We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and wonderful guest lodgings just steps from all Cape Town offers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
Ranked #45 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Warm and wonderful guest lodgings just steps from all Cape Town offers”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Dutch Manor was our lodging for our first two nights in South Africa. We opted for the one room with two single beds, for the space and size of beds. All of the other rooms have antique four posters or canopy beds, so are the bed size is accordingly small -- a standard double. Our choice was excellent as the singles were large, more like US 3/4 beds, and we had a nice (barred) window to the side street. Breakfast was tasty and ample, and there is parking both in front and on the side of the hotel, as well as one or two spaces within the hotel's walls at the back. Security struck us as not a problem. We were surprised at the relatively small size of Cape Town, and he complete absence of the security measures on view in other South African cities such as Johannesburg and Durban. Cape Town was very walkable from Dutch Manor, as we ambled through the center, and down to Victoria & Albert Waterfront. We picked up our rental car early (we drove much of the southern coast to Durban) and used Dutch Manor as our base to drive to the tram at Table Mountain, on over the mountains to Boulders NP to see penguins, and then out to visit Robbin Island. Dutch Manor has only showers -- nice showers, but just showers none the less. South African hotels usually have tubs, as well, and consistently the largest tubs we have encountered anywhere. So, this omission was noted more in retrospect after we became accustomed to tubs. It was a great base to begin our 14 days touring much of South Africa.

Room Tip: Choose a room with two single beds if a conventional double (smaller than a queen) would be tight fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    36
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
19
106
38
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Conakry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Flew in from Dubai on September 24th having stayed at the very modern Grosvenor House for 8 days. Found out 3 hours before my departure from Dubai that I hadn't booked a hotel yet in Cape Town. I went online and found The Dutch Manor. I booked it for two nights just in case I wanted to move on to another place. Being Dutch and travelling 270 days a year for work I thought the name was very tempting. I've been to Cape Town many times and can't believe how I could've missed this absolute gem of a boutique hotel. The contrast with Dubai was going from one extreme to the other. You walk into history, basically a home away from home. The staff becomes your family and quite frankly there isn't a recruitment company that could find all those friendly people and put them in the same place anywhere in the world. Breakfast is fantastic, one of the best omelettes ever! Very nice coffee, always fresh ripe fruit. The rooms are stuffed with antiques yet the shower is from the 21st century, super! the four poster beds are seriously comfortable.
The Wifi works perfectly well so business and pleasure can be easily combined. The area around the hotel is great for exploring some historic and cultural sites around Bo-Kaap. Bree, Loop and Long Street are right on the doorstep with many fine restaurants, the Waterfront is a 30 minute walk down the road.
Two days became 25 days.....and I'm back again in November.
Going back to my home away from home before going home again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BotheGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Wooow! what an awesome, great and warm feedback. We greatly value your feedback. It was a real honor to have you as our guest. Your compliment about the staff has even strengthened the Team spirit more . We greatly appreciate all the details you observed during your stay. We look forward to have you back in the next couple of days to your 'home away from home' :-)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in the Dutch Manor at the beginning and end of our holiday in South Africa. What a fantastic introduction to Cape Town. Lovely hotel with wonderfully comfortable beds, and beautifully furnished rooms. All the staff were delightful, and so willing to help in any way they could. Breakfast was a treat with anything you could possibly want to eat, and we met very interesting people over breakfast too! My only comment that is slightly negative would be could you please give us some of that wonderful South African seed bread for breakfast rather than white bread!
Great area to stay in as an easy walk takes you down to restaurants in the evening.
We really enjoyed our stay, and I hope we'll get back there one day - thank you to you all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for such a warm review. We are all happy that you had a lovely stay with us. So sorry about the white bread incident , we always strive to give the best healthy breakfast ever. We appreciate your feedback

Looking forward to your next visit :-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2013

What a pity our stay was for only one night. The personal service was warm and professional. The four-poster bed was exceptionally comfortable and the large high-pressure shower a pleasure. We enjoyed the beautiful antique décor. Thank you, we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Guest

It was a great pleasure having you at Dutch Manor Hotel.

We hope to have you back soon for a longer stay.

We appreciate your feedback
.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We had a wonderful two nights in the Dutch Manor. We were looked after like royalty and had beds to match. The breakfast was superb and the location good for access to Table Mountain. Bo Kapp is a very interesting area - we walked down to a local eating place and dined out for £2 each!

Room Tip: We had a quick peek in all the rooms and all seemed to have four poster beds. One room does have two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay at our gem, and the fact that you enjoyed the personal service we offer at Dutch Manor. It was a real honor to have you as our guests.

We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The Dutch Manor is an exquisitely furnished mansion in the very heart of Bo-Kaap. We were so delighted and overwhelmed by the courtesy of the personnel, always ready to help us feel at home and responsive to our needs. The rooms are large and comfortable and beautifully maintained. The location is great, in the very heart of Bo-Kaap, and minutes from the centre of
town, the area is quiet but at the same time close to all commerce.
We loved our stay and the wonderful hospitality!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest

My staff and I would like to thank you for taking your time to review us. It was a great honor to have you as our guests with your family.

Above all I am delighted that we made your stay a home away from home experience.

We look forward to host you again.

Thank you
warmest regards,

Nobu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

A more Cape specific hotel you could not find in Cape Town. The ambience and comfort is perfect with antiques in abundance. The staff are knowledgable, friendly and efficient and breakfast was everything one could ask for. The location is perfect for business and tourism and although situated on a busy road, there was little traffic noise inside the hotel. Simply splendiforous!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneytimeSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear Guest

It was a great pleasure having you as our treasured guest. I am delighted that you had a memorable stay with us.

Thank you for your time to review us, it is much appreciated.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Nobu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
969 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#6 of 155 in Cape Town Central
942 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 155 in Cape Town Central
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#38 of 155 in Cape Town Central
96 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
242 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 155 in Cape Town Central
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Manor Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Manor Antique Hotel

Property: Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
Address: 158 Buitengracht Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Manor Antique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dutch Manor represents the ultimate in heritage-rich style and comfort. Every room is uniquely decorated with the greatest attention to detail and the finest antique furnishings and fittings, each with its own unique tale. The four-star boutique hotel is deliberately small and comprises of six rooms, all with en-suite modernized bathrooms, spacious showers and air-conditioning. All the rooms have 26-inch flat screen TVs and luxurious Egyptian percale cotton bedding. Various popular tourist attractions are within a 3km radius of the hotel: The V&A Waterfront, the trendy De Waterkant and Kloof Street for shopping and dining, the Company’s Gardens and Cape Town International Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Dutch Manor Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing