We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service from the Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #41 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Excellent Service from the Staff”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The staff of Hilton Cap Town made me feel welcomed and well taken care of. They were friendly to talk to; and attentive to my needs as well. The room is clean and quiet, and overall it was a very comfortable stay. However, the room lacks some basic amenities such as bathroom slippers, shaving kit; there wasn't any complimentary bottled water as well. And there could be more variety of international channels on the TV as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank WTC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    446
    140
    64
    44
See reviews for
177
448
97
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
surabaya
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Staying end of april 2014 for 2 nights. Nice hotel, especially the modern and very clean room with wooden floor.
Lobby was not really interesting, like 3 star hotel. Also lift was quite old and small.
From the lobby front, you can see table mountain. Very enjoying stay on this hotel, and make my trip to cape town worthful.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank frankyantonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I just stayed at this Hilton for 5 nights (I checked out May 6). From the moment I stepped through the door, until I left, every employee I came into contact with, gave me the absolute HIGHEST amount of customer service I could ask for. Attentive, kind, without being overbearing and "clingy."

Due to a minor error, I was upgraded to an Executive Room on the 8th floor (Room 801). The room was very large, clean, modern and well maintained. House cleaning did a wonderful job in keeping my room cleaned, including turn down service, etc. Room service was quick and efficient. My room overlooked the "Bo Kaap" district, and I could see their brightly colored houses every night. I could also see the ferris wheel at the V&A.

Contrary to what some persons say, as the hotel is too far away to walk to much, I walked to the V&A almost everyday; several times 2-3 times a day. That would include going to the District 6 Museum and the Jewish Museum. If you are just a fairly fit person, walking the area is of no concern. I never felt threatened or concerned.

I was able to eat breakfast in the Executive Room for free. It had everything I needed: Eggs, bacon, cheese, meat, toast and several different breads. Along with yogurt, fruit, cereal, milk, and of course coffee. The main restaurant had a similar layout for their breakfast buffet and you could order omelets, etc.

This Hilton is just what it is: A Hilton, with very high customer service values and very high room quality. If I ever get back to Cape Town (God I hope I do), I WILL stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CassieKat306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

170 Nights was the total of my stay at this Hotel, I have never experienced a better stay. The staff are SUPER friendly and helpful. Very professional. The hotel is very clean and food was Halal. Location is perfect. The V&A shuttle needs to be extended a little bit more. I suggest instead of having it running every hour it would be better if it runs every 2 hours and the last one returns at 9 mayb. My final words to the team are keep it up. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting cape town.I heard the hotel is having some renovations soon also which am sure will add more beauty to the place and mayb have a nice swimming pool instead of the currently big bath tub :) Thanks to each and everyone I have dealt with, met and helped me during my stay. It was a lekker stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mostafa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makassar, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The location is in the city center, very strategic. But the room is a bit small compared to the other Hilton that I 've ever use before.
The service was very good. Breakfast was nice, but I think not very much variation.
For Asians, the bathroom must be very likeable because on the toilet is equipted with washlet.
There's a convenience store just across the Hotel to buy our needs and to Top up your local prepaid SIM card,
Overall it's a pleasant to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anatsir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel had beautiful spacious rooms comfy beds friendly helpful hotel staff. Free town car to waterfront. Central city location. Would recommend this hotel if you wanted to stay in the city. If you rather stay near the sea try stay in bantry bay

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto de la Cruz, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Apart from the friendly, very helpful staff,this hotel fell short of the standards I have experienced previously at hotels owned by the Hilton. We are not Executive or Gold Members but people travelling with us, who had access to the Executive Lounge and dining facilities had a very different, more enjoyable experience during the week we were there. Breakfasts in the main part of the hotel were very good and service excellent but the only evening meal we enjoyed was in the Indian restaurant which was excellent However eat early- the night we visited a large family group arrived and descended on the buffet table like gannets. The staff very kindly recooked some dishes so we could taste a range of dishes but we did have to wait for the freshly cooked food. Breakfast take away menu disappointing - there was no spoon to eat the yoghurt,straw to drink the juice, the coffee was cold and the meat was warm.
Next time we visit Cape Town we will choose an hotel In the Victoria and Alfred complex so we have the freedom to come and go as we please, particularly in the evenings, and not rely on the shuttle bus, which finishes at 6pm and taxies

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking pool, or if this is not possible a room near the top of the building with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverley178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful team members as well as our main breakfast selection and dinner options. It is with regret that you did not have the same experience with the breakfast take away menu. I have relayed your comment to the Food & Beverage Manager who will review the offer accordingly.

Benefits for members of our loyalty program HHonors, as recognition for our guests’ patronage, are being delivered at our property according to brand guidelines.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope that my team and I will have the opportunity to redeem our services to you at some point in the future.

With my personal regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
986 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,664 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Property: Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#39 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing