We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
248
24
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
24
5
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The first thing that strikes you is the location - right under Table Mountain and just a few paces from the nice end of Long Street. Comfortable, spacious rooms, modern, clean bathrooms, help yourself to a generous breakfast in the beautiful kitchen and lounge area, and the welcome from Stephen and Wayne is first-class, as is their local knowledge. I was a day late in arriving due to a cancelled flight, but this was no problem. Stephen kindly took care of booking my airport transfer to the lodge, onward travel arrangements on the Baz Bus, and arranged a Cape Peninsula tour too. Wayne recommended a great little restaurant nearby and gave me a voucher for free wine. They made my first few days travelling alone in South Africa incredibly enjoyable and easy. Just stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barefoot2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Had a great time in Cape Town, mainly due to the friendly and helpful staff (Wayne) from Amber Tree! Very clean and organized, cozy and fun! Amazing garden at the back, where you can go for a dinner, drink, or even have your breakfast there! Really good beds (the best that I've ever seen in a Hostel in my entire life!). Very good location, with restaurants, bars and shops everywhere! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bernardoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Clean, friendly and beautiful!

Amber Tree is located just up the hill from "center" but, really, this is where you want to be in Cape Town as city center becomes a ghost town after 5pm. It's right across the street from a bus stop and very close walking distance to restaurants, shops and grocery stores.

All the staff is wonderfully friendly and incredibly knowledgeable and helpful.

The actual "Lodge" seems to be a former (really nice) home and is very tastefully decorated with a warm and inviting feel.

The common's area has great free wifi and a nice power strip so everyone has a spot to plug in their device.

The kitchen was lovely with a whole cabinet full of spices, oil, etc to help you make a meal like you'd be able to if you were home. We appreciated the free breakfast and always available tea/coffee too.

If I had to pick out something for AT to improve upon, I'd say it would have been nice to have a few more outlets in the dorm rooms as well as have towels provided. But overall, we absolutely LOVED our stay here and MISS it!!

Thanks for everything Amber Tree!

Room Tip: Book early!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is a great hostel. Wayne and Steven were friendly and always willing to assist. The hostel were clean, beds comfortable and with an excellent kitchen (free breakfast!). A good choice and centrally located.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for 6 days in Cape Town in October 2013 and this was probably the best place in South Africa.
Very clean rooms and facilities and very friendly and helpful staff! You can watch TV and DVDs, free Internet and WiFi, free breakfast...
It's a very quiet area even though it's right in the city center. Just perfect!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura_fuerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews