before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geditramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We arrived in Capetown after a crazy 3 weeks trip in South Africa, looking forward to a relaxing week.
After quite an adventure, we arrived in Capetown with a minor delay. Staff were in constant contact with us, making sure they'll bring us safely to the hotel. So, the hotel transfer worked perfectly.
Check in - very smooth... The receptionist was simply amazing. The freshly squeezed orange juice we received upon arrival, while signing the forms was heavenly.
Room was beautiful, good size, nice view...
Breakfast great.

If you drink alcohol, have in mind that this is a Muslim owned hotel. Therefore, you will not have any alcoholic beverages available in the outlets or mini-bar.
However, there is an Executive Lounge where they offer a limited range of alcoholic drinks.

The Prayer Rooms are very well phonically insulated, so not a problem what so ever.

Also, the hourly shuttle van to the Water Front was great. I wouldn't recommend walking back to the hotel in the evening.

It was a memorable stay!
I will gladly return anytime.

Room Tip: I loved our swimming-pool view room. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiberiu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback on this website.

I was delighted to learn that you had a "memorable" stay with us and you will gladly return.

As a global hospitality company, we serve as a meeting place for people from all walks of life. In an effort to meet the needs of our diverse guests and the communities in which we operate, Hilton Cape Town City Centre provides a Halaal-friendly environment.

Two of our restaurants, Bistro 126 and Mezbaan have been certified as Halaal by SANHA (South African National Halaal Authority)
In addition to the Executive Lounge, Alcohol is also available at Signal Hill Lounge located at the pool deck.

Once again, thank you for your great review and I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This Hilton was a Muslim hotel before and still has many of the traits from before. No alcohol is served in the restaurant (although alcohol is available in the executive lounge if you are a Hilton gold member). The hotel is located in the Muslim quarter which is very interesting. Don't miss Atlas spices which is just around the corner--140 years old and like stepping back in time. Rooms are nice and there is a nice pool and exercise room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The Hilton City Centre was at first glance in a weird position but on further exploration it is perfectly placed near to all of the best areas for tourist attractions, restaurants and bars. The big red bus stop is very near. Long street is a short walk.The hotel itself has a lovely pool and outside food/drinks area. The Executive lounge is very good. the room I had had a lovely pool view and was a very good size.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about the Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our central location to explore Cape Town's many attractions and vibrant nightlife.

Your compliments regarding Signal Hill Terrace, the Executive Lounge as well as the rooms and views are greatly appreciated and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for more Cape Town experiences soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,730 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,713 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
983 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Property: Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing