We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amber holidays”
Review of Amber Tree Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amber Tree Lodge
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Amber Tree Lodge is really awesome! Helpful staff, cosy living room, well-eqiupped kitchen and central localisation made our stay more than great. It's also easy to find it thanks to a bus stop which is almost at the doorstep of the hostel. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Superb rooms in the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

With 5 other friends, it was the first time that we had come to Capetown. We were very surprised with the way this place was kept. It was clean and had a lot to offer. There was much room with great accommodations. Stephen and Wayne were very helpful in giving us options to explore Capetown and see what they had to offer. My friends and I stayed at another hostel when we went somewhere else and it was terrible compared to the Amber Tree. We are coming back in April and will be staying at the Amber Tree. I would recommend it to anyone who is going to Capetown for the first time or wants a great lodge with awesome staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Me and My friend had such a nice stay in Amber. First timers in CPT and SA, and couldn't have made a better choice for accommodation! Everything worked so smoothly, the staff was very friendly and always willing to help and find a solution to our question or problem. They have time for a laid-back discussion as well... :) The place is calm and cost, really home-like, and makes u want to return to your home base after a day in the town. The place also felt and was safe and secure. Breakfast is nice, and facilities in the kitchen very good. Enough bathrooms and showers for all those in dorms, no need to queue, and they were clean as well. The other dorm room was a bit small compared to the other one, was a bit tricky at times to find space to open your big luggage. But that's minor thing compared to the overall awesomeness of this place! We will definitely come back on our next trip to CPT ( already planning), and recommend this place highly to our friends and others as well. Thank you Stephen and Wayne for taking such good care of us, all the best and see you soon again!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hennalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Spent the last 3 days here and had no problems at all. Everyone that works the front desk is extremely helpful and informative. Rooms and beds are clean. Has a very chill vibe though like someone's house. Other hostels it seems have a little bit more upbeat vibe in Capetown but I preffered the laid back atmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Amber Tree Lodge is a really nice hostel/backpackers !
You have a beautiful view and the location is perfect !
The staff is very friendly and helpful and you instantly notice the good vibe.
The facilities are good and clean.

Room Tip: We had three rooms, one in the back were you can sit on the terrace and two upstairs were you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Not much else to add to all the other reviews. This place is just a fantastic hostel. We stayed as a couple but with two other friends in February 2014. Wayne and Steven were super helpful with arranging us to be in the same dorm room before we arrived - and with everything once we were there. We got so much useful information from great beer places and restaurants, to the price of cabs, to how strenuous it is to climb Table Mountain. The house is probably the most homely and comfortable hostel I've ever been in. It is clean, delightfully decorated and very functional. The beds made out of trees are super cool. There is also a great balcony overlooking Table Mountain. The location is excellent and you can walk to pretty much everything you want to go to. Thanks for making our stay in Cape Town so awesome!

Room Tip: One of the front dorm rooms is smaller than the other and can get a tad tight when it is full and ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidiledwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just awesome! Comfi beds, nice garden, great views from the balcony, helpful and friendly staff, good coffee, nice atmosphere - just makes you wanna stay for longer than you've planned ;) Thanks Steve and Wayne !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Town Lodge
#80 of 112 in Cape Town Central
735 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,079 reviews
Cape Diamond Hotel
#76 of 112 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#59 of 112 in Cape Town Central
667 reviews
City Bowl
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
SunSquare Cape Town Gardens
#36 of 112 in Cape Town Central
473 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Tree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Tree Lodge

Address: 10 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £14 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Amber Tree Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing