We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run coffee shop”
Review of Rcaffe

Rcaffe
Ranked #175 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Contemporary, Healthy, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: About the restaurant: Established in 2004, Rcaffe on Long Street has stood the test of time. Our excellent coffee has always been our biggest selling point, and our passionate belief in excellent food and impeccable service has certainly made Rcaffe a Cape Town institution. Recently voted as one of the Top 10 coffee shops in cape town by Cape Town Magazine. We are proud, and thankful to our regular, and new, clientele for the support over the years. Philosophy: "Home is where friendly paths cross, and for that brief moment in time, the whole world looks like home." - Hermann Hesse The Rcaffe experience permeates all your senses: sight, smell, flavor, sound and atmosphere stirring a romantically familiar sense of deja vu. Have you ever been drawn to a place, not quite certain what pulled you in, finding yourself giving in to the urge of exploring it further, only to discover that your expectation has been exceeded? That's the charm of Rcaffe. Funky, creative, quirky, vibrant, unique, social, friendly, hip, fresh, sophisticated, decadent....Rcaffe is a theatrical experience which would create a personal stage for each and every one of its visitors. Decor: The decor is a creative expression of the Rcaffe philosophy. It has a romantic, bohemian feel to it, modeled by the creative flare of designer and artist, Brigitte Dewberry ("Spred");"I wanted to create a quirky fun but layered experience. Something that would engage the customers but leave them with a taste of nostalgia" The art features made from "R"ecycled magazines and "R"ead books, "R"ecords, vintage tennis "R"ackets, tape "R"ecorders etc is what brings the "R" to life. Food: We have a divers menu using only the freshest ingredients. Quality, consistency and well-balanced flavors are what we have become known for since opening in 2004. Flavors are well thought through and every bite is complex, with multiple layers of taste awakening your senses and evoking memories. Mediterranean simplicity is combined with the interesting notion that nothing is quite what it seems, continuously discovering a new flavor element with every bite, making the experience unforgettable.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Well run coffee shop”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Indulge in some good coffee and go for a solid breakfast at Rcaffe ln Long Street. Excellent wifi in this hip place. Try the yoghurt with muesli for a healthy kick-start of your day

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    57
    10
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noordhoek, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good and healthy food!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We walked along Long street to find a place for breakfast. We stoped at Rcaffe and this is our breakfast place now. We love the food and it's healthy. This place is Amazing, we Recomand it! :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tine Therese A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Croissants better than Paris”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have been in Cape Town 4 days and have had breakfast here everyday. The food and coffee is so good there is no need to go anywhere else. The croissants are the best we have had anywhere in the world - flaky buttery and extremely fresh. Eggs have been cooked perfectly and the bread served with the eggs is excellent. And the coffee is also delicious. Also excellent are the bran muffins.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cool and Stylish Cafe”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Trying to fit in some last minute shop browsing along this end of Long Street, my daughter and I stopped in for a late afternoon pick-me-up. The beverage selections were quite nice, a bit more extensive than the usual coffee shop choices. The iced capuccino and iced espresso were refreshing and nicely balanced. The decor was funky-stylish and comfortable, great for lingering over the laptop while enjoying the available wifi. The baked goods looked delicious, but we abstained since dinner was to be on the early side that evening. If the cafe were open later, we would have returned for dessert etc. The Rcaffe was definitely one of the more stylish and inviting coffee spots we encountered in the Long Street vicinity.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassFamilyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“RCaffe quick stop-over”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

During the last day of the Jazz Festival event we were working at, on our way to the shops, we happen to pass the RCaffe on Long Street, Cape Town, South Africa. Looking for a different venue to have brunch we decided to go inside and have a bite to eat. For the size of this cafe, it is pretty big on service and pretty big on plates of food too. We both ordered an omelette with a salad and was pretty surprised with the size of these plates filled to the brim. The food was tasty and healthy and the coffee great. What really had me interested was the kind of decor used which was very unique and the welcoming atmosphere of the restaurant. It is a definite must see if you go to Long Street!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iggi_devries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rcaffe also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Rcaffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing