We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, easy-going, prime location.”
Review of Amber Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amber Tree Lodge
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome, easy-going, prime location.”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Spent the last 3 days here and had no problems at all. Everyone that works the front desk is extremely helpful and informative. Rooms and beds are clean. Has a very chill vibe though like someone's house. Other hostels it seems have a little bit more upbeat vibe in Capetown but I preffered the laid back atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
82
80
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Amber Tree Lodge is a really nice hostel/backpackers !
You have a beautiful view and the location is perfect !
The staff is very friendly and helpful and you instantly notice the good vibe.
The facilities are good and clean.

Room Tip: We had three rooms, one in the back were you can sit on the terrace and two upstairs were you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Not much else to add to all the other reviews. This place is just a fantastic hostel. We stayed as a couple but with two other friends in February 2014. Wayne and Steven were super helpful with arranging us to be in the same dorm room before we arrived - and with everything once we were there. We got so much useful information from great beer places and restaurants, to the price of cabs, to how strenuous it is to climb Table Mountain. The house is probably the most homely and comfortable hostel I've ever been in. It is clean, delightfully decorated and very functional. The beds made out of trees are super cool. There is also a great balcony overlooking Table Mountain. The location is excellent and you can walk to pretty much everything you want to go to. Thanks for making our stay in Cape Town so awesome!

Room Tip: One of the front dorm rooms is smaller than the other and can get a tad tight when it is full and ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heidiledwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just awesome! Comfi beds, nice garden, great views from the balcony, helpful and friendly staff, good coffee, nice atmosphere - just makes you wanna stay for longer than you've planned ;) Thanks Steve and Wayne !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I stayed at Amber Tree Lodge for several weeks in Dec 13/ January 14, and it made my stay in Cape Town just amazing! Wayne and Steven make you feel at home from the moment you step in, the house is very cozy, clean, tidy, located in the middle of everything, and the vibe and atmosphere is great :) This is a perfect place to stay either you want to relax (calm and nice living room, backyard and balcony), or party (very close to kloof and long street with a lot of bars, restaurants and clubs). Despite its central location, the place is very calm and safe! Reasonably priced. I'm definitly coming back! Katja

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 days in April 2013. It was our first trip to Cape Town and the Amber Tree Lodge made our experience wonderful and memorable. The owner, Stephen, and Wayne made us feel so welcome and comfortable from the moment we arrived. They helped us tremendously by arranging tours and giving us recommendations. We were treated with such kindness. The hostel itself is great. Very homey, clean, and comfortable with nice rooms, outdoor atrium, and cozy family room. This is not a party hostel which was nice. The location is great. Very close to restaurants, shopping, and the bus line. This is a peaceful sanctuary within Cape Town and our experience there was unforgettable. I have never encountered a friendlier staff. Don't miss out on an opportunity to stay at the Amber Tree Lodge!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I was recommended this place by a hostel down the road that was fully booked.

I'm so happy I came across this place!

Everything was fantastic from the moment I was greeted at the door and given the grand tour.

The place was incredibly clean and tidy (including the bathrooms) and had a great atmosphere. It was very relaxed and chilled.

Staff were wonderful, friendly and relaxed and made me feel very welcome.

The location is great! Super close to a lot if other hostels/backpackers and just down the road from Rafiki's (recommended!)

I would not hesitate in recommending this place to anybody staying in Cape Town.

Thanks so much!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gidget88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
349 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 109 in Cape Town Central
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Town Lodge
#74 of 109 in Cape Town Central
681 reviews
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 127 in Cape Town Central
504 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#7 of 127 in Cape Town Central
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Tree Lodge

Property: Amber Tree Lodge
Address: 10 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 127 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Amber Tree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amber Tree Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing