We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is only one place I want to stay in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cascades on the Promenade
Ranked #46 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Every time we visit Cape Time we stay at Cascades on the Promenade and I could not imagine staying elsewhere! It is a beautiful boutique hotel with all the comfort you need. Modern and cosy rooms (with balcony and comfy chairs) and nicely located only a few steps from the promenade. Excellent for both tourists and business people. (internet, pc etc.)
The staff is friendly and very helpful. The owners Els and Luc make you feel at home immediately and go out of their way to make your stay a comfortable and pleasant one . And then there is the Bistro. Don't miss breakfast, lunch nor dinner, just yummy! If you like steak tartar then this is the place to have it. But actually every item on the menu is very nice.
It also is a place where Capetonians often come to dine and chill out. So next time your go to Cape Town, book your room and your table in Cascades on the Promenade! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogini53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

I visit Cape Town regularly and find my trip enhanced each time I check in to Cascades on the Promenade. A small hotel, yet stylish and luxurious with bed linen to die for. Serious business connectivity for all pc devices, especially apple products, and a lovely spacious verandah to enjoy the fresh sea air whilst sipping on a cocktail, or having tea.
The bistro is an underrated gem, serving stylish prepared meals that have yet to disappoint me. Nowhere have I ever tasted a finer Caesar salad. Oh, and the Calamari! The wine list is extensive but more over, the wines have personally been selected and all wines can be enjoyed for its genuinely good taste. Breakfast is more than good and make sure you get a freshe staff is friendly, welcome me by name, yet remain professional and make each stay a pleasurable experience. Luc and Els are convivial hosts who go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. That is why I insist that I stay in Cascades each time I visit Cape Town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a lovely and cozy boutique hotel in the perfect position, 1 minute from the sea point beaches and not far from the city center. Great location also for invigorating walks on the promenade together with the locals in the mornings or evenings.
The rooms are spacious and super equipped, including a MAC, an IPOD station, and a NESPRESSO machine. (what a touch, enough of those instant coffees) and beautiful cotton linen. The bed is comfy and large and the BREAKFAST is FANTASTIC, with real freshly baked french croissants and eggs benedicts. Add some local sparkling wine and your day starts beautifully. The bistro in the hotel is open the whole day so if you come back from a morning of shopping you can still have late breakfast or lunch as the kitchen does not close in between breakfast, lunch and dinner, being a foodie myself that is quite important as well.
The owners/managers were very helpful in giving plenty of info and suggestions. all in all a great experience.
Ask for a delux room with a balcony if available.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milena f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at this boutique hotel for 3 nights during our 4 week trip in South Africa. Cape Town was the first stop on our trip and we really enjoyed this boutique hotel. Els and Luc, the managers, are lovely people who happily give you recommendations on where to go and when. They check when places (table mountain cable car, museums) are open, look at weather forecasts and inform you when are the best days to go somewhere. Great help! The staff in the lobby and restaurant are really nice and helpful as well. We had chats with several of them, and they are a great team. The rooms are very pleasant with a nice balcony, a comfy bed, a closet for your clothes, and a really nice bathroom with a rain shower. There is also a small desk with a computer and wifi is free/included. Wifi worked well and we used the computer several times. Very handy! We loved the location of the hotel: 2 mins walking from the beach. It is really pleasant to walk over the boulevard right next to the ocean - great spot for a run too. The area is safe (also in the evening management told us - and we did went out for dinner by walking one night and felt safe) and has pharmacies, super markets and nice restaurants nearby (try La Mouette if you don't feel like eating in the hotel). Note that the hotel is not in the middle of the city centre, but if you love the ocean and the beach, this is the place to be! We also ate one evening in the restaurant of the hotel and the food is really nice too! Great meat dishes! Breakfast (included in the price) is a large buffet with all sorts of baked goods, fruits, yoghurts, cereals, breads etc. In addition, you can order eggs etc. A great start of the day! Don't forget to try their rooibos cappuccino - loved it! We would definitely recommend this place and will be back whenever we'll go back to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Pick one with a balcony if the weather is nice. It's great to have a cup of rooibos cappu on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank InekeParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We had a great stay at the hotel during our honeymoon! Good Cape Town location, the hotel entrance is cosy and welcoming. The rooms are modern and very pleasant. Breakfast was rich and very good. We also dined at the hotel one night and it was great. But above all, staff was absolutely wonderful and did all they could to make our stay in Cape Town perfect. We highly recommend it as you will definitely love it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aligoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Cascades is a very pleasant place to have a bite: simple plates (breakfast, lunch and dinner): e.g. chicken pie, pasta, ... At lunchtime, you can get some sun while you eat. Extremely nice ambiance: modern design. Perfect service. And an owner who keeps a constant eye on the staff, to ensure that things run smoothly. Warmly recommended!

Room Tip: I only know this place as a restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missdee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Cascades is a lovely spot close to the sea and the Promenade...I often walk my pup and go there for a delicious breakfast and coffee comes with homemade sesame biscuits to die for ...the ambiance inside is cosy and outside always filled with a mixture of local regulars and hotel guests...the owners are warm and wonderful and the staff very helpful ... The perfect brunch or lunch and even a great sundowner spot ..spoil yourself ...try it x

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilderl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.4 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
561 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#52 of 110 in Cape Town Central
430 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#38 of 110 in Cape Town Central
483 reviews
0.5 mi away
New Kings Hotel
New Kings Hotel
#72 of 110 in Cape Town Central
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#24 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades on the Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades on the Promenade

Address: 11 Arthurs Road | Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#43 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £115 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades on the Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine boutique hotel, situated along the Atlantic Seaboard, in Sea Point, Cape Town. The concept of this city hotel is to offer "young of heart" travelers an ideal base from where to explore Cape Town and surroundings at affordable rates, without compromising any quality expectations. The ideal guest for Cascades on the Promenade is the well informed traveler, who is interested and anxious to discover Cape Town for what it is... a bustling, vibrant and incredibly beautiful city, brimming with activities and diversity. Our traveler doesn't want to sacrifice valuable holiday-time due to a remote or difficult location of the hotel, away from the main attractions, or battling with internet connection issues, insufficient hot water in the shower or more of those complicated situations that tend to spoil a vacation. Our guests want to get up and about after a good nights' rest in a perfectly equipped and soft furnished room. Breakfast awaits our traveler in the cozy Hotel Bistro or outside on the terrace, where he or she already mingles with the local regulars. The hotel is superbly positioned for immediate action, whether that is a vigorous jog along Cape Town's magnificent Seaboard... or a leisurely stroll... it's all right here on our doorstep... From the hotel it is a five minute walk to the Olympic size, open air, sea-side swimming pool or an even shorter stroll to the Beach Road to catch a ride on the Hop-on, Hop-off Topless Sightseeing Bus, which passes every twenty minutes. The bus takes you on a roundtrip through Cape Town. From the hotel it goes along the Promenade to the V&A Waterfront, through the inner city and further up to the Table Mountain Cable Car station. From there it goes down to the Clifton and Camps Bay beaches and back to the Promenade in front of the hotel. The Hotel The hotel is housed in a Cape-Victorian style, 120-year-old protected heritage building. An extensive renovation in 2010 has transformed the original structure into a very modern, super trendy place with a distinct international flair. Our guest will immediately recognize the spot as a trendsetter, definitely on par with leading small design hotels sprinkled around the larger cities of Europe, Asia or the United States. The latest on offer in hotel technology has been incorporated in the design and furnishings. The seven Deluxe rooms are very "complete". Five of them have outside balconies with comfortable seating arrangements. The two rooms without outside balcony are extra large and can accommodate an extra bed. All rooms have King size (180 cm) beds with soft, leather head boards and build-in reading lights. Remote controlled air conditioning (heating/cooling). Large walk-in rain showers, thermostatic taps, wall-mounted hairdryers and heated towel rails in the bathrooms. A state of the art 40" (1m) LED TV screen, a 23" Apple Mac computer with free internet, Wi-Fi access point, Bose iPod docking station, CD Player, Telephone, International plugs, Electronic Safe, Mini Bar and a Nespresso machine are standard in every room. Nighttime security is provided directly to the guest through automated roller shutters in the rooms and in general through a 24-hour attendance at reception and closed circuit camera's in the public area's. The Bistro Bright yellow Vitra tub chairs on the terrace and black leather upholstering inside the bistro, copper leaf and rich walnut wall paneling, Tom Dixon design lighting and a Samsung video wall for entertainment... the combination of these elements create the ideal setting where we offer our guests a fine, contemporary cuisine throughout the day. On the day-menu are light snacks and refreshing salads, from a choice of pasta's to fresh fish or a prime cut of succulent beef fillet. The "Patisserie" chef makes sure that coffee never goes without the necessary indulgence on the side. For dinner we change the setting for a fine-dining experience with a French style Bistro menu. And of course, there is the bar for a stiff drink, a cocktail or a good selection of South African wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cascades on the Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades On The Promenade Hotel Sea Point
Cascades On The Promenade Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing