We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious food with larger than life serving”
Review of Bombay Brasserie

Bombay Brasserie
Ranked #62 of 1,155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Luxury dining meets fine Indian cuisine at the Bombay Brasserie where every meal is a gastronomic journey through a delicate melody of flavours. Contemporary Indian dining at its best. We also offer an award winning wine list, local craft beers, valet parking and large groups up to 8 guests.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Scrumptious food with larger than life serving”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

what else can i say? thank god it was paid by my company.

we had briyani and other traditional indian food. we were told that the food was halal and that was the cue for us to order and eat til some of us fell asleep in the car.

the taste was expected of any indian cooking - melts in your mouth when you want it to although can be rich at times too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Muzzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    63
    30
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“10 out of 10”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

From the moment we entered we were treated like royalty. Our waiter was extremely friendly throughtout the evening. What struck me most was the care taken by the manager Stephen who personally came around to greet myself and my husband and went through his recommendations from the menu... Our starter was the Chargrilled Steak of Norwegian Salmon, and it was the best salmon that I've had! We also had the chicken kebabs and this was my favourite, the chicken was soft and succulent! Our mains were the sweet and sour prawns and the lamb shank, which my husband really enjoyed!
This was a great night out and we will definately be returning for more Indian cuisine.
Meeting the chef was another hightlight!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee29_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Great ambience and great food! As my husband pointed out the lack of salt and pepper on the table was a sign of confidence in the sublime spicing of their food, it did not disappoint! The chef came to every table and talked to the guests and asked, if the food met our expactations. The only thing which could have been improved was the taste and presentation of espresso and tea!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stromboliCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous birthday meal”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We went there to celebrate someone's 60th - the choice was Chicken Tikka Massala, Buna Gosht, Lamb Shank, Sweet and Sour Prawn Massala. All dishes were superb. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 427sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at the Taj!”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Last evening , i joined a group for a business dinner , at the Bombay Brasseria. The welcoming from the front reception was friendly, and we were seated quickly at our table , reserved for 8 people. In fact 4 of the gusts were in fact , on business in Ct, travelling from Mumbai India.
On noticing the amount of Indian patrons, i could assume the food was going to be good, and it was!
The actual table settings were lovely, pretty plating in blue and gold on white tablecloths, with sterling silver elegant cutlery.- nice glasswear too!
The wine list was brought to our table swifly, offering a great selection of wines from the Vineyards in the Cape. We opted for a set menu starting with 3 different small dishes, meat , fish and a veg followed by a plalette cleanser of guave flavoured sorbet .
Both dishes werer very tasty , and very nicely presented on the plate- and very typically Indian.very pleasing, with nibbles of traditional treats as snacks on the table to. Then our main dish was served, which was a tradional lamb curry, and Nan Breads. All in all a very pleasant evening, i can just add one small negative ctriticism - I did feel that the main course, coul dhave been served a lot hotter in temperature, the plates were not warmed, and so the food turned cold very quickly- which was a pity.
The service from our waiters were very good, and they were knowledgable when questions of the food were asked.
Our meals were served on time, all together , and without overly fussed.- which was nice. Within our group of 8 - two were vegetarian, which didnt seem to pose a problem , even though a set menu had been selected. a pleasant evening of good traditional Indian food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona65_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Brasserie also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bombay Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing