We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice room but small amninties” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #46 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Level Contributor
209 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“nice room but small amninties”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

service is not great , but most of it hotel amnesties are to small for the capacity of the hotel , breakfast rom is always , other , the room are very nice size. executive lounge should be move in othe rplace nicer, not as dark , maybe 8th floor

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Moise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our comfortable and spacious rooms however I regret to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with some of our guest facilities as well as the received customer service. Your opinions and observations are valued as it enables us to evaluate our facilities as well as the level of service we offer.

Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope that we will have the opportunity to redeem our services to you in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    418
    131
    60
    43
See reviews for
162
418
84
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is ideally located to enable you to get to anywhere in the city within minutes. I particularly like the fact that the hotel is Halaal friendly... and after three stays, I was surprised that the staff all remember me!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Gasant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive review on TripAdvisor.

It is particularly warming to know that our efforts to provide superior service and hospitality are being represented by our team and you felt comfortable and taken care of throughout the duration of your stay.

Your patronage is valued and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Hilton experience never fails to amaze you!
The rooms are spacious, new luxury furniture, really nice bed, great bathroom and bath tube (the only thing is that you can hear everything, since there is only a glass clear wall separating the bathroom from the room.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, gave us a lot of useful tips and the concierge got all restaurant reservations we asked for! The breakfast has many options. The hotel location isnt the best one in Cape Town but still very near the water front and the Table Mountain (5min by car). The underground garage is very convenient, but guests have to pay to park in. The gym is very nice and has all the basic instruments you need (its bathroom is really nice and has dry and wet sauna). The pool is beatiful and the hotel facilities in general are very, very nice!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable rooms as well as our other guest facilities. Your kind comments about our team members are much appreciated and will be passed on to the rest of my team.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Cape Town City Centre and please visit us again soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
554 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My flight arrived in Cape Town at 11:00 PM that night. After a long travel day, I just wanted to rest. The hotel arranged pick up from the airport to get me there in a nice Mercedes, then once arrived provided me with hot towels to clean my hands and face, plus a cocktail. Once in my room, I was blown away by the size, as I realized that I had just been given an upgrade, since the room had a kitchen, living room, the works. It is a shame that I only stayed one night. I could hve enjoyed my entire week in Cape town at that hotel, but i had made plans elsewhere, and already paid. I will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hilton Cape Town City Centre with the TripAdvisor community.

I am delighted to learn that we could exceed your expectations and ensure your return to the hotel.

Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Laughable internet. Halal. No alcohol served in restaurants. Intermittent service levels.
Stayed at this Hotel over New Year 2013/14 in a two-bedroomed Suite. I was informed at Check-in that the hotel was halal. I didn't know that until then and if I had, I would not have booked here. You should also know that the hotel is in a historically strong religious area and (in my opinion) suffers from that.
We booked this Suite based upon details on booking.com which suggested that the Suite had: "views of Table Mountain or the City". We had a view of rooftops and half of the pool deck. Disappointed on day 1.
The internet service whilst we were there was a joke; this really is not good enough for a "business" hotel. Whilst the senior staff are all quite good, the junior staff only smile when they have to - unless a Manager is in the vicinity. I felt resented by them. The room servicing levels were intermittent at best; every day the cleaning staff omitted elements of their duties.
Overall, the hotel is acceptable, but I expected more for the cost and from such a Brand. I didn't feel as though I received value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

I regret to learn that you were not entirely satisfied with your recent stay and I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused. Your opinions and observations are valuable information as it enables us to assess our level of service.

Kindly note that as a global hospitality company, we serve as a meeting place for people from all walks of life. In an effort to meet the needs of our diverse guests and the communities in which we operate, Hilton Cape Town City Centre provides a Halaal-friendly environment.

Two of our restaurants, Bistro 126 and Mezbaan have been certified as Halaal by SANHA (South African National Halaal Authority) however, alcohol is available at Signal Hill Lounge located at the pool deck and the Executive lounge.

Even though it appears that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion, I do hope that my team and I will have the opportunity to redeem our services to you at some point in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Great experience ! Friendly staff, everything was perfect! Very close to main city attractions. Breakfast and restaurant menus are very good and comprehensive. Great concierge service! And a lovely pool and patio! Would stay there again !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your 5 star review on TripAdvisor.

It is such a pleasure to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and would gladly return.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I spent 2 days in Cape Town by myself while waiting to join an adventure tour. I used my Hilton points and selected this hotel for it's closeness to the waterfront. My room was again much nicer than any American Hilton's and the concierge lounge again, a veritable feast. The lounge was small, but it was just steps from the pool area and outdoor tables. Having missed lunch the first day I ate a the hotel restaurant, something I rarely do. My lamb kabob wrap with yogourt dressing was scrumptious. I never felt uncomfortable walking from the hotel to the waterfront as security seemed to be everywhere. My only complaint with this hotel was the concierge deskclerks who while very polite, did not seem to be well trained. I had to involve the manager twice to help me get my lost luggage delivered, and to assist with a double booking for the same day. That being said, everyone on the staff was always smiling and very polite.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rioja44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusFritz, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

While I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the friendliness of our Front Office team, I will certainly review and address mentioned shortcomings in training. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused with regards to the above.

Your compliment for the restaurant is much appreciated and will certainly be passed on to the Executive Chef and his team.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Cape Town and the hotel soon.

Yours Sincerely,

Markus Fritz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#37 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Pepperclub Hotel & Spa
#47 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Property: Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Southall Travel so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing