We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bombay Brasserie

Bombay Brasserie
Ranked #62 of 1,144 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Luxury dining meets fine Indian cuisine at the Bombay Brasserie where every meal is a gastronomic journey through a delicate melody of flavours. Contemporary Indian dining at its best. We also offer an award winning wine list, local craft beers, valet parking and large groups up to 8 guests.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Great food, fantastic service, and well above expectations. Staff was knowledgeable about dishes and offered helpful suggestions. Definitely delicious and worth the trip.

Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    63
    30
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

i am fortunate enough to have visited Capetown three times in the last 9 months. I always have a meal here. The pot roasted karoo lamb and Chicken 65 are a must order….

enjoy

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blue356sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
394 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“The Best Indian Food Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had been told that Bombay Brasserie was the best Indian food in Cape Town, but must say, we were slightly misled. It's actually the best Indian food I've had... anywhere... ever!
The starters were great and as my friend didn't eat seafood, they happily replaced the fish with lamb for her.
The coriander sorbet to clear the palette was served very dramatically over a pot of dry ice.
And the maitre'd tasting plate was worth every cent. Thank you Steven for the choices - they were great!
Although only small tastes, all were divine, and we certainly didn't leave feeling hungry.
The lamb curry was tender, garlic spinach creamy and dahl wonderful.
All was topped off with the Creme Brulee and Baked Yoghurt desserts. Divine!
Definitely worth stopping by for a meal whether staying at the Taj or elsewhere when in Cape Town. And do book, it's little, intimate and very busy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, UK
Level Contributor
209 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Worth saving up for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

It's not the cheapest but if you like Indian food and don't mind being a little adventurous with both your taste buds and wallet then I highly recommend the Bombay Brasserie.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape town
1 review
“Indian delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Returned after a year, and the food is still as good. A few dishes was added crayfish tails cooked in the tandoori oven exquisite. Service always good with nice wine recommendations from the wine steward.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ongezo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Brasserie also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Bombay Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing