We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Urban Hip Icon Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Urban Hip Icon Hotel
Ranked #95 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We recently stayed for 4 days and it was a very good location. Approximately 15 - 20 minutes walk to the V & A. Rooms were very clear and spaceous. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLLangford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

We recently spent a night in Cape Town and stayed at the Urban Hip Icon Hotel in Lower Long Street. An awesome city stay when in Cape Town. Walking distance to most attractions - great rooms and facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyhJozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

For those of you who don't know Cape Town, this hotel is right in the center of the city bowl. It is probably one of the best located hotels in Cape Town at affordable prices. The apartments are self catering which is great, especially if like us you have lived out of a suitcase and restaurant food for breakfast lunch and dinner the 2 weeks before.
Below the hotel is a centre with a grocery store, Vida cafe and a dry cleaner. The staff are super accommodating and parking is secure. There is also a fully equipped gym and an outdoor swimming pool. all and all it was a great stay in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Indicate whether you want a twin or double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank henri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed here on a recent trip to Cape Town. On previous trips I've always stayed at boutique hotels , but decided to try The Icon this time ,so I booked a 2 bed apartment .
Location was fantastic , easy to get to and from , and close to everything . Parking was safe and secure in the building. The apartment itself was beautiful and clean , the beds were very comfortable with crisp white bedding, and we had a balcony with city views. The Icon offers excellent value for money.
I can highly recommend staying here !

Room Tip: Ask for a corner apartment which i believe are bigger than avarage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaDream2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

The hotel is situated centrally in Cape town just at the bottom of Long Street and very close to the CTICC, its a stones throw away from the Waterfront and also the stadium. It was pleasant the staff were also warm and welcoming right through my trip. It is self catering so please be aware of that.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountmeruhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

A real nice place in Cape Town, close to CTICC and within walking distance to the wonderful V & A waterfront.
The apartments are trendy and well decorated. There is a equipped kitchen (stove, refrigerator, micro wave, coffe kettle) and all new.
Also very close to main downton road and weekend souvenir markets.
The only little problem is that there is no ar con inside the sleeping room and you have to leave the central ar con in the living room on in order to cool it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bichoturista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

I was supposed to stay at Icon for five nights but, due to a flight delay, I arrived a day later than planned. My booking had not been cancelled but later I noticed that they had separately charged me also for the night I didn't stay. The reception copies both sides of your credit card for their files which I think is very unsafe.

However, the apartments are just gorgeous and very spacious, with modern amenities. I loved the fact that you could use the gym and swimming pool freely without having to sing in or interact with anyone. The gym is quite well-equipped, pool area great for sunbathing.

You can either cook yourself or buy ready meals + delicious cakes at Food Lover's Market on the ground floor of the hotel. The housekeeping will do the dishes.

Basically you can walk to anywhere in the City Bowl area or to Waterfront, even to Sea Point. At dark, however, the location of the hotel felt unsafe as the surrounding business buildings were all quiet. In that sense maybe not the best option for a single traveller who would like to go out at night.

Airport shuttle bus to and from the Cape Town airport operates at the Civic Center station, whis is maybe 500 m from the Icon hotel. A very nice and cheap transfer service!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TroubledAditi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
350 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#75 of 110 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#89 of 110 in Cape Town Central
38 reviews
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,713 reviews
City Bowl
Grand Daddy Hotel
Grand Daddy Hotel
#62 of 110 in Cape Town Central
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Hip Icon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Hip Icon Hotel

Address: Corner of Lower Long Street and Hans Strydom | Foreshore, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £86 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Urban Hip Icon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Urban Hip Icon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Hip Icon Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing