We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cascades on the Promenade
Ranked #30 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

It seems that 3 stars on TripAdvisor has somehow become a "bad" review. I wouldn't say that this was a "bad" experience, it just wasn't good; alas the "ok." The room was well appointed and clean. It was very nice to have a personal computer in the room, but found the limited internet usage to be a bit odd. They also gave my husband and I a complimentary small bottle of bubbly for our honeymoon, which was very kind of them.

The downside is that the service was just plain poor. The restaurant service was horrendous both times we ate there (dinner taking 45+ minutes while being the only patrons there) and them forgetting our breakfast altogether. We had to ask where our omelette's were after waiting for 50 minutes. The owner (Els) was nice to us, but seemed to belittle and shout at her employees when she thought we couldn't hear. In the end it made of an uncomfortable situation for us and we just felt bad for the employees. Also...they charge of the coffee in the room (unlike all other places we had stayed in South Africa) and there was no safe in the room, which made us uneasy.

Having stayed at another place in the "gardens" area of Cape Town for about the same price, I think it is safe to say that this place might be a bit expensive for what it provides (no pool, noisier street, no private parking).

It was just "ok."

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor. We were (maybe the only room) on the 1st floor and were awoken by st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    53
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
40
214
29
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ratingen, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The room was small, but the interior was great! The breakfast is fabulous and the location is perfect. Fantastic service
We have missed a swimmimgpool
There were a lot of local guests in the restaurant.







  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank René D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Baie
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Cascades is excellently located, close to the beach and to the Sea Point strip. Els the manager was incredibly kind to us, so as the rest of the staff.
The breakfast is to die for and many locals come and have their brunch at the restaurants downstairs, which is good sign. You can order unlimited items from the breakfast menu, from egg benedicts to waffles, to salmon croissants etc...

Rooms are spotless, modern, very comfy. They might be a bit small if you travel with large suitcases, but hey, you can't have it all!

You won't necessarily find a parking downstairs, but by driving around for a bit you will never be too far from the hotel.

Room Tip: Prefer the room upstairs that will have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Cascades is amazing, from the rooms to the location, breakfast to the staff, we were warmly welcomed and looked after for our entire stay. Cannot think of one criticism! Highly recommend Cascades, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speyer, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This little boutique hotel lies excellent at the sea point. We enjoyed our holiday very much much. There we had the best perfect breakfast from south africa. All the stuff were very friendly, the next time we will visit this little hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Doris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Price/quality you can't get much better than this. Our room was awesome, we got our breakfast on our terrace and the managers and staff were very friendly. We were so happy about this hotel we booked a room there again within 2 weeks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dehantschutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Traveling from America, I stayed here for 4 nights with my friend. I cannot rave enough about this place! It's even better than the B&B I stayed at in Camps Bay!

Upon arrival, check-in process was seamless. Els, the owner, is a darling gem who was so friendly and made us feel like home! She even sent complimentary glasses of wine to our room upon check-in, and let us order a free bottle of champagne for our "honeymoon!" The concierage personally unpacked the luggage out of our car, moved our car to a better parking spot that wouldn't get a ticket, and delivered the luggage to our room. Fantastic service! He moved our car for us!! Free wine/ champagne! Amazing!

During our stay, the rooms were spectacular. Remote controlled curtains, A/C units. Mini-bar in room with cheap waters, sodas, and beer. Even espresso machine in rooms! The king size bed was spotless clean and comfortable. The flat-screen TV and apple computer was nice! Bathroom was large, clean, very modern, and fancy glass shower with a huge rain shower head! Free wi-fi was great also. As for the food, also fantastic!! Free mini-breakfast every day, served until afternoon! I've never seen a B&B have breakfast so late! Sleep in, enjoy, relax! No need to rush downstairs early a.m. for free breakfast! You can also order off the menu for a full hot-breakfast from the kitchen, but we never did that. The complimentary breakfast was enough! Dinner at the bistro was fantastic, we had bone-in lamb shank and kingclip fish. Everything was so delicious, and the service is great!

The location is amazing, 1 block to the beach, you can see the ocean from your balcony. 1 block to all the shops and other restaurants in Sea Point. There is a strip mall walking distance, about 4-5 blocks up. V&A Waterfront is too far to walk (45 min walk), but a very short cab ride, $9, and 10 minute drive.

Checkout was quick and easy. There is 24hr concierge watching the front door to welcome you, and make sure you are safe. This B&B is truely a gem. I recommend this to anyone who wants to be pampered hand and foot! We were really treated like royalty here, and made new friends with Els and the staff. I cannot say enough great things about this place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.4 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#28 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,035 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#49 of 109 in Cape Town Central
258 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
415 reviews
2.3 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades on the Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades on the Promenade

Property: Cascades on the Promenade
Address: 11 Arthurs Road | Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades on the Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine boutique hotel, situated along the Atlantic Seaboard, in Sea Point, Cape Town. The concept of this city hotel is to offer "young of heart" travelers an ideal base from where to explore Cape Town and surroundings at affordable rates, without compromising any quality expectations. The ideal guest for Cascades on the Promenade is the well informed traveler, who is interested and anxious to discover Cape Town for what it is... a bustling, vibrant and incredibly beautiful city, brimming with activities and diversity. Our traveler doesn't want to sacrifice valuable holiday-time due to a remote or difficult location of the hotel, away from the main attractions, or battling with internet connection issues, insufficient hot water in the shower or more of those complicated situations that tend to spoil a vacation. Our guests want to get up and about after a good nights' rest in a perfectly equipped and soft furnished room. Breakfast awaits our traveler in the cozy Hotel Bistro or outside on the terrace, where he or she already mingles with the local regulars. The hotel is superbly positioned for immediate action, whether that is a vigorous jog along Cape Town's magnificent Seaboard... or a leisurely stroll... it's all right here on our doorstep... From the hotel it is a five minute walk to the Olympic size, open air, sea-side swimming pool or an even shorter stroll to the Beach Road to catch a ride on the Hop-on, Hop-off Topless Sightseeing Bus, which passes every twenty minutes. The bus takes you on a roundtrip through Cape Town. From the hotel it goes along the Promenade to the V&A Waterfront, through the inner city and further up to the Table Mountain Cable Car station. From there it goes down to the Clifton and Camps Bay beaches and back to the Promenade in front of the hotel. The Hotel The hotel is housed in a Cape-Victorian style, 120-year-old protected heritage building. An extensive renovation in 2010 has transformed the original structure into a very modern, super trendy place with a distinct international flair. Our guest will immediately recognize the spot as a trendsetter, definitely on par with leading small design hotels sprinkled around the larger cities of Europe, Asia or the United States. The latest on offer in hotel technology has been incorporated in the design and furnishings. The seven Deluxe rooms are very "complete". Five of them have outside balconies with comfortable seating arrangements. The two rooms without outside balcony are extra large and can accommodate an extra bed. All rooms have King size (180 cm) beds with soft, leather head boards and build-in reading lights. Remote controlled air conditioning (heating/cooling). Large walk-in rain showers, thermostatic taps, wall-mounted hairdryers and heated towel rails in the bathrooms. A state of the art 40" (1m) LED TV screen, a 23" Apple Mac computer with free internet, Wi-Fi access point, Bose iPod docking station, CD Player, Telephone, International plugs, Electronic Safe, Mini Bar and a Nespresso machine are standard in every room. Nighttime security is provided directly to the guest through automated roller shutters in the rooms and in general through a 24-hour attendance at reception and closed circuit camera's in the public area's. The Bistro Bright yellow Vitra tub chairs on the terrace and black leather upholstering inside the bistro, copper leaf and rich walnut wall paneling, Tom Dixon design lighting and a Samsung video wall for entertainment... the combination of these elements create the ideal setting where we offer our guests a fine, contemporary cuisine throughout the day. On the day-menu are light snacks and refreshing salads, from a choice of pasta's to fresh fish or a prime cut of succulent beef fillet. The "Patisserie" chef makes sure that coffee never goes without the necessary indulgence on the side. For dinner we change the setting for a fine-dining experience with a French style Bistro menu. And of course, there is the bar for a stiff drink, a cocktail or a good selection of South African wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cascades on the Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades On The Promenade Hotel Sea Point
Cascades On The Promenade Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing