We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cascades on the Promenade
Ranked #30 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, South Africa
1 review
“What a stay”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Rooms were clean and well equipped. Best of all is the service and friendliness. Food in the restaurant is exceptional especially the breakfast. We were treated like family by reception and owners. Lov

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    52
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
40
212
28
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed 6 nights here and it was wonderful! Just a short stroll from the promenade. The rooms are beautifully decorated, beds really comfy and a lovely veranda. Bathroom very modern with a great shower. Lots of storage space and plenty of plug sockets.
Breakfast was amazing, loads of choice, all freshly cooked to order. We also ate here a couple of evenings and the food was great.
The service was brilliant, staff all very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble and everything done with a genuine smile.
Els was very helpful with our questions etc, and made certain we had a good time while in Cape Town. She made us feel very welcome guests.
I wouldn't hesitate to go back, and absolutely recommend Cascades to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We loved this small hotel in Sea Point Capetown. The rooms are very well equipped, beautifully clean with some lovely touches to make things just that bit better. We had the room with the sea view balcony. The room is a bit smaller than the others - but has a very nice outside space - which would have been great if the sun had shone more. The atmosphere in the hotel is very welcoming the owners Luke and Els and all the staff are prepared to go that extra mile to ensure guests have a good experience. The restaurant is very good. Very good value in a convenient location, would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hydiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is only just off the main promenade - literally a two minute walk away. We had a room for four nights with a lovely balcony which gave a view down the street to the sea. We were greeted by one of the owners, Els, who went out of her way during the whole of our stay to meet our every need. Everything about the hotel exceeded our expectations. The bedroom and the en-suite were large, modern and kitted out with everything you could possibly need, the food served at breakfast and dinner was excellent and the staff were friendly and attentive. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albanyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Room was beautiful, staff friendly and helpful, owners cordial. We were not able to get a room with an ocean view, but the balcony was lovely. Also, the food was excellent. Sitting out on the verandah, we were provided with fleece blankets to keep our legs warm; it was a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank melgeskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

This is a charming boutique hotel located at Sea Point.

Check-in was a breeze, the staff and owners were very friendly and offered to help us with sightseeing and everything we wanted. We appreciate the personal touch!

From the moment we arrived till the moment we left we could have not been happier. We stayed 6 nights they were all magical.

Our room was very beautiful, clean, luxurious and had excellent sea view.

We opted for and enjoyed the breakfast served in our room and was delicious, although it was open buffet but it was much better because all you need to do is be lazy and order whatever you want.

Simply awesome and unforgettable! Will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RigvedRaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

This is a small hidden delight. We had four nights here and all of the staff were gorgeous. Maybe they give them a happy pill every morning. What ever it is they are on we need some of it. Lots of attention to detail. Delicious breakfast and dinners. And sublime cocktails. Pool 5 minutes walk by the ocean away was a real gem.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.4 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#29 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Hotel Cape Town
Premier Hotel Cape Town
#57 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#46 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.0 mi away
Antrim Villa
Antrim Villa
#28 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades on the Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades on the Promenade

Property: Cascades on the Promenade
Address: 11 Arthurs Road | Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades on the Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine boutique hotel, situated along the Atlantic Seaboard, in Sea Point, Cape Town. The concept of this city hotel is to offer "young of heart" travelers an ideal base from where to explore Cape Town and surroundings at affordable rates, without compromising any quality expectations. The ideal guest for Cascades on the Promenade is the well informed traveler, who is interested and anxious to discover Cape Town for what it is... a bustling, vibrant and incredibly beautiful city, brimming with activities and diversity. Our traveler doesn't want to sacrifice valuable holiday-time due to a remote or difficult location of the hotel, away from the main attractions, or battling with internet connection issues, insufficient hot water in the shower or more of those complicated situations that tend to spoil a vacation. Our guests want to get up and about after a good nights' rest in a perfectly equipped and soft furnished room. Breakfast awaits our traveler in the cozy Hotel Bistro or outside on the terrace, where he or she already mingles with the local regulars. The hotel is superbly positioned for immediate action, whether that is a vigorous jog along Cape Town's magnificent Seaboard... or a leisurely stroll... it's all right here on our doorstep... From the hotel it is a five minute walk to the Olympic size, open air, sea-side swimming pool or an even shorter stroll to the Beach Road to catch a ride on the Hop-on, Hop-off Topless Sightseeing Bus, which passes every twenty minutes. The bus takes you on a roundtrip through Cape Town. From the hotel it goes along the Promenade to the V&A Waterfront, through the inner city and further up to the Table Mountain Cable Car station. From there it goes down to the Clifton and Camps Bay beaches and back to the Promenade in front of the hotel. The Hotel The hotel is housed in a Cape-Victorian style, 120-year-old protected heritage building. An extensive renovation in 2010 has transformed the original structure into a very modern, super trendy place with a distinct international flair. Our guest will immediately recognize the spot as a trendsetter, definitely on par with leading small design hotels sprinkled around the larger cities of Europe, Asia or the United States. The latest on offer in hotel technology has been incorporated in the design and furnishings. The seven Deluxe rooms are very "complete". Five of them have outside balconies with comfortable seating arrangements. The two rooms without outside balcony are extra large and can accommodate an extra bed. All rooms have King size (180 cm) beds with soft, leather head boards and build-in reading lights. Remote controlled air conditioning (heating/cooling). Large walk-in rain showers, thermostatic taps, wall-mounted hairdryers and heated towel rails in the bathrooms. A state of the art 40" (1m) LED TV screen, a 23" Apple Mac computer with free internet, Wi-Fi access point, Bose iPod docking station, CD Player, Telephone, International plugs, Electronic Safe, Mini Bar and a Nespresso machine are standard in every room. Nighttime security is provided directly to the guest through automated roller shutters in the rooms and in general through a 24-hour attendance at reception and closed circuit camera's in the public area's. The Bistro Bright yellow Vitra tub chairs on the terrace and black leather upholstering inside the bistro, copper leaf and rich walnut wall paneling, Tom Dixon design lighting and a Samsung video wall for entertainment... the combination of these elements create the ideal setting where we offer our guests a fine, contemporary cuisine throughout the day. On the day-menu are light snacks and refreshing salads, from a choice of pasta's to fresh fish or a prime cut of succulent beef fillet. The "Patisserie" chef makes sure that coffee never goes without the necessary indulgence on the side. For dinner we change the setting for a fine-dining experience with a French style Bistro menu. And of course, there is the bar for a stiff drink, a cocktail or a good selection of South African wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cascades on the Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades On The Promenade Hotel Sea Point
Cascades On The Promenade Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing