We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel in the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #40 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Quality hotel in the centre”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Stayed here for six nights. Hotel was very comfortable. Nice large comfortable and modern rooms. We walked to the V&A most days, takes about 20 mins. Everything in the hotel was good, we ate in the restaurant by the swimming pool three times, the food was always excellent in terms of quality and value. The staff in the hotel were extremely attentive and helpful. We would definately recommend this hotel and indeed stay here again on a future visit to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking Table Mountain although if you are overlooking the pool (depending on whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherylthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    440
    140
    61
    43
See reviews for
170
444
96
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

How is it that when travellers make and pay for bookings in advance in good faith, your front desk clerk intimidates them to forfeit their credit cards for unauthorised transactions, ripping them off knowing that they leave town the next day ...... we love South Africa and recently spent a months honeymoon in Cape Town, and had many wonderful experiences, on our last night we thought we would treat ourselves to a 5 star experience before getting on the plane .... unfortunately when we made our way through the unattended front doors of the hotel (no valet parking, no doorman or bellboy) carrying our own baggage, the experience started to dwindle. Back to the desk clerk ..... after demanding he swipes my Visa Card for ''security reasons'' I grew suspicious and that evening I thought it may be a good idea to check my bank transactions on-line, doing so I found that my account had been debited R2000, the next morning at checkout he assured me that the amount had been refunded and in good faith I believed his lies.
BE WARNED after no less that 6 attempts, the Cape Town Hilton lacklustre staff have been bumbling about sending assurances that they have sorted it out .... to date I am still out of pocket, my only pleasure will be making sure this story goes viral.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerrard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for giving feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

May I refer to the email correspondence between you and our Reception Manager, emphasizing the credit card authorization was cancelled upon your departure and the amount in question has been released by the local bank however is still held by your bank in Australia.

I certainly understand your frustration and the inconvenience this delay may cause, however I would strongly recommend that you liaise with your bank directly.

Kindly note that taking credit card authorization upon check-in is standard procedure in the hotel industry worldwide.

My team and I have done our utmost to resolve the matter, liaising with the local bank as well as the foreign bank to release the funds. As explained above, the money is held by your local bank and every effort has been made to communicate the release request to your bank. Please refer to the documentation sent to you on February 16th.

Please contact your local bank and do let us know if we can assist any further in order to resolve the issue.

With my best personal regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We have been using the Hilton for some years now, on arrival from UK, for our first few days in SA. The central location and Waterfront shuttle make it very convenient.

The rooms are comfortable, with big soft beds, quality linen and nice furniture. The bathrooms too are excellent. The Hilton manages to feel like coming home, after the long overnight flight, and the staff are great.

And the downside? Well there are sime niggles, inevitably. First is the smoking policy around the pool, mainly because the hotel promotes and sells these smelly Middle Eastern bubble pipe thingys, which pollute the entire pool area. Second issue is the 100% Halal policy, which precludes any pork products at breakfast. If the Hilton in London can "fence off" pork at breakfast to satisfy it's Muslim clients, why can't the same International hotel chain in Cape Town do the same?

Specifically, on the downside, this trip, we had a smoked in Hilton limo from the airport (which cost did not reach my bill, I'm glad to note!), then a smoked in room on arrival (quickly changed!) This provoked a fulsome apology, by email, from housekeeping - thank you kindly. And, in a hotel that was not very busy, no chance of an upgrade for an HHonours member, on arrival, even when I asked nicely!

Then we discovered, high winds some time previously had damaged two pool umbrellas, leaving only one serviceable, which is not what you need when pale and white from the UK. (Especially as the "Germans" guarded it in relays whilst we were there!)

So, is the CT Hilton becoming a bit "ethnic" for our tastes? Well, maybe. Hilton brands itself as an international chain, for all ethnicities, but this hotel seems to me to be drifting away from that ideal, year on year. We really like the place, but it is becoming harder each year to feel we fit their target guest profile. We moved on to the Radisson Blu, from the Hilton, an hotel of similar quality, and I have to say it suited us very well - and they gave me nice bacon and sausage at breakfast!

I hate giving a 5 star hotel which I actually quite like 3 stars in a TA review, but the Hilton CT seems to be drifting away from what we really want, or, for that matter, what I expect from the brand.

Room Tip: Some guests think the room smoking policy or limo smoking ban is optional. Hotel clearly does not c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
niagara on the Lake, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. Excellent new Hilton with great rooms and service. bathrooms are fabulous.I believe most rooms would have a view of Table Mountain shuttle service to V&A until 6pm. Would recommend The Hilton in this price range of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Derrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Hilton is on top of Cape Town City center near the Malay quarter. I stayed their for a conference in the conference center which is about 2 km away. The Hilton offered a shuttle bus, but the walk in the morning and evening was always very interesting and cleared the mind. The Hotel reception and staff was very helpful and polite. My room was on the sixt floor facing the mountain. I could sleep very well, it was pretty quiet. The rooms are kept in a very good condition and have fast WiFi available. The breakfast buffet had everything one could wish for. i will definitely come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wesel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

If you are looking for a quiet sleep do not stay at the Hilton Hotel in Cape Town. On the other hand if you like to be woken up at 5:20 a.m. on a Sunday morning with no warning by a marching band playing very loud music on their instruments, this is the hotel for you! Other comments, you can wait a while for lifts/elevators as there are only two small ones, and the gym is very compact and limiting, but there is a nice small outdoor pool and deck. If you are a rugby fan, you might have to go outside the hotel to watch games on tv as their SuperSport 1 channel does not appear to work all the time. In my Hilton Hotel experience, this property unfortunately ranks at the very bottom after this stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 1 June 2017
Dear Christopher H,

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to learn about your recent experience with us, as this is not our standard level of care or service we expect our guests receive. As we continue to look for ways to further enhance our guest's overall experience, we will make sure to forward your comments to our leadership team. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon and Make it Right.

With my personal regards,

Marc Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Excellent bedroom, good facilities, food good, the front desk was very helpful, walking distance of town centre, taxis available at all times, useful for transport to the aerial cable car to Table Mountain, receptionists knowledgeable regarding trips in the local area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
969 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Property: Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing