We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Saturday Morning Brekkie”
Review of Old Biscuit Mill

Old Biscuit Mill
Book In Advance
More Info
US$297.50*
and up
Private Tour: Woodstock Day Trip from Cape Town
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good for Saturday Morning Brekkie”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Crowded but great to go to and sample (ok buy) the beers and feeds..... lots to see, eat, and watch.
Definitely recommended to all so go and do it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ctravla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    374
    134
    24
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't eat breakfast before you go...”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived around 10am on a Saturday in Dec and the place was buzzing. Lots of really delicious foodie treats and all sorts of drinks to choose from beer on tap, glass of bubbles, Rooibos Ice Tea (with vodka). The best part was being in the atmosphere sharing long tables with strangers and buying local produce from the growers... yummy chorizo, cakes and olive jams etc. The shops selling clothes and art were a bit pricey and we didn't see anything at caught our eye. Will definatly go again for the food. Taxi cost R65 each way from central CT.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank freetime2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wondeful market”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We waited for the only Saturday to arrive because everybody told us that the Old Biscuit Mill is excellent. And it was true.
Beautiful and colorful market...full of good merchandise...food... clothing crafts....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyTourist53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great, but take care....”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a wonderful experience visiting the biscuit mill and savoured all the wonderful goodies on offer. Rounded it off with a perfect meal at the Test Kitchen! However, when we got back to our car that was parked in the road (because the parking area was full), our window was smashed and an iPad stolen from under the seat. So please take care and check that you park in an area where security guards keep watch.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Udette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, Free State, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A must for food lovers”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

What a fantastic experience! We went on a rainy busy Saturday morning and although it was a bit crowded you quickly get sucked into the lively vibe. There are a lot of interesting arty stalls/ shops where you're sure to find souvenirs or gifts for friends or loved ones. The highlight is, however, the enormous food/ fresh produce hall with interesting and delicious foods and desserts, beers and wines. You will want to go back again and again until you've tried everything because at the Biscuit Mill you really are spoiled for choice. Go hungry!

Parking is a bit of a problem though, and we parked quite a distance from the Biscuit Mill in kind of a dodgy area, but we've been told by the locals that arriving early on a Saturday morning will be your best chance to secure a parking close by.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Biscuit Mill also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Old Biscuit Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing