We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, many pleasant staff, but a thievery problem they do not want to admit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, many pleasant staff, but a thievery problem they do not want to admit”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel is in a good location, close to Long Street, and easy to get to.

There is a shuttle service to the waterfront which could continue a little later than it does (last run at 18h00 I think).

Many of the lobby staff and Exec Lounge / Pool Bar staff are excellent - they have good memories, they remember customers, etc.

The hotel is great at recognising HHONORS members and giving them access to room upgrades and/or Exec Lounge.

Rooms are well appointed and generally clean (have had no issues here).

The biggest problem in this hotel is thievery. I have forgotten money in my computer bag twice. Both times it was stolen. While I completely recognise that the hotel warns customers to keep valuables locked away, this hotel is in complete denial about its thievery problem. I wonder if the fact that they do not take it seriously is part of the problem. I have had very different experiences in other hotels in Cape Town - once the housekeeping staff actually catalogued all of the foreign currency I had carelessly left out and taken it to security for safekeeping- for their own protection. This has not been my experience at this property. The first time I reported a theft (noticed about 2 hours before check-out) I filled in a report upon checking out of the hotel which the security manager (Barney something) said he never saw. He never did provide a satisfactory report after the first reported theft and had to be reminded several times. There was also never a resolution of the second theft. Again I blame only myself, but one does have to feel some level of trust between oneself and those that have access to your room. Seeing several similar reviews on this site has proven to me that the problem is widespread, and from my personal experience not treated seriously enough.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Wale street on higher floors have the best views of Lion's Head and Table Mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hudson_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments about our hotel location and complimentary shuttle service to the waterfront.

I am very pleased to read the compliments of our Team Members and our HHonors loyalty program.

With regards to the other problem you mentioned and after talking to our Security manager I can confirm that he has met with you and also forwarded the relevant reports to you via email as requested.

As a result of this information being shared with us previously, we have taken precaution during room cleaning but have not yet received any comments from you since.

It would be a pleasure meeting you in person on your return stay to discuss this concern with myself and our Security manager.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    430
    135
    60
    43
See reviews for
166
434
90
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Booked twin room with a friend as part of holiday stay in cape town. As my friend is gold card with Hilton they had upgraded room to executive we were told at check in. The lifts however signalled that executive rooms were on a different floor to ours so not sure if we were in a upgraded room or not. Judging by the size of the room I would think not as the two large single beds didnt leave much spare space in the rather compact room. However awesome view out to table mountain and bed was very comfy.
Main gripe was the bathroom. The fittings, bath and huge shower were all fantastic. Problem was that it had a frosted glass sliding door and a patterned glass panel next to that which meant that it wasn't properly closed off from main room. Now wether travelling with friends or a partner, I have no desire to see or hear (or smell) what is going on in the bathroom. The doorway itself was about less than a metre away from one of the beds. Really cool looking but really, bathrooms should be sealed off with proper lockable doors. Highly unimpressed.
Breakfast was a great selection and all tasty. Again due to my friends gold card we had access to the executive area. A very bland unininviting area with crisps/biscuits laid out with drinks And alcohol available for few hours in eve.
All in all great hotel just totally ruined in my opinion by the stupid bathroom.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Brief & concise...Room was filthy! From the toilet, to the sheets, to the WALLS. Go elsewhere with your money. Only good thing, free shuttle to the waterfront. Travel to Sea Point which is just a few more minutes further out. Two nights was more than enough for us to be there. Unfortunately it was our last stop before returning home, and by far the worst stay out of our entire trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank 1Marisol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying and sharing your recent experience at Hilton Cape Twon City Centre on this platform.

I was dissapointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room. Your comments have been viewed in a very serious light and have been passed on to the Executive Housekeeper.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary shuttle service.

I wish to welcome you back in the near future in order to redeem our services to you.

Yours sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyalami, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Enjoyed a one night (late) stay in this hotel. Laundry quickly pressed my shirt and steam pressed my suit at 10pm at night. Nicely adorned room and bathroom. Perfect location for walking into the city centre for business. Quant cape malay quarter up street behind hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hilton Cape Town City Centre on this platform.

Your positive comments about the laundry service, comfortable rooms and prime location are greatly appreciated and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

A very nicely appointed room and the lighting is placed so that it is useful, unlike many hotels were it seems designed to be romantic but useless. The parquetry floor combined with an interconnecting door (securely locked of course) could lead to noise problems but my neighbours seemed to go to bed early so was not a problem.
The area seems fine but I was cautious as from my room I could watch the homeless people sleeping on the other side of Wale St. If you have a room on a lower floor overlooking Wale St you may be woken by the very early morning laundry truck. When you do wake up you have a good view of Table Mountain, subject to the weather naturally.
Staff are pleasant, helpful and attentive, even if it did take a couple of hours to deliver the requested iron to the room. They were full of apologies about that and even got to the point of offering to do my ironing for me - I declined, and the iron had just turned up anyway.
Breakfast buffet range is smaller than some similar hotels but is quite satisfactory and is beautifully presented. You can ask for hot chocolate instead of tea and coffee if you like.
There is a free hourly shuttle to the waterfront until 6pm. 100 meg wifi is free each 24 hours.
Would happily stay again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank davidn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hilton Cape Town City Centre with the TripAdvisor community.

I am pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us, but would like to sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issue raised in your comment. Please be assured that incidents such as these are certainly not in keeping with the high standards we strive to maintain and I have shared your report with the Executive Housekeeper, who will review the matter.

Your positive comments regarding our rooms and breakfast offer are much appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed here for business and found the staff friendly and helpful, the room itself was very nice. I could walk to see quite a lot and the waterfront was just a short taxi ride. The concierge desk was helpful. Would recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tb004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for staying with Hilton Cape Town City Centre during your recent visit to Cape Town.

Your positive comments, pointing out our central location, comfortable rooms and friendliness of team members are much appreciated and I have relayed them to the rest of my team.

Thank you for your recommendation and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Hilton Cape Town is a small hotel centrally located in the CBD (or Downtown for our American friends). I stayed for a business trip and found the hotel clean, quiet and relaxing. Particularly noteworthy was the friendliness of the staff. Shuttles run to the Waterfront area every hour. The conciege desk was very helpful in providing options for eating out. Not recommended to people looking for a resort size hotel, but if your preference is more at the boutique end, then this could be the hotel for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Cape Town City Centre on TripAdvisor. I am particularly pleased to receive such kind comments about our team members and to know that our efforts to provide excellent customer service are represented by each and every person in the hotel.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future,

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Property: Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing