We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$194/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Commodore(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$837
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$239/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
US$864
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$753
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Table Bay Hotel(Cape Town Central)
US$528
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$474
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,479)
Filter reviews
1,479 results
Traveller rating
696
497
157
72
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
696
497
157
72
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungetable mountainbo kaapfree shuttleconcierge stafflong streetsignal hillbedroom suiteshuttle servicethe hotel offerswater frontcentral locationwaterfront areacamps baysouth africarandcabs
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 1,479 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

A good hotel option in central Cape Town. The property is laid out ok with a coffee/tea bar in the lobby. Executive Lounge was subpar by Hilton standards. Same with breakfast. That said, the staff in front were amazing. Very cordial, professional and eager to make my stay great. Anxious to come back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank ozdess9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2017

Dear ozdess9,

We appreciate your feedback and it sounds like you had a great time in Cape Town! From the facilities to our warm staff members, we are taking your comments into consideration as we take the steps necessary to make it right for you and our future guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Cape Town City Centre.

With my personal regards,

Marc Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

No matter how great the service and the rooms (which are pretty good) in my book a hotel gets a single star if it makes its guests physically unsafe.

During renovation there is no sign at the entrance that says "Hilton." I've attached a photo of the entrance. When I complained they said there was a Hilton sign around the CORNER but I didn't see it. In fact, my Uber driver dropped me off, with my luggage, near the entrance that HE knew was the entrance, but which was completely unmarked as a Hilton or even as a hotel.

It is widely known that South Africa is dangerous for tourists, and I got very scared while I was wondering around with my suitcase and backpack when a homeless man kept approaching me and saying something I could not understand. Frantic, I searched and searched for the sign indicating the entrance until I realized that an open door actually was the Hilton, but THERE WAS NO SIGN.

I'm told the lack of signage is only during renovations, but a hotel that can be this reckless and blasé about guest safety in one area can be the same way in another. There are lots of hotels in Cape Town. Why risk it?

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank DavidBenkof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2017

Dear Mr Benkof,

We would like to thank you for the time taken to give us feedback, which is highly appreciated.

The main entrance was closed for one day due to necessary renovations.
We take pride in the safety and security of our guests at all times, and so we did everything required as per local law and safety regulations to secure and guarantee the safety of our guests.

I can assure you that we do everything necessary to not only guarantee the safety of our guests, but also to create a great guest experience while staying at our hotel (as you have mentioned in your first phrase of the review).

We do apologise if it has caused any inconvenience to you and we do hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

With our best personal regards,

Marc O. Schumacher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

I've read some of the reviews that have been less flattering, but our recent stay was the complete opposite.

We chose the Hilton as our base for Cape Town after completing a safari in Kruger. The moment we arrived we were warmly greeted and even with extra chocolates for the kids. Our room was ready and had all of the trimmings we've come accustomed to at a Hilton.

The front desk even called us daily in the evening to make sure we had everything we needed.

I will be upfront and say we did get an upgrade to a one bedroom suite being a Diamond Member, but I didn't see any difference at the front desk to the housekeeping staff on how they treated all their guests.

The executive lounge is a little dark, but is slated for renovations as the rest of the hotel is undergoing at the moment.

We had a great stay and would stay here again!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank ajaineng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2017

Dear ajaineng,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your 5 star experiences.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our modern and comfortable rooms, stunning views, central location as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. It is such a pleasure to learn that you were welcomed with the warmth and hospitality our team members are renowned for.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mother City soon.

With my personal regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

It was a good place to stay. Supportive staff, good breakfast that accomodates a vegetarian diet. The rooms had everything you would look for. Thanks for the easy access to wifi! The nice view from the bar area is refreshing!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank livhuwanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2017

Dear livhuwanin,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your 5 star experiences.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our modern, comfortable rooms and our breakfast as well as complimentary Wi-Fi. It is such a pleasure to learn that you were welcomed with the warmth and hospitality our team members are renowned for.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Mother City soon.

With my personal regards,

Marc O. Schumacher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Location excellent, staff service quite good, facilities quite good. Simple things like not having bacon at breakfast or being able to have an alcoholic beverage with dinner in the restaurant are reasons enough not to return to this hotel. Its a shame that integration in society has gone missing at this Hilton facility and western visitors are dismissed as lesser valued customers due to religious bekiefs. Not even having an option for what are considered normalities in normal hotels of this standard is a shane and detraction from otherwose a fairly good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 August 2017

Dear Matt P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us. We are taking your comments into consideration as we take the steps necessary to make it right for you and our future guests.

In an effort to meet the needs of our diverse guests and the communities in which we operate, Hilton Cape Town City Centre provides a Halaal-friendly environment and we are Halaal certified by ICSA (Islamic Council of South Africa). This information is visible on our website.
We hope to have another opportunity to serve you if your travels bring you back to Cape Town.

I'm please to read that you enjoyed our staff's warm hospitality. Thank you for having chosen Hilton Cape Town City Centre, I look forward to welcoming you back.

With my personal regards,

Marc Schumacher
General Manager
Hilton Cape Town City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews