We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very glad we chose this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #39 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Very glad we chose this hotel”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton twice in March (we stayed in Stellenbosch for two nights in the middle of our holiday). Both times, check in was good and we had very nice rooms. We're Hilton Diamond this year, and our suites were very nice, and we had beautiful views of Table Mountain.

The location was great--some of our favorite bars and restaurants were only a 5 minute walk on/near Bree St. It was also nice being able to walk to an excellent coffee shop in Bo Kaap. We had a car, so we drove to the V&A Waterfront a couple of times, but I am glad we didn't stay in that part of town (too touristy).

Breakfast almost every morning was delightful. On Sunday, they didn't have their act together (Elfrida had the day off), but the food was always good. I enjoyed cooked-to-order eggs every day!

The staff was wonderful, but my only minor gripe is that the bell men were a bit too anxious to help us with our two bags. No big deal, and it was nice of them to ask (I just didn't need every one of them to ask!).

The executive lounge seemed like a bit of an afterthought on Hilton's part (very small and not inviting). The staff in the lounge were wonderful, though--so friendly and helpful! The gym was also tiny, and the elliptical was terrible. Luckily we got in plenty of exercise walking around Cape Town.

I highly recommend the Hilton Cape Town for it's excellent location, very comfortable stay, and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a Table Mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowbunny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    591
    443
    140
    62
    44
See reviews for
176
444
97
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Croton ny
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is close to but not right on the waterfront so you probably need a taxi. Was there in may so the weather was quite unpredictable. Hotel restaurant was quite good and the staff was outstanding. The fellow who checked me in fixed a problem with my Hilton account I didn't even know I had. Everyone was immensely helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

Your kind comments about our team members are much appreciated and I am delighted to read that you experienced outstanding service.

Thank you for staying with us and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With my personal regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton in September last year, when we had to fly Cape Town for my graduation. We really enjoyed our stay and the service was really excellent! We made a mini honeymoon out of it and enjoyed the room service and special treatment. Breakfast buffet was exceptional as well! We will definitely be back the next time we are in Cape Town..

Loshnee Vandayar

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReturnOfTheLosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberton, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Spending 2 nights on a business trip in a room accross the lift and housekeeping was the most horrible experience. 2 Nights without any sleep as it was clear that you had to listen to all guess leaving an arriving making extreme noise during conversations. Housekeeping also making a tremendous noise entering the section next to the lift area. Breakfast most disappointing especially if you make use of requesting for cappucino or the hot breakfast as each request can delay up to 45 minutes before receiving the requested cappucino or french toast. Hopefully I do not have to revisit this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Tosca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

At the outset please accept my apologies for my delayed reply to you on this platform and thank you for taking the time to give us feedback.

I deeply regret to learn that you left our property disappointed and would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any shortcomings in service received during your stay with us.

We always endeavor to offer the highest level of service and ensure that every guest leaves our hotel taking away a positive experience and it seems that on this occasion we failed to meet this commitment.

I hope that despite your discontent, my team and I will have the opportunity to redeem our services to you at some point in the future.

With my personal regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

the Hilton cape town is grand hotel with modern rooms . the buffet breakfast is superb and everything is halaal. mezbaan restaurant is also great. the only negative is the pool which is way too small for a Hilton hotel. the location is alsp very good

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed at the Hilton earlier this year whilst on business and had a wonderful trip. Front of house staff bend over backwards to make sure you are happy and comfortable and the banqueting staff are wonderful and are so eager to help. I had to take one of my business counterparts to hospital and the hotel not only gave me the number of a very caring doctor but also arranged for the hotel car to take us and bring us back after. They then took extra care of my ill colleague and made sure that she had everything that she needed to feel better. Any information that you need, just ask the staff - they are a wealth of knowledge on the local attractions as well as all those hidden gems that you tend to not know about unless you live in a place for an extended amount of time. Room that I stayed in was AMAZING!!!!! Spacious, comfortable beds, huge shower and a big bath as well! I loved that I could open my curtains in the morning and have a cup of tea whilst looking at Table Mountain - a real treat when most of the day was spent in conference! If anyone is looking for a central location where you are treated like royalty this is the place to book!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountain on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Lauren,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is such a pleasure to receive feedback like yours and to know that our team members contributed to make your stay truly memorable. Your kind comments are much appreciated and I have proudly shared them with the rest of my team.

Thank you for staying with us and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

With my personal regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The Hilton Cape Town is located in an interesting neighborhood full of SA history. It is at a busy corner, but close to some of the tourist attractions. Some rooms have a nice view of the mountains. The room was clean and modern. I wasn't sure about the privacy of the glass door to the bathroom given that it was directly across from the window looking out onto an office building, but it was fine. Bed was comfortable and the room well laid out. The bathroom was clean, very cool looking tub and nice shower. Room service was prompt and the server was friendly. No complimentary water. The breakfast buffet was good, with good options. It did take some time for someone to answer the room service number and I had to call down to get a code for the almost useless internet connection. The internet was slow, very slow. The elevator was also slow and small. The bell staff was very attentive and helpful with luggage and arranging taxis. Overall, it was an OK hotel, very to the point and business like in terms of service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kh214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcSchumacher, General Manager at Hilton Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed our views, comfortable rooms as well as the hotel’s central location at the border of the traditional Bo-Kaap - a perfect starting point for sightseeing.

Your kind comments about our team members’ level of service are appreciated, however please accept my apologies for the delay with regards to placing your order via room service as well as any inconvenience and frustration concerning the internet voucher.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope that my team and I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

With my personal regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,730 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,497 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
983 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Property: Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Address: 126 Buitengracht Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Cape Town City Centre 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Africa's second largest city at the foot of Table Mountain, the Hilton Cape Town City Centre hotel is only 20 minutes from Cape Town Airport and is close to many shops and businesses, the wine district, a variety of beaches and the National Parliament. All of the modern Guest Rooms at this Cape Town hotel boast large windows, 32-inch LCD TVs and complimentary wireless internet access. Upgrade to an Executive Room for stunning views of Table Mountain or the city and access to the Executive Lounge, with complimentary breakfast, canapés and drinks. Hold a conference for up to 120 guests in one of 6 meeting rooms or 2 board rooms, which offer the very latest in audio/visual technology and ensure your event is a success with our business center. Indulge in an all-day dining experience in the elegant Mezbaan restaurants(Halaal certified by ICSA) and sip cocktails and relax with a fragrant shisha pipe in the exotic Signal Hill Terrace Lounge and Restaurant. Work out in our Fitness Center or soak up the glorious South African sunshine and stunning views of the Bo-Kaap and Table Mountain in the outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Hilton Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing