We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Atlantic Point Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

My husband and I had a great stay at this hostel. Private room we were in (yellow room I think) was a great size and the facilities throughout the hostel were brilliant. Staff are really helpful and its a great social hostel to meet many other travelers. Breakfast was very good. Braai night was excellent. Also a very good location, close to the waterfront and the main city centre. Would recommend you to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prash87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlouw, Manager at Atlantic Point Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really enjoy having the braai nights for everyone, it really brings people together and you get a super delicious meal :)

Really happy you enjoyed your stay, take care.

The AP team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Atlantic Point Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

504 - 510 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Myself and my partner just spent a week exploring Cape Town and stayed at Atlantic Point. We were instantly made to feel at home and Celine was extremely helpful in working out what we should do and when etc. My recommendations would be not to miss the braai night as they put on a great spread, and you get to relax and meet fellow travellers!

The location is great and it is super easy to get taxi's around the corner in front of the cape royal hotel. A great stay in Cape Town, and if we aren't too old when we come back we will be staying here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Good hostel downtown. Just 15 min the waterfront.

If you ask, you get a lot of recommendations at the frontdesk for activities, dinner and everything else. We stayed in a two bed room with shower and toilet.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is ideal backpacker's place for everyone. The place is very clean, everything you expect from good backpackers' are there, and it's close to the harbour where all the nightlife are happening. I stayed only one night though as they were fully booked ahead of time in January. I guess that is only downside, you have to book quick if you want to stay here. But after my visit, I can understand why it's so popular. It is a bit pricey for a backpacker's, but it's where you want to base yourself if you decide to spend time in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kchae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed twice in a 4 bed dorm which is very comfortable. Place is spotless. Included breakfast is nice. Staff is helpful. Location is not as convenient as some but is in quiet neighborhood with nearby places to eat and drink. Am staying there again in December. Good value!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovinsc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Atlantic Point as our last stop in Cape Town, having tried out a few neighborhoods over the course of a week. Overall, it's a well run operation. Clean, comfortable, lots of hangout space, good breakfast (fresh fruit!) and decent location. Also they have loads of information for activities, restaurants, etc and put on gatherings at the hostel. It would be a great spot for solo travellers. A couple things on the downside - the girls at the front desk were a bit misinformed about things in the area and seemed most interested in partying (they were the biggest violators of the late night quiet rule). The building is undergoing some construction, and while the noise didn't bother us much, the lack of water one day and lack of hot water the next was a bummer. The owners were giving free night stays to anyone staying another night due to the water situation, but when we went to check out (we were flying out, not leaving because of the water situation) they didn't seem concerned with giving us any discount.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cakeltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlouw, Manager at Atlantic Point Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thanks for your review and feedback.

You will be glad to know that the renovation of the kitchen is complete, i will post pictures on Facebook shortly. I do apologize again for the water situation, we were informed that it would take only a few hours to complete.

We pride ourselves on giving guests a really fresh breakfast.

Our staff are encouraged to get involved with entertaining guests. I do understand coming home late at night one may be unaware of the noise you can create. I will bring this up in our next meeting.

We trust you are well and hope that you will call again.

Take Care

Regards
Tim/ James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

It was my first time at a backpackers place and I was apprehensive about the idea at first. By the time I left Atlantic Point after my 5 night stay realized it was a fantastic idea! I stayed in a 4 shared bed room. The rooms are clean, the staff are really friendly and helpful. I slept very well because the place is nice and quiet, plus I had loads of fun with the staff and other backpackers since they have these daily planned activities to make your stay a little more interesting :) Atlantic Point is nicely located in the beautiful Green Point district, near the V&A Waterfront.

Thanks Atlantic Point - I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillFullon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlouw, Manager at Atlantic Point Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thanks Very much for your wonderful review!

The whole team is missing you! We wish you all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#62 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,009 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Backpackers in Green Point
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 128 in Cape Town Central
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Point Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Point Backpackers

Address: 2 Cavalcade Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £17 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Point Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Town's most interactive backpackers lodge is designed with you in mind. Situated in trendy Green Point, Signal Hill is our garden. Atlantic Point Backpackers is perfectly positioned 1km from the waterfront and 750m from the new Green Point Stadium.We offer an accommodation experience for all travelers. From double en-suite rooms to co-ed dorms we have something for you. Our staff will assist you with your needs while in Cape Town. AP will hopefully be a highlight of your South African experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Atlantic Point Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Point Backpackers Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing