We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine Boutique Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MannaBay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
MannaBay
Ranked #2 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fine Boutique Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

Do note that they call themselves as a FINE Boutique Hotel and not just A Boutique Hotel. And for several good reasons. It feels secluded from the noise and traffic of the City Bowl. The interiors are what you would expect in a typical City Boutique Hotel heavily influenced by Old and Contemporary Euro-African Designs which works perfectly. The staff (Robyn, Madré, and Butlers) are all hospitable and very eager to assist -- from taxis, transfers, confirming reservations, tours. Tea Time is an excellent time to chill. But if you do miss it, complimentary drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) are available at the lounge.

A taxi or some form of transportation is necessary to get to places of interest. But taxis are just a phone call away and are very prompt. The location is somewhere in between Camps Bay and Kloof Street/City Bowl, V&A. So expect cab rides to range between ZAR20-50. Not bad at all.

You feel more like a local (a privileged local) rather than a tourist when staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseRizal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
293
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

A stay at Mannabay is like a trip to paradise. We arrived end of March, completely exhausted and stressed and after four nights we left like new people. The rooms are unique and particular and the service is heavenly (and this is an understatement). The management and the whole stuff does a magnificent job to pamper and spoil the guests. The four butlers seem to be mind readers: you already have a drink before you know you want one. We knew before that South African people are known for their friendliness but this hotel is more than special. You cannot do better in Cape Town. Micha

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Micha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swellendam, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We came through to Cape Town for a very good friend's 40th and stayed the evening at Manna Bay on Saturday. My husband and I had noted the development of the property from a deceased estate (half-built and lonesome-looking approx. 3 years ago) to the spectacular building that David Ryan and his team have created. It's warm, inviting, caring, beautifully decorated and cleverly crafted.

Madre' and her team are equally warm, welcoming and caring and we were treated to delicious 'high tea', lots of sweeties (which being pregnant, I couldn't resist) and a divine breakfast.

Our room (Explorer) was huge, sun-filled, extremely comfortable and with the most wonderful view of the city bowl and sea. We had to drag ourselves out of it to attend the 40th!

Thank you Manna Bay, for a special and memorable evening. We highly recommend and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Choose the front larger suites for the sun, the view and the size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison_J_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We loved staying here! The house is very unique and beautiful. We were made to feel very welcome and at home from the moment we arrived and everyone was extremely helpful and friendly.

We had never been to Cape Town before and Mannabay is in an excellent location in a lovely neighbourhood and a much better choice than a generic hotel - its like being at home but being spoilt! The rooms are lovely. We spent our last 2 nites in the Versailles suite which was over the top in such a good way. Not to mention being very spacious and comfortable.

Breakfasts were great with lots of choice (hot and cold). Gorgeous views as well with Cape Town at the front and Table Mountain behind.

A big thanks to everyone at Mannabay, especially to Robyn for making us feel so welcome and being so helpful and lovely. Also to Pearce for wonderful coffee every morning :)

Sad to leave and we wouldn't stay anywhere else if we are lucky enough to make it back to Cape Town.

Room Tip: The Versailles room is a great room to treat yourself - very decadent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0rna_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

I just returned from my very first trip to Cape Town S.A. and i don't think it would have been as wonderful as it was if we did not stay at Manna Bay! I will be honest... I was not to thrilled to find out that my brother and I were going to be staying at a Guest House (bed and breakfast we call them in the states) but that quickly changed! The location is wonderful. The views of Table Mountain, Lion Mountain and Cape Town are wonderful, but it is the staff that makes Manna Bay an absolute Gem! Neither my brother or I have ever been to Cape Town before and wasn't sure what to do.. Madre and her staff took care of that for us.. It was such a luxury to have such a personal touch with the staff. You will never get that touch at any hotel. Thank you Madre and staff for making our stay so wonderful.... WE will be back... and our only option will be Manna Bay.

Room Tip: The Oriental room was wonderful. Front of the house with views of Cape Town..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

I can find no better word than "perfect" to describe our stay at Mannabay. This truly feels like home away from home. The staff were exceptionally warm and inviting and tended to our every need with a genuine willingness to make us feel like family. Our room, Black and White, had the most beautiful decor and bathroom - the bathroom could be considered a room in itself, it is huge! When we woke up in the morning, just when we thought things couldn't get any better, we went downstairs for our breakfast. Hands down, the best Eggs Benedict I've had. Unbelievable. My only regret is that we were only there for one evening and didn't spend much time in the lounge area which also had such an amazingly warm atmosphere and feeling of 'home' to it. I cannot recommend a better place to stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l3jorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I returned for the second time to MannaBay this weekend. It is truly one of our favourite places in Cape Town. MannaBay is a sanctuary of relaxation and impeccable service! Thank you Madre and your staff for making our stay so amazing! We would recommend MannaBay to all our friends and family!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine0119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MannaBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MannaBay

Property: MannaBay
Address: 8 Bridle Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MannaBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to Table Mountain than this... In the heart of Cape Town, MannaBay has just eight uniquely designed suites that set the bar for contemporary luxury. From this prime setting on the border of the Table Mountain National Park with suites becoming of Persian Princes, Orchid Hunters and Heroic Explorers alike, you can experience the Mother City in sheer comfort and privacy, with a team of friendly staff dedicated to making every guest's experience as special as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your MannaBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MannaBay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing