We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb”
Review of MannaBay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MannaBay
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent the first night of our honeymoon here and it was just perfect. This is a gorgeous hotel, with incredible decor. We were completely wow-ed! Plus, all the extras we brilliant - like the impressive afternoon tea spread, much appreciated by a dieting ex-bride:) And the staff were top class. Thanks. We loved every moment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleLinds1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are excited that you spend the first night of your honeymoon at MannaBay.
The decor were well thought of and is amazing. Our chefs Lauren and Ric prepare the afternoon High tea and MannaBay cafe with attention to detail and flavour.

I will pass your appreciation on to the MannaBay team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Justine and the MannaBay team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

One of the top places that we ever stayed in. We were lucky to get the Versailles suite with such fantastic views over the Bay that we didn't need to ride the cable car. The staff particulalry were excellent, both in reception and at breakfast, and the extras,like the wonderful afteroon tea, and transport to nearby restaurants, are the touches that many British hotels should take note of. South Afircans love being hoteliers, and it shows here at Manna Bay.

It's half way up the mountian so it can get windy, but seeing the Table Cloth rolling over the mountain just above your room is awe inspiring. We'd have no hesitation in coming back.

Room Tip: Any room will be great, though those with Bay views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMJ46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you so much for your great feedback.

Try and find a better bed than the one on Versailles’ private balcony. Overlooking the city, with a view across to the Atlantic, Versailles is our premier suite.

I will be sure to pass your feedback to our passionate and dedicated staff. Lauren and Ric our chefs prepare our delicious high tea and MannaBay cafe.

We are happy that you enjoyed the luxury and "spot on" service and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Justine and the MannaBay team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We spent a few days here in the Orchid Room which looked out on to the swimming pool at the foot of table mountain so the views of the mountain were fabulous. The interior decoration and design is absolutely fantastic. I have never taken photos of hotel rooms before but on this occasion I felt compelled to as there is no way of telling people how good it was. I can also say quite honestly that the food and service were equally as good as the decor, even the toiletries provided were very good quality. It is a little way out of the centre of capetown but this was not a problem as the hotel provided a drop off and pick up service if you wanted to make use of it. Breakfast was served in a lovely room with great views of capetown and afternoon tea was excellent, well worth getting back to the hotel in the middle of the day for. A really nice touch was the enormous jars of sweets at the top of the stairs on the way to our room which not only looked very decorative but were irresistible. Staff couldn't do enough to ensure your stay was perfect!

Room Tip: More a question of do you want to overlook table mountain or cape town as I saw several of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances21London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Staff were so knowledgeable and attentive, they assisted us with everything from restaurant reservations to New Years Eve suggestions and recommended sightseeing, and they did this long before we even arrived until the last minute we left. We felt so well taken care of throughout our whole stay and would just love to come back some day.

Situated quite high up the views are amazing with Table Mountain on one side and Cape Town city on the other. The interior is absolutely gorgeous and the outside seating areas are perfect. One design mistake in the shower of the Persian room however is that whenever someone is standing by the upper outside bar they can see right in, because of a huge mirror.

Every afternoon they served high tea with lovely pastries and pink bubbly for those who preferred something cooler, which I of course did.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sokriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking your time and providing feedback about your stay at MannaBay. It is important for us to make contact with our guests prior to arrival especially over high season. We will book and confirm any dinner or activity reservation as it is important for us to ensure you get the most out of Cape Town, your holiday and stay at MannaBay. We are never short of pink bubbles with high tea at MannaBay. The Persian room bathroom has been rectified so thank you for your comment. We do wish you can return one day. Warm regards, Justine and The MannaBay team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is an AMAZING place to stay. We spent one night in the Versailles-Suite, with an incredible view over cape town. The location, the team, service and breakfast - just everything was perfect! Next time we will definitely stay longer! A must-see for everyone who spends a night in cape town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Julia.

Thank you for your great feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at MannaBay and our Versailles suite. We are located in Oranjezicht with the most exquisite views of both Cape Town city and Table Mountain. Our morning MannaBay Café is prepared by both chefs, Lauren and Ric who are extremely passionate about good quality and tasty food.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Justine and the MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Manna Bay was stunning . We arrived after 20hrs of flying at midnight and were greeted with warm smiles.. The next morning we were amazed at the beauty of the property and the boutique hotel. Coming down for breakfast felt like we were family.The staff was so accommodating, making dinner reservations, providing transportation, ordering takeout when we were exhausted after a long day of sightseeing . When we get back to Cape Town, Manna Bay will be our choice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Mickie,

Thank you for your amazing feedback. We have our 24 hour butler service in place just to assist late arrivals like yourselves. Someone to welcome you, assist with a late snack platter and attend to any beverage need. We are happy to hear that you felt like you were part of the family and treated with warm and caring smiles. Our team are passionate in what they do and it’s their pleasure to make you feel relaxed and at home. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Justine and the MannaBay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Is a romantic getaway in the Cape Town City Bowl while still feeling you are out of the hustle possible? - of course it is with this location, this decor and these staff… The views from MannaBay are amazing, no matter which way you face. The art work and decor is inspiring and after working for years in the service industry i could only be blown away by how right all the staff got it. Thank you.

Room Tip: Each room has a unique theme - so do your home work for what would suite you best! Mountain views or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you Simon for this wonderful feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed MannaBay and that you had peace and quiet even if you were in the centre of the mother city. I’ll be sure to pass on your feedback to our superb staff. We are very proud to say that the décor was arranged by our owner – a true inspiration to MannaBay. MannaBay does benefit from incredible Table Mountain and city views so we are happy you enjoyed that beauty. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the MannaBay family soon.

Warm regards,
Justine and the MannaBay team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,422 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,074 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#3 of 110 in Cape Town Central
541 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MannaBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MannaBay

Address: 8 Bridle Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £286 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MannaBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to Table Mountain than this... In the heart of Cape Town, MannaBay has just eight uniquely designed suites that set the bar for contemporary luxury. From this prime setting on the border of the Table Mountain National Park with suites becoming of Persian Princes, Orchid Hunters and Heroic Explorers alike, you can experience the Mother City in sheer comfort and privacy, with a team of friendly staff dedicated to making every guest's experience as special as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your MannaBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MannaBay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing