We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #44 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My stay at the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel was fantastic. Staff were professional and helpful, nothing was a problem. Room was elegant and classy which made the experience even better. Hats off to the Hilton Cape Town City Centre!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Ridwaan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cape Town City Centre in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,373 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed here very recently and would highly recommend this hotel. From the moment the taxi pulled up, to the greeting from the bellman in tails to the check in service, everything was first class. We had a long 12 hour flight and the check in staff went out of there way to have our room ready as soon as possible. This was a good excuse to sit by the pool and sample the local wine until our room was ready. The wait was worth it, our room had a wonderful view overlooking Tab le Mountain and was spacious, extemely clean and featured all the amenties one could ask for. The beautiful free standing bath was so inviting and the large shower cubicle with rain head was just a delight after a long flight. This hotel has a Muslim influence which means no alcohol in the mini bar or two of their restaurants, only alcohol served out by the pool bar and restaurant and no pork on their menu. We did not find this a problem at all and actually it was quite a refreshing change. We ate in the Indian restaurant on our first night which I would highly recommend. The breakfast on offer was varied and expansive and their room service breakfast was available from 4.00am which was great especially if you needed to be out and about early for a tour or a business function. The shuttle to the V & A waterfront which went on the hour was a definitate plus as this hotel is not near any other eating places or supermarket type shops to purchase small snacks. We found the staff couldn't do enough for you and went out of their way every time. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room with a view to Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandanBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I am delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we could exceed your expectations.

Your positive comments are greatly appreciated and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Ideally would have liked to stay at the Radisson at the Cape Town waterfront. However, ended with hilton as couldn't get myself to pay almost 3 times the money for the view. Though the view deserves million dollars ;0). Anyhow, Hilton in Capetown is clean, new, small business hotel than the Hilton Joburg which is mega conference centre in a quite place.

Location: In the middle of the city centre. I could hear traffic every now and then. A motorbike would almost always wake me up. ALSO, CONSIDER THIS, which i only found out when i checked in - this is in a Muslim area and by law they don't serve alcohol in most of their facilities apart from one restaurant somewhere.
Eating: It has a Indian restaurant ;0). found it quite interesting to know that a Hilton has a inhouse Indian restaurant - but heard it was ok as lots of asians stay here and like the food.

The area is not great though. You have to take a ride to waterfront or elsewhere to get good view and nice food. Free shuttles are available every half an hour till 6 pm from the hotel. Taxi ride to waterfron cost about 30rands one way.

The positives - the hotel is very clear, modern, very new. The beds are new, the Duvets are duck down and floor is wooden i.e. no carpet mite allergy for me :0)....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vik2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed our clean and modern rooms and comfortable beds.

In an effort to meet the needs of our diverse guests and the communities in which we operate, Hilton Cape Town City Centre provides a Halaal-friendly environment.
Two of our restaurants, Bistro 126 and Mezbaan have been certified as Halaal by SANHA (South African National Halaal Authority) However, alcohol is available at Signal Hill Lounge located at the pool deck as well as in the Executive lounge.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future,

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in good location. Room was clean and spacious. They offer a good food and beverage experience, free wifi, have a nice pool. PS: friendly & helpful airport pickup driver (extra charge). Will come back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tfrogk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and will gladly return - we are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Every time I stay at Hilton I emerge extremely satisfied due to friendliness, professionalism, quality of life and delicious dishes offered by this esteemed hotel. I have used 3 Hilton hotels for accomodation and conferencing and am happy to return. Where I have raised concerns, they have been resolved speedily to my satisfaction.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Sibongiseni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments and compliments regarding your experiences with the Hilton and especially with Hilton Cape Town City Centre. I was pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you will gladly return.

Your loyalty to the brand is greatly appreciated and I am looking forward to welcoming you back for more Hilton Hospitality.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I would like to commend the Hilton Cape Town The staff are amazing and friendly and always helpful Even when a bottle of wine i wanted that was on their menu was not available the Food and Beverage Manager went the extra mile to ensure that it was available the next evening for me Awesome

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on this website. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future,

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Arrived mid morning after an overnight flight, found the underground car park after a couple of erroneous turns and headed into the hotel. First impressions count and I had the very good fortune to encounter Faith at the front desk, the best check in experience I have ever had I think, nothing was too much trouble. As my room was not ready I was directed to the executive lounge where I enjoyed a breakfast with the promise to come and find me when my room available, pleasingly this promise was kept. In fairness, I found all staff I encountered to be pleasant, friendly and helpful and a particular mention for the team in the executive lounge - they were great. I had the good fortune to be upgraded to a two bedroom suite and while I am keen not to let this colour my review I have to say the room was comfortable, quiet and immaculate. The only down side to the room was that the view was not the best, I was looking down on the back streets and swimming pool but with Cape Town on the doorstep, it was time to explore not hang around indoors. Otherwise the public areas of the hotel appeared well maintained and spotless though as the lifts were under maintenance on a couple of days it slowed down egress at busy times (there are only two).

The on site Indian restaurant was good and I enjoyed a couple of meals there, did not use the shuttle to the V&A waterfront as I had a car and it is worth mentioning that I always found a space available in the car park on return each evening, there is an extra fee for car parking though this is not exorbitant. I did not do much exploring on foot from the hotel but it is indeed central and located on a main thoroughfare within easy reach of shops and restaurants.

So to the acid test, would I return to this hotel? Yes I would have no hesitation in doing so the next time I have the good fortune to be in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mid-AtlanticRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to put your experiences into writing and do an “acid test” regarding your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

I am delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time in the Mother City. Thank you for your kind comments and compliments with regards to our rooms, restaurants and of course our greatest asset, our team members.

I hope you will have the opportunity to return to Cape Town soon – we are looking forward to welcoming you back!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,541 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#28 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town Ci...
#50 of 110 in Cape Town Central
831 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £94 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing