We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“LOVE LOVE LOVE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bombay Bicycle Club

Bombay Bicycle Club
Ranked #116 of 1,131 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The beauty of this place is astounding! I have to keep going back because after reading the menu, one just says....hmmmm I HAVE to come back to try this and that and the other.
The decor is just fabulous and quirky.
Table Mountain hits you slap bang outside the restaurant so if it is summer sit on the pavement.
Oh how i miss living just around the corner from this wonderful establishment....I am now only a mere 9000kms away :-(

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    131
    37
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
116 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“If you like things a bit different ...this is the place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We did not eat here - but arrived after 10:00pm for drinks (last round is midnight) and the bonus was selected drinks were 2 for the price of one. Good attentive service, great vibe, decor ... you have to see it to believe it ... "ZIngara" to the T and loads of fun! If you like things a little unusual, quirky and fun this is your place - swings for chairs at one table. Can't wait to go back and have dinner there!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
144 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Bohemian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

No words to describe it…absolutely loved it. The people, the place and the food.

Will be back next trip for sure.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gobeyondtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The wife and I visited the BBC for our 2nd anniversary. They put us in "The Love Shack", a little corner with a table for two on the top floor. The atmosphere was lively and fun and we generally felt very comfortable there. The waitress had a lot of personality and the food was pretty decent as well. Overall a great experience - more so for the vibe than the cuisine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iAmSparticus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst service ever!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We went to the Bombay Bicycle club in March for our anniversary. We were NOT impressed with our waitress. She seemed to be high or had an IQ below 50. Not sure. She didn't get our order right, brought the food in 5 minutes (after asking her to wait 30 minutes before placing our order). Thereafter she was unable to do a payment with the card machine and the payment ended up going through twice which we only realised at the end of the month after looking at our bank statement.

The place is nice with lots of potential, but seriously....more attention needs to be given to the training of the waitresses.

The food was excellent, just a pity our anniversary night was over in 45 minutes.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaMeintjies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Bicycle Club also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bombay Bicycle Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing