We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay at dutch manor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dutch Manor Antique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
Ranked #45 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“great stay at dutch manor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

i can advise this hotel, by all means, no need to explain every single good detail. only the internet quality upstairs is not good enough, if you are in a business trip, but they promised me that they will fix it next time :)

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbedir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us, above all we are delighted that you will tell others of your experience at Dutch Manor Hotel.

Guess what...as per our promise, internet has been upgraded :-)!!!
When you come back you will enjoy every minute of staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    33
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
104
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is very nice, with great furniture and a nice atmosphere. The staff is friendly and tried very hard to make us feel comfortable. The hotel is very close to Long Street, with its many bars and restaurant. However, the hotel is on an extremely noisy street. The two rooms on the ground floor face the reception, which makes them extra noisy. The rooms upstairs are somewhat better, especially the one at the back. Double beds are very small for two people. Breakfast was average. The staff at times seemed to be not very experienced in running an hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paolooo067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We attended a conference in Cape Town and stayed at Dutch Manor. The walk to the Conference Centre was fairly short and was safe. It was good to have a comfortable room with a good clean bathroom in a central location in this memorable city. The breakfast was just what we needed but the main benefit was the friendly and helpful staff that gave us advice that helped us to see and enjoy some of Cape Town´s great places in the small amount of free time that we had.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterH105Rvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

We greatly value your time and for giving us a wonderful review. We are delighted that you had a memorable stay with us.
It is sad that you did not have much time to visit other areas due to the conference.

Hopefully you will get another opportunity to come and have more time to visit many wonderful places in Cape Town, definitely staying at your 'home away from home' Dutch Manor Hotel :-)!

Thank you
Dutch Manor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

wonderful spot in Cape Town, location, service, staff and most of all the decor - dutch splendor with old Cape Touches - and no noise, perfect bedding & bathroom treats. enough books and music to keep you happy, security parking - walking distance from the city.

Room Tip: upstairs on the balcony - but all really beautiful - we booked 4 of the 7 rooms and all splendid
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank engeladtMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your warm review. We really felt honored to have you and your colleagues at our gem.

We look forward to get another opportunity to host and pamper you again.

Warmest regards,
Dutch Manor Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed one night over at Dutch Manor. It was a superb experience. Bed was big and comfy. Toilet was impressive with a big area for shower and heated rack for the towels.
Service felt very personalised throughout and they even gave us a free room because they could not get the twin bed room in time for my sister and father. Overall, a heavenly experience. Would definitely recommend this to anyone gg to Cape Town!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for staying with us :-)!
We are very happy that we made your stay a pleasant one.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Dutch Manor Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

After walking past the hotel for many years when in cape Town I stayed here in February 2014 for a week and could find no fault save that it had no pool. That is slightly unfair as few colonial houses did.

The breakfast room, on the first floor, was elegant, the food good and the company, as we share a large dining table, always interesting.

After breakfast I stayed on the same floor bit on the balcony to get some sun and read the local papers.

A good way to start the day.

My room was a good size with fine furniture, a good size bathroom and with both air conditioning and Internet that worked.

The area is quiet but close enough to most of the central sites. I walked to V&A but this took around 30 minutes, Long Street is much closer~I always felt safe.

High praise for Nobukhosi Tshabalala who manages everything with calm efficiency.

All-in-all a very good place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive3417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest

Firstly, I would like to thank you for finally deciding to come in and experience Dutch Manor Hotel after walking past this gem for many years. We are so happy that almost everything was to your satisfaction. It is unfortunate that we do not have a swimming pool.

I really appreciate the great praise which I would like to share with the special Team I work with, without them it will not be possible.

We look forward to have another opportunity to have you back as our treasured guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I absolutely loved this place. So well decorated and renovated and maintained. Modern i a good way. The staff was super attentive and nice. It has a lovely small breakfast room, where they bring you very nice fresh made omelet and toast. You feel at home and well taken care of.
There are so many small details that indicated how well thought through and how deep the care for the guests is. our room was great, and even though it was facing the road, the wooden blinds isolated the sound very well. They offer parking in the garage over night which is great.
Absolutely everything was great about this hotel but the view. But than the can't help where the house built 100 years ago or so :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DutchCapeTown, General Manager at Dutch Manor Antique Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Guest

What a great description!!! Thank you for your positive review, we believe this will go a long way in enhancing the image of Dutch Manor Hotel. I am so thrilled that my staff and I gave you an experience that is invaluable. Thank you also for observing all the details on our decor and the great maintenance of our hotel.

We also felt honored having you as our guest at our gem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#47 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#40 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#28 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Purple House Bed & Breakfast
#36 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dutch Manor Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dutch Manor Antique Hotel

Property: Dutch Manor Antique Hotel
Address: 158 Buitengracht Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dutch Manor Antique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dutch Manor represents the ultimate in heritage-rich style and comfort. Every room is uniquely decorated with the greatest attention to detail and the finest antique furnishings and fittings, each with its own unique tale. The four-star boutique hotel is deliberately small and comprises of six rooms, all with en-suite modernized bathrooms, spacious showers and air-conditioning. All the rooms have 26-inch flat screen TVs and luxurious Egyptian percale cotton bedding. Various popular tourist attractions are within a 3km radius of the hotel: The V&A Waterfront, the trendy De Waterkant and Kloof Street for shopping and dining, the Company’s Gardens and Cape Town International Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dutch Manor Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dutch Manor Antique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing