We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property, staff and service. Breathtaking views.”
Review of MannaBay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MannaBay
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing property, staff and service. Breathtaking views.”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were greeted by the always assisting, forever friendly and super efficient staff and then cheered by the breathtaking views of this vibrant city which is Cape Town. Food is fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamillaGomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Camilla,
So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Beyond the breathtaking views and delicious food, we are the most proud of our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Mitch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
296
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This place was amazing. It's already got fantastic reviews so I will tell you what made a difference to us.

- it was our honey moon so they upgraded us for free and also produced a personalised plan of activities/ dinner options for our 5 day stay.
- on 2 nights we had a couple of beers in the bar before we went out. In my birthday they brought an iced bucket of beers to my room after we had climbed table mountain. At the end of the stay they did not charge us for that. We tried to pay for it all, but they would let us. I have never known a hotel do that before!
- staff are incredibly friendly and take an interest in you without over stepping the mark - ie unnecessary small talk. It really felt like they took pride in their service - which they should.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ch00ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your complimentary upgrade - the only way to celebrate your honeymoon in style is in our Versailles suite right ? MannaBay does benefit from fantastic city views as well as Table Mountain being on our doorstep. MannaBay staff are passionate in ensuring you experience Cape Town to the fullest and receive luxury service throughout your stay. Warm regards, Justine and the MannaBay team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here for 2 nights last October. Lovely room and absolutely faultless service. Thank you. The afternoon teas were such a nice touch and breakfast was lovely. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AilH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback - we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at MannaBay. The MannaBay team thrives on exceptional service and guest experience. Warm regards, Justine and the MannaBay team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I had high expectations for my stay at MannaBay and somehow they still blew me away. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful with unique decor that manages to be both contemporary and grand while still being comfortable and warm. It's located on the highest road on the side of Table Mountain granting an incredible view of the Mountain and the city below.

The staff were just amazing. They are just so lovely, genuine and warm. Nothing is too much trouble and going the extra mile seems to simply be the standard here. We wanted for nothing with Enos, Bongani and Gideon looking after us and Jess was an absolute wizard, making sure we had everything, and efficiently arranging anything else. It's clear that this is a labour of love and it shows in the attention to detail and kindness with which everything is approached.

Breakfasts were certainly something to write home about. An amazing selection for cold breakfast and a delicious hot breakfast. The chefs are top notch.

We stayed in the Versailles Suite and I'm so glad we did. The room was luxurious and spacious with every possible amenity one could need. What makes it is the massive balcony complete with day bed and uninterrupted view of the city. We spent an afternoon like royalty, sipping champagne, eating a variety of pastries, chocolates and cheeses, all while watching the city as the sun set. Simply sublime.

It was such a special experience. We fell in love and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Versailles suite was totally worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time and giving us your feedback on your recent stay in our Versailles Suite. The Suite does benefit from 360 degree views of Cape Town and our Table Mountain National park including Lions Head and Signal Hill. We are thrilled you enjoyed your spoils and our breakfast and daily high teas were top notch. Our butlers are passionate about what they do and love serving our guests ensuring they have the best and luxury experience at MannaBay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Justine and The MannaBay team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

MannaBay was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. Their rooms are immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. Our room - the Black and White - had the best view of the city imaginable! From our patio we could see the entire city of Cape Town in front of us and nothing behind us but beautiful Table Mountain. Champagne and strawberries were waiting for us in our room when we arrived and we were completely spoiled the entire time we were there.

The staff is incredible - they were incredibly helpful with restaurant recs, setting up transportation, etc. They have their own driver to take you to whichever restaurant you would like. Everyone is more than happy to help navigate the city and bends over backwards to make your experience enjoyable. I was hungry around 9pm one night and the butler was more than delighted to bring me a cheese/fruit plate. Of course everything is included in your stay.

I can't possibly share enough accolades to highlight the food program at MannaBay. Their breakfasts are delicious! I ate fresh fruit that I had never heard of daily and their cappuccinos are perfect. Afternoon tea starts at 4pm. Every day, the staff welcomed us home after our day exploring the city with a tall glass of brut rose and an array of immaculately prepared and incredibly delightful snacks.

Would recommend MannaBay to anyone and can't imagine a better hotel experience in Cape Town!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you Amanda for your great feedback on your recent stay in our luxury Black and White room. It definitely has amazing city views to remind you of Cape Town's beautiful city and our outside pool area has the constant reminder with Table Mountain at our doorstep. I have passed your compliments to our chefs - Nic and Lauren - for your breakfasts from our MannaBay Cafe and daily afternoon tea as well our butlers who are on duty 24/7 to attend to your every need. We continue to offer complimentary dinner transfers so you can have that extra glass of good South African wine. Warm regards, Justine and The MannaBay team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

- Best hotel experience I've ever had.
- The facilities are amazing.
- The rooms are gorgeously decorated.
- The view of Table Mountain was ridiculous. I was in the Oriental Room which had a huge glass windows that viewed the whole mountain.
- They provided everything you could need...including a hair straightener!
- The high tea at 4pm everyday was such a nice surprise.
- A professional chef cooking on site was unreal.
- The entire staff was unbelievably helpful in arranging for transportation and helping us make our stay as great as possible.

Room Tip: Pom Pom room has a little personal pool right outside but doesn't have a view. Oriental room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, General Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Ann,
Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review. We are very proud of all the points that you have highlighted and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Mitch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had the good fortune of spending 4 days at MannaBay at the beginning of our adventure in Africa. What a phenomenal start to our vacation. This place felt like home sweet home. The staff bent over backwards every step of the way to make sure our stay was enjoyable - and they were all very genuine about it. The rooms and public areas were decorated with such a keen eye. We were assigned the Versailles Room, and I did not want to leave! While the other rooms were not as spacious they were beautiful in their own right. The breakfast spread as well as the high tea each get a 10 plus. I love this place!! Cab drivers didn't seem to know where it was, so I call it a best kept secret. Thank you for a great experience.
Diane B., Palm Beach Gardens, Florida

Room Tip: Ask for the Versailles Room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petergregg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MannabayManagement, Manager at MannaBay, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review and taking your time to write about your recent experience at MannaBay. MannaBay is all about luxury, attention to detail and guest experiences. We as a team are extremely happy you enjoyed our service and delicious MannaBay cafe for breakfast and daily high teas. We look forward to welcoming you back to MannaBay one day soon. Warm regards, Justine and The MannaBay team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MannaBay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MannaBay

Property: MannaBay
Address: 8 Bridle Road | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — MannaBay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can't get much closer to Table Mountain than this... In the heart of Cape Town, MannaBay has just eight uniquely designed suites that set the bar for contemporary luxury. From this prime setting on the border of the Table Mountain National Park with suites becoming of Persian Princes, Orchid Hunters and Heroic Explorers alike, you can experience the Mother City in sheer comfort and privacy, with a team of friendly staff dedicated to making every guest's experience as special as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your MannaBay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MannaBay Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing