We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 days that became 25, for now”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
Ranked #59 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Flew in from Dubai on September 24th having stayed at the very modern Grosvenor House for 8 days. Found out 3 hours before my departure from Dubai that I hadn't booked a hotel yet in Cape Town. I went online and found The Dutch Manor. I booked it for two nights just in case I wanted to move on to another place. Being Dutch and travelling 270 days a year for work I thought the name was very tempting. I've been to Cape Town many times and can't believe how I could've missed this absolute gem of a boutique hotel. The contrast with Dubai was going from one extreme to the other. You walk into history, basically a home away from home. The staff becomes your family and quite frankly there isn't a recruitment company that could find all those friendly people and put them in the same place anywhere in the world. Breakfast is fantastic, one of the best omelettes ever! Very nice coffee, always fresh ripe fruit. The rooms are stuffed with antiques yet the shower is from the 21st century, super! the four poster beds are seriously comfortable.
The Wifi works perfectly well so business and pleasure can be easily combined. The area around the hotel is great for exploring some historic and cultural sites around Bo-Kaap. Bree, Loop and Long Street are right on the doorstep with many fine restaurants, the Waterfront is a 30 minute walk down the road.
Two days became 25 days.....and I'm back again in November.
Going back to my home away from home before going home again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BotheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Wooow! what an awesome, great and warm feedback. We greatly value your feedback. It was a real honor to have you as our guest. Your compliment about the staff has even strengthened the Team spirit more . We greatly appreciate all the details you observed during your stay. We look forward to have you back in the next couple of days to your 'home away from home' :-)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in the Dutch Manor at the beginning and end of our holiday in South Africa. What a fantastic introduction to Cape Town. Lovely hotel with wonderfully comfortable beds, and beautifully furnished rooms. All the staff were delightful, and so willing to help in any way they could. Breakfast was a treat with anything you could possibly want to eat, and we met very interesting people over breakfast too! My only comment that is slightly negative would be could you please give us some of that wonderful South African seed bread for breakfast rather than white bread!
Great area to stay in as an easy walk takes you down to restaurants in the evening.
We really enjoyed our stay, and I hope we'll get back there one day - thank you to you all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for such a warm review. We are all happy that you had a lovely stay with us. So sorry about the white bread incident , we always strive to give the best healthy breakfast ever. We appreciate your feedback

Looking forward to your next visit :-).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

What a pity our stay was for only one night. The personal service was warm and professional. The four-poster bed was exceptionally comfortable and the large high-pressure shower a pleasure. We enjoyed the beautiful antique décor. Thank you, we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Dear Guest

It was a great pleasure having you at Dutch Manor Hotel.

We hope to have you back soon for a longer stay.

We appreciate your feedback
.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We had a wonderful two nights in the Dutch Manor. We were looked after like royalty and had beds to match. The breakfast was superb and the location good for access to Table Mountain. Bo Kapp is a very interesting area - we walked down to a local eating place and dined out for £2 each!

Room Tip: We had a quick peek in all the rooms and all seemed to have four poster beds. One room does have two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay at our gem, and the fact that you enjoyed the personal service we offer at Dutch Manor. It was a real honor to have you as our guests.

We hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The Dutch Manor is an exquisitely furnished mansion in the very heart of Bo-Kaap. We were so delighted and overwhelmed by the courtesy of the personnel, always ready to help us feel at home and responsive to our needs. The rooms are large and comfortable and beautifully maintained. The location is great, in the very heart of Bo-Kaap, and minutes from the centre of
town, the area is quiet but at the same time close to all commerce.
We loved our stay and the wonderful hospitality!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Guest

My staff and I would like to thank you for taking your time to review us. It was a great honor to have you as our guests with your family.

Above all I am delighted that we made your stay a home away from home experience.

We look forward to host you again.

Thank you
warmest regards,

Nobu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

A more Cape specific hotel you could not find in Cape Town. The ambience and comfort is perfect with antiques in abundance. The staff are knowledgable, friendly and efficient and breakfast was everything one could ask for. The location is perfect for business and tourism and although situated on a busy road, there was little traffic noise inside the hotel. Simply splendiforous!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneytimeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Guest

It was a great pleasure having you as our treasured guest. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay with us.

Thank you for your time to review us, it is much appreciated.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Nobu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Upon visiting Capetwon for business last week, I decided to choose an alternative for the big chains this time, in the form of a small boutique hotel. Not disappointed, on the contrary. It started with an excellent transfer from the airport; fine location, charming welcome, beautiful antique rooms, great hospitality and......perfect wifi. So much enjoyed this small venue!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Guest

I am delighted to the fact that you had a complete 'home away from home ' experience. We at Dutch Manor take pride in giving a memorable stay to our guests.

We greatly value your feedback.

We look forward to have you on your next visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel
#9 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,305 reviews
The Blue House Guesthouse
#43 of 156 in Cape Town Central
103 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#45 of 156 in Cape Town Central
103 reviews
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
#49 of 156 in Cape Town Central
99 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Manor Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Manor Antique Hotel

Address: 158 Buitengracht Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £85 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Manor Antique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dutch Manor represents the ultimate in heritage-rich style and comfort. Every room is uniquely decorated with the greatest attention to detail and the finest antique furnishings and fittings, each with its own unique tale. The four-star boutique hotel is deliberately small and comprises of six rooms, all with en-suite modernized bathrooms, spacious showers and air-conditioning. All the rooms have 26-inch flat screen TVs and luxurious Egyptian percale cotton bedding. Various popular tourist attractions are within a 3km radius of the hotel: The V&A Waterfront, the trendy De Waterkant and Kloof Street for shopping and dining, the Company’s Gardens and Cape Town International Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Dutch Manor Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing