We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely marvelous”
Review of MannaBay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MannaBay
Ranked #2 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Staff were so knowledgeable and attentive, they assisted us with everything from restaurant reservations to New Years Eve suggestions and recommended sightseeing, and they did this long before we even arrived until the last minute we left. We felt so well taken care of throughout our whole stay and would just love to come back some day.

Situated quite high up the views are amazing with Table Mountain on one side and Cape Town city on the other. The interior is absolutely gorgeous and the outside seating areas are perfect. One design mistake in the shower of the Persian room however is that whenever someone is standing by the upper outside bar they can see right in, because of a huge mirror.

Every afternoon they served high tea with lovely pastries and pink bubbly for those who preferred something cooler, which I of course did.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sokriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking your time and providing feedback about your stay at MannaBay. It is important for us to make contact with our guests prior to arrival especially over high season. We will book and confirm any dinner or activity reservation as it is important for us to ensure you get the most out of Cape Town, your holiday and stay at MannaBay. We are never short of pink bubbles with high tea at MannaBay. The Persian room bathroom has been rectified so thank you for your comment. We do wish you can return one day. Warm regards, Justine and The MannaBay team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is an AMAZING place to stay. We spent one night in the Versailles-Suite, with an incredible view over cape town. The location, the team, service and breakfast - just everything was perfect! Next time we will definitely stay longer! A must-see for everyone who spends a night in cape town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Julia.

Thank you for your great feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at MannaBay and our Versailles suite. We are located in Oranjezicht with the most exquisite views of both Cape Town city and Table Mountain. Our morning MannaBay Café is prepared by both chefs, Lauren and Ric who are extremely passionate about good quality and tasty food.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Justine and the MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Manna Bay was stunning . We arrived after 20hrs of flying at midnight and were greeted with warm smiles.. The next morning we were amazed at the beauty of the property and the boutique hotel. Coming down for breakfast felt like we were family.The staff was so accommodating, making dinner reservations, providing transportation, ordering takeout when we were exhausted after a long day of sightseeing . When we get back to Cape Town, Manna Bay will be our choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Mickie,

Thank you for your amazing feedback. We have our 24 hour butler service in place just to assist late arrivals like yourselves. Someone to welcome you, assist with a late snack platter and attend to any beverage need. We are happy to hear that you felt like you were part of the family and treated with warm and caring smiles. Our team are passionate in what they do and it’s their pleasure to make you feel relaxed and at home. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Justine and the MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Is a romantic getaway in the Cape Town City Bowl while still feeling you are out of the hustle possible? - of course it is with this location, this decor and these staff… The views from MannaBay are amazing, no matter which way you face. The art work and decor is inspiring and after working for years in the service industry i could only be blown away by how right all the staff got it. Thank you.

Room Tip: Each room has a unique theme - so do your home work for what would suite you best! Mountain views or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you Simon for this wonderful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed MannaBay and that you had peace and quiet even if you were in the centre of the mother city. I’ll be sure to pass on your feedback to our superb staff. We are very proud to say that the décor was arranged by our owner – a true inspiration to MannaBay. MannaBay does benefit from incredible Table Mountain and city views so we are happy you enjoyed that beauty. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the MannaBay family soon.

Warm regards,
Justine and the MannaBay team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Having stayed at the "old" Manna Bay a year ago we were looking forward to seeing how they could have improved on an already winning formula with the move to new premises up the mountain. Well, the service is as amazing as before with the added bonus of free transport to and from local restaurants. Brilliant idea! The position is stunning with not only the views of the city and harbour at the front but backing right onto the slopes of Table Mountain - literally at your doorstep. The bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable, the breakfast is delicious and afternoon tea irresistible ( even having just returned from lunch at the Test Kitchen!). There is a good sized swimming pool and well equipped fitness room and, considering there are only eight bedrooms, the public areas are massive. It's a great property for having a fantastic party!

I really can't imagine we will ever want to stay anywhere else in Cape Town. It's worth returning to South Africa just to stay at Manna Bay again. Look forward to seeing you next year!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have fantastic views of the harbour. Some of those at the back look as though the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Hi Steve,

Thank you for your amazing feedback. It was great having you stay and experienced the new hotel. MannaBay re-located beginning December and we are so excited that you have experienced both properties. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary dinner and airport transfers, it definitely makes a difference to your stay – the less you have to do the better! Ric and Lauren our chefs prepare daily delicious treats and I will be sure to pass on your appreciation. It will be a pleasure to have you back in the future again. Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
Justine and the MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is the jewel in the crown! stayed for 4 nights, located at the base of table mountain in an exclusive part of town. in this outstanding place each room was superb, we were treated by all the staff, as if we were the only guests, nothing was to much trouble, it was like being at your best friends home. High tea was very enjoyable breakfast cooked fresh as your ordered. Would not hesitate to go back or recommend, would definitely go back. thank you Manna Bay Loved our stay!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the black and white room, but every room was exquisite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happygirl010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback. MannaBay is situated at the base of Table Mountain which benefits from exquisite views of the city - we are so greatful to be able to have had share this with you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your luxury Black and White room, now it gives you a reason to come back and enjoy the other luxury rooms. We will be sure to pass your comments on to the staff and our chefs, Lauren and Ric, who prepare our MannaBay Café and high tea.

Thank you

Justine and the MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We could not have asked for a better place to stay. Nothing was too much for any of the Staff. It was home away from home with Service+ . Wish other Hotels could be like MannaBay. Getting to a dinner booking was no problem and getting back was no problem either. We had somebody to drop us off and pick us at our given time. All bookings for dinner , or sightseeing was done by the Staff , we did not have to do a thing ,just Enjoy.

Room Tip: All the Rooms are just as good as the other. The Rooms have a different theme each. We had the Explo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Hi Arnold,

We are so pleased to know that you felt like you were at home with us at MannaBay and enjoyed our 5* luxury service. Our staff are passionate about our guest – ensuring you enjoy your surroundings and been taking care of. True meaning of being on holiday! We hope to see you and Marlene again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Justine and the MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,461 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
683 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 112 in Cape Town Central
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#5 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,904 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MannaBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MannaBay

Address: 8 Bridle Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £403 - £483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MannaBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to Table Mountain than this... In the heart of Cape Town, MannaBay has just eight uniquely designed suites that set the bar for contemporary luxury. From this prime setting on the border of the Table Mountain National Park with suites becoming of Persian Princes, Orchid Hunters and Heroic Explorers alike, you can experience the Mother City in sheer comfort and privacy, with a team of friendly staff dedicated to making every guest's experience as special as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MannaBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MannaBay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing