We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still dreaming!!!”
Review of MannaBay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MannaBay
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
262 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Still dreaming!!!”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

One word perfect! we were four couples that stayed for four nights. one of the best memories we made was at mannabay. the rooms, the staff and food were fantastic. What you see on their web looks great. What you see when you get their and the way they make you feel is like royalty. thank you. we will be back.

Room Tip: all their rooms are magnificent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregLynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
296
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My wife and I were celebrating our last rondevoux for our honeymoon and what a way to end off a magical experience. We were booked into the black and white suite,bottle of champagne and a thoughtful note when we arrived;-) how beautifully decorated is this hotel, and that bed, one could possibly lay in it's plush luxury all day if not for the stunning view of the city literally at your feet, urging you outdoors. Walking through the hotel it's very hard not to notice that every piece of furniture in it's own elegance adds to the drama of every space,every piece more intriguing than the last one that caught your eye. To make the experience more memorable the staff are just so friendly and helpful and warm, the service is impeccably outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxy de villiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on our Honeymoon, We could not fault anything especially the fantastic service from all the staff. Robyn is the best host and could not have made our trip any more spectacular. Her advice about the tourism hot spots and her ability to get a table at the impossible restaurant made our trip. The room itself was very nice with a nice size bathroom that was clean. The house is located about 15 mins walk to town and right at the base of the mountain making for great touristy photos. Loved the breakfast and the High Tea. Highly recommended and will definitely be back when we next visit Cape Town.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $ and stay in the Versailles Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benched1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles, Belgique
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Lovely place with 1st class furnitures & decorations but even more important : a great staff ensuring you can enjoy your stay without any stress and always there to help whenever needed!
We started our honeymoon over there and none of the other Lodges we made were at that perfection level - even if we visited great other places as well!

Don't hesitate, book a few nights there for a great stay in Cape Town!

Room Tip: We were in the Black & White room with a balcony offering a view on the City & the sea - jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken_vfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The Manna Bay was the start of our RSA travels and after three days we were very sad to leave as it was a perfect stay from beginning till end. We stayed in the Versailles room which we liked a lot: spacious room with great views of the city, lovely little terrace with a nice Koi pond and a large bathroom.
The whole team is extremely friendly and service oriented and they know their city very well, so you can very well rely on their recommendations. Everything is very well organized: one of the team members will approach you at breakfast, ask about your plans for the day and will organize everything accordingly, very impressive.
And just a final anecdote to indicate the service level: I forgot a short in the room when we left. They called me two days later to inform me about that and organized that I could pick up the shirt at the rental car station at departure. That's what I call service and customer orientation!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexvwzurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We found the Versailles room very comfortable. Views of the city over our deck with Koi pond. Justine knows everything there is to know about the Cape town area (although perhaps not as much as her dad - John Douglas, who showed us around the settlements and the Southern cape) and can not only recommend the best of everything, but can get a reservation there also.
Shadrack was a real delight. He is extremely well-read - we had several interesting conversations as diverse as Oklahoma weather and the merits of Fracking.
Justine provided a cell phone with MannaBay and Taxi numbers programmed in. So getting a cab or local information couldn't be easier.
We loved the location, the amazing breakfasts, the quiet room, the impeccable service and can't imagine staying anywhere else in Cape Town.

Room Tip: The Versailles is actually a suite. The bathroom is larger than most London hotel rooms. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LasloNimne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Our experience at MannaBay was wonderful. This boutique guesthouse is elevated and nestled on the side of the mountain in a residential area, which made for some pretty spectacular views of the city, both day and night. Step out on one of the many outdoor patio areas, look behind you and BAM…there is beautiful Table Mountain. There are great places to sit, relax and enjoy yourself all throughout the house, which allows you to feel less confined to just a hotel room or a very public lobby. The guest rooms are very inviting and comfortable too. We stayed in the Black and White room and loved it. Breakfast and High Tea are included and the food is absolutely delicious. One definitely feels more like a guest in someone’s very lovely home at MannaBay. We are so glad we chose to stay here versus a hotel smack in the middle of town. Yes, it involved catching a taxi when we wanted to go places, but it was well worth it for us.

Helpful Hint, speaking of taxi service: Because this is a small boutique hotel just on the outskirts of town, some of the taxi drivers are not exactly sure where it is located. Taxis are metered, so be sure to either use MannaBay’s preferred taxi service or carry the address and general location/directions with you. We learned this after a meandering ride back to the guesthouse one evening. We began asking drivers in advance if they knew where MannaBay was off of Upper Buitenkant Street and negotiated a “not to exceed” fare before we even got in. No problems after that.

The service at the hotel feels more like genuine hospitality versus hired help. The management staff (Robyn, Noly, Justine) are all great and they seem very interested in making sure you are comfortable and enjoying your stay, both in and outside the hotel. They were very patient in fielding our many questions and good at making suggestions and reservations. The service staff is very warm and friendly as well. A standout for us was Shadrach. What a gem he is! Not only good at his job, but a genuine, positive, grateful, caring, delightful spirit. A special thanks to Shadrach for helping make our stay at MannaBay a wonderful experience. Go ahead and book now! We would recommend MannaBay without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ynoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MannaBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MannaBay

Property: MannaBay
Address: 8 Bridle Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MannaBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to Table Mountain than this... In the heart of Cape Town, MannaBay has just eight uniquely designed suites that set the bar for contemporary luxury. From this prime setting on the border of the Table Mountain National Park with suites becoming of Persian Princes, Orchid Hunters and Heroic Explorers alike, you can experience the Mother City in sheer comfort and privacy, with a team of friendly staff dedicated to making every guest's experience as special as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your MannaBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MannaBay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing