We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the nicest boutique hotel i have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cascades on the Promenade
Ranked #45 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2008

This hotel was initially booked as a "filler" to a busy itinery staying at pretty much 5 star hotels in Cape Town and Durban culminating at the incredible Phinda game reserve. It was a Mr & Mrs Smith (.com) recommended boutique hotel and after reading the reviews on here, i have to admit i was a little nervous

Upon arrival, it was clear that not only were any fears totally unfounded, i am going to stick my neck out and say that this is the nicest boutique hotel i have ever stayed in.

This was our first trip to South Africa, and Cape Town in particular now has a place firmly as my new favourite destination. A hotel, to me is not only judged on how great it is when its all lovely, but on what it does to address things that aren't so perfect. When we arrived, due to some confusion with my agent, i was given the wrong room type. The lovely General Manager immediatley and personally sorted this and had me moved to an upgraded room within minutes and at no extra cost to me.

All the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We lay out on the sun deck and bathed in the infinity pool, ate and drank till we could face no more and at every turn, every need was met. We had an early departure for a flight, the staff were there with an early breakfast. The owner even took us personally to the airport in a gorgeous air conditioned X5. Even though the hotel was full, we barely saw another person and it felt like we had the entire place to ourselves like an exclusive residence.

Les Cascades has opened a second property adjacent to the main building. This is No52 (as opposed to 48) and was stunning and very modern, whereas the main building is older and more lavish. For me, i was glad we were in 52. The air-con was super-cool, the bed - enormous, lighting and decor very tasteful. The only thing we could fault and believe me, this is purely a personal issue, is that the Penthouse, which my friends had, is SO BIG, that the aircon couldn't cope with keeping it cool.

We loved this hotel so much that we wanted to cancel our transfer to the 5* Zimballi resort in Durban and just stay there there rest of the week. Indeed my friends who had extra time in Cape Town after Durban wanted to cancel their apartment in Waterfront Village!!!! and go back to Les Cascades.

Bantry Bay is a goregous area. Les Cascades and its team is thee place to stay if you are in the area

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TheGordyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2008

First time in South Africa, what a treat to stay at Les Cascades. The room was oustandingly furnished and appointed. The view was spectacular. Staff was very friendly and helpful attending to our every need. Great breakfast every mornng and a wonderful resturant to dine in at night. (we ate 2 nights of our 3 night stay) While not in the center of town, was very easy to take a cab to where ever we needed to go. The staff was very helpful and willing to arrange the cab for us. Meet some nice guys from London, made the stay even more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bieb000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

My (new!) wife and I stayed four nights to kick off our honeymoon, having just arrived for 3 weeks in South Africa after a long transatlantic flight.

What a spot! Stunning views from a treehouse-like perch, among the best breakfasts of our trip, a great pool. It's about ten minutes from the center of town, which was the perfect distance so we hit the nightlife hard a couple of nights but it was a quick trip home. But such a magnificent perch was a welcome getaway from what felt like a fairly unspectacular city center, and right in the middle of the Table Mountain/Tiger Mountain masiffe for exploring.

We ate dinner in once, food was excellent. Would have again in hindsight for a second night. Computer/internet was a little inconsistent, and rooms a little dark at times as they are built into a hillside and only open out on the balconies, but all worth it for the overall experience.

Luc and Els were gracious hosts with great advice on nearby restaurants, and the cat Anushka had a great presence. We thought it was the perfect balance for a honeymoon, and treasure the memories.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank seattleafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2008

I am not sure what Planet “Dark Forces” comes from but as his name indicates it should be unbelievable.

We were warmly welcomed on arrival at Les Cascades. All the staff are extremely polite, helpful and on hand at all times without being intrusive. Our room was immaculate, arranged on split levels with many personal touches that you would expect from a 5* property but don’t always get like dressing gowns fresh fruit and flowers, mini bar and UK power sockets. The room was freshened 3 times a day, the bed turned down each evening with a delightful chocolate placed on your pillow for your further enjoyment. We had plenty of hot water – day and night – the TV picture was not as clear as we are used to at home but still watchable with plenty of varied programs including 3 films in the evening, BBC dramas and live football.

The evening meals were of a very high standard, Els and her kitchen staff offered a delicious option of fish or meat dish followed by a tantalising desert, this 5 course meal was easily of a standard you would see in good London restaurants. Front of house is manned superbly by Willi who made our stay even more enjoyable. We experienced no pushiness towards dining in and staff are more than happy to make alternative dinner arrangements for you. We don’t like to get up too early and breakfast is a very leisurely affair, I thoroughly recommend the pancakes !

When you have stunning ocean views available to you such as from Les Cascades, then there must be a trade off and this is the location of the property. It’s not a quick walk into town or the beach. Twenty minutes (downhill) will get you to the nearest City Hop-on-hop off bus stop. We used a very efficient and cheap taxi service with a hire car for day trips all arranged for by the staff. So would I trade a few stairs (Willi!!) the odd taxi at night and a hire car for the chance to see whales in the bay in a wonderful tranquil setting, with charming hosts, you bet I would.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Docherty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2008

Best travellers to cape town,

after we have booked this guesthouse for 4 days and read the people experience we thought we can better not go to this place but we are so happy that we not change our plans and did go.

We travel a lot to different guesthouses and hotels over the world and I can tell you this is really one of the best place where I have stayed.

We arrived very late and were very tired. We get a very warm welcome and our room was very good, beautiful decorated, nice bathroom and very white clean sheets. ( sorry, that is very important for me!)

the next morning we woke up and saw the view we didn't mentioned the evening before, amazing!

the breakfast was very good, fresh fruit/juices, fresh bread, different cheeses and meat etc. and warm breakfast on order, very good service as well.

that evening we have dinner in the restaurant in les cascades, very good food and service, relaxed atmosphere!

we spoke with the owners mr and mrs Deschouwer, very nice people to met. I read a story before we came here on tripadvisor. Other people who have been to les cascades find the owner very arrogant. Nonsens! we don't have that experience with the owner, he was very gentle and helpfull.

I recommend, go to this place and i'm sure you have a wonderful time!

les cascades is a guesthouse with very good rooms, breakfast, service and food better than in many big five stars hotels over the world.

1  Thank DenDRiehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2008

We booked to stay at this guest house for 4 nights on the 2nd leg of our tour and were rather dubious about booking it due to some of the really bad reviews here on trip advisor. Well I'm sad to say our stay was utterly flawed with problems. We specifically asked for a double room when booking and were given 2 single beds joined together disguised to look like a double bed. The accomodation was advertised with a wireless connection for connecting to the internet. This was purely so we could research restaraunts e.t.c however when we asked the host for the password he told us he didnt know and would find out. He then went to the owner and asked and the owener made no effort to help us use it. Just gave us the cold shoulder and drove off in in Lamborgini. My impression was that he was obviously too rich to care and wasnt going to give his staff the authority to sort it out. The showers were freezing cold on most days and everytime we complained it just fell on deaf ears. When we turned on the TV it was grainy and unuable. We paid good for this place and nothing worked and the staff couldnt figure anything out at all. For the money we paid for this place it was extremely poor the only thing worth metioning about this place was the view from the rooms which was stunning but at the end of the day theres absolutely no point if the rest of the package is flawed.

Also to get to anywhere half decent in Cape town from Les cascades was an absolute night mare if you want to spend your whole stay in Taxis this is the place to stay!

The owner Luc didnt want to know about any of the probelms we were having. We had the staff contact him several time but he did absolutely nothing to make our stay any more comfortable. We had just come from staying 4 days at the 2inn1 kensington at the foot of table mountain and the service and was quality of accomodation there was leaps and bounds better than Les Cascades and we really wished we had just stayed there.

The owners of this guesthouse are more concerned with pushing their in house restaraunts than looking after the guests.

All in all a poor effo1rt from Lescascades, would not bother staying there again

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank darkforces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We stayed here on the second leg of our honeymoon and did enjoy it. The lobby and restaurant areas are cozy and make you want to settle in. The setting is beautiful as well with wonderful views, and we had a lovely room with a pool right off of our deck. However, after a stay at the Ezard House, I couldn't help but notice details which were not as impeccable as you would expect at a 5-star hotel. Floorboards were loose, certain areas needed repainting. The pool in front of our room was out of service, so we could not use it. The main pool was not heated, so we didn't use it either. I enjoyed this hotel, but think it needs a little more attention to be fabulous.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
Radisson Blu Le Vendome Hotel
#39 of 112 in Cape Town Central
508 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 112 in Cape Town Central
575 reviews
0.4 mi away
Winchester Mansions
Winchester Mansions
#25 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#40 of 112 in Cape Town Central
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
#53 of 112 in Cape Town Central
449 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#18 of 112 in Cape Town Central
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades on the Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades on the Promenade

Address: 11 Arthurs Road | Atlantic Seaboard, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £107 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cascades on the Promenade 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fine boutique hotel, situated along the Atlantic Seaboard, in Sea Point, Cape Town. The concept of this city hotel is to offer "young of heart" travelers an ideal base from where to explore Cape Town and surroundings at affordable rates, without compromising any quality expectations. The ideal guest for Cascades on the Promenade is the well informed traveler, who is interested and anxious to discover Cape Town for what it is... a bustling, vibrant and incredibly beautiful city, brimming with activities and diversity. Our traveler doesn't want to sacrifice valuable holiday-time due to a remote or difficult location of the hotel, away from the main attractions, or battling with internet connection issues, insufficient hot water in the shower or more of those complicated situations that tend to spoil a vacation. Our guests want to get up and about after a good nights' rest in a perfectly equipped and soft furnished room. Breakfast awaits our traveler in the cozy Hotel Bistro or outside on the terrace, where he or she already mingles with the local regulars. The hotel is superbly positioned for immediate action, whether that is a vigorous jog along Cape Town's magnificent Seaboard... or a leisurely stroll... it's all right here on our doorstep... From the hotel it is a five minute walk to the Olympic size, open air, sea-side swimming pool or an even shorter stroll to the Beach Road to catch a ride on the Hop-on, Hop-off Topless Sightseeing Bus, which passes every twenty minutes. The bus takes you on a roundtrip through Cape Town. From the hotel it goes along the Promenade to the V&A Waterfront, through the inner city and further up to the Table Mountain Cable Car station. From there it goes down to the Clifton and Camps Bay beaches and back to the Promenade in front of the hotel. The Hotel The hotel is housed in a Cape-Victorian style, 120-year-old protected heritage building. An extensive renovation in 2010 has transformed the original structure into a very modern, super trendy place with a distinct international flair. Our guest will immediately recognize the spot as a trendsetter, definitely on par with leading small design hotels sprinkled around the larger cities of Europe, Asia or the United States. The latest on offer in hotel technology has been incorporated in the design and furnishings. The seven Deluxe rooms are very "complete". Five of them have outside balconies with comfortable seating arrangements. The two rooms without outside balcony are extra large and can accommodate an extra bed. All rooms have King size (180 cm) beds with soft, leather head boards and build-in reading lights. Remote controlled air conditioning (heating/cooling). Large walk-in rain showers, thermostatic taps, wall-mounted hairdryers and heated towel rails in the bathrooms. A state of the art 40" (1m) LED TV screen, a 23" Apple Mac computer with free internet, Wi-Fi access point, Bose iPod docking station, CD Player, Telephone, International plugs, Electronic Safe, Mini Bar and a Nespresso machine are standard in every room. Nighttime security is provided directly to the guest through automated roller shutters in the rooms and in general through a 24-hour attendance at reception and closed circuit camera's in the public area's. The Bistro Bright yellow Vitra tub chairs on the terrace and black leather upholstering inside the bistro, copper leaf and rich walnut wall paneling, Tom Dixon design lighting and a Samsung video wall for entertainment... the combination of these elements create the ideal setting where we offer our guests a fine, contemporary cuisine throughout the day. On the day-menu are light snacks and refreshing salads, from a choice of pasta's to fresh fish or a prime cut of succulent beef fillet. The "Patisserie" chef makes sure that coffee never goes without the necessary indulgence on the side. For dinner we change the setting for a fine-dining experience with a French style Bistro menu. And of course, there is the bar for a stiff drink, a cocktail or a good selection of South African wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cascades on the Promenade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades On The Promenade Hotel Sea Point
Cascades On The Promenade Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing