We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”
Review of Underberg House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Underberg House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2011

A very nice place to stay in Cape Town, handy for Table Mountain and some excellent restaurants. Ann and Bruce are extremely helpful and Bruce even managed to fix a problem with our hire car! Recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerandwendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
There are newer reviews for Underberg House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 636 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

Bruce and Anne were wonderful hosts during our stay at Underberg. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very helpful with suggestions for dining locally and visiting attractions. The room was delightful with doors opening to a private balcony. Very pleased that we chose to stay here. You are assured of a warm welcome. Terry and Lynda

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 71TerryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

The Underberg is a friendly, comfortable guest house located within easy walking distance of the city center (a great shopping center with a Woolworth's, wine store, Nando's and tons of other eateries: 5 minutes; Long Street: 10 minutes; Company Gardens: 10 minutes; VA Waterfront: a hefty 40 minutes, but it's better to take a taxi there anyway). My bed was ridiculously comfortable, breakfast was fantastic (beautiful fresh fruit and muesli as well as eggs, etc.), and Anne and Bruce were incredibly attentive hosts - very eager to get to know me and help me out in any way they could. I was traveling alone and so especially appreciated the attention and guidance. Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: My room (#1) was right next to the balcony, which meant there was a light on outside my window all n...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Historic collonial house restored to the highest standards with views of Table Mountain. Bathrooms exceptional, beds vast, breakfasts memorable. Owners and staff very helpful and friendly. Convenient for city access. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Excellent guest house in Cape Town. Beautifully restored. We loved staying there. Lovely people, great breakfast, and a really nice quiet, comfortable room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miandho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Absolutely brilliant alternative for business people who need that extra bit of relaxation. Great rooms and amazing hospitality from Bruce Veale who goes the extra mile.This will be my 5 star alternative to staying in the hotels that I regularly visit.

Room Tip: Downstairs suite is a great choice.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I was so pleased to see the tasteful restoration of this magnificent old house. The rooms are beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable. It was easy to walk into the city or catch the hop on hop off bus close by. Would recommend this location to any visitors to Cape Town who enjoy comfort and good service. I will defiinitely use the guest house as my base when I am back in the city.

Room Tip: there is at least one suite on the first floor with a private balcony and a view of table mountain...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessfiona82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,412 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,003 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,026 reviews
La Grenadine
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underberg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg House

Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Underberg Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £79 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Underberg House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and hospitably service. All our colonial rooms are super comfortable with modern en-suite bathrooms. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a flat screen TV with satelite chanels, Air conditioning and heating , overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer, free toiletries, fitted carpet, safe, white cotton percale sheets, down duvets in winter and cotton blankets inthe summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Underberg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing