We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”
Review of Underberg House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Underberg House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A home from home”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

A fabulous balance between the warmth and attention to detail of a great B&B and the quality of furniture / fittings of a swanky hotel. Anne, Bruce and the wonderful women who prepare breakfast and help look after the place, provided a great introduction to Cape Town and were relentlessly helpful. The neighbourhood is brilliant for walking, and the views of the Lion's Head and Table Mountain from the balconies and bedrooms are breathtaking.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank chrisgrant14a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    49
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
72
344
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

After a long flight, the Underberg was a welcome sight. Our room on the ground floor was spacious,spotlessly clean and well appointed. The large ensuite bathroom had a separate bath and an excellent shower. We also had our own lounge with comfortable sofa and TV.

Anne & Bruce couldn't have been better hosts,answering all our questions,organising taxis,booking restaurants etc. ( be sure to try Millers Thumb, 5 mins walk away,but book first).

Underberg is an immaculate,well run guesthouse in a good location and somewhere we hope to return to soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Our stay with Anne & Bruce, who are very guest friendly hosts, made for a most pleasant final night in Cape Town. The area is interesting, the building is in excellent condition, the room was well appointed, and the english breakfast scrumptuous!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Simply the best Bed and Breakfast in Cape Town. I did a double-take when I walked in: it had the feel of London's famous Claridge's Hotel--very elegantly appointed, excellent taste, but with remarkably reasonable prices.Two other notables: (1) the owners will take your breakfast order, personally serve your coffee (or tea), and hand deliver the morning paper, all with a warm smile and friendly conversation; and (2) its location provides a view of Table Mountain.
What's not to love. Stop your search: this is THE place for your home away from home here.

John Cooper
Los Angeles, California U.S.A.

Room Tip: The best room in the house, as I recall, is Room No. 1, which is right next to the common balcony t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had a very nice two days stay in the Underberger Guest House. Lovely house, excellent location, nice interiors, good facilities and personalized service. SO much nicer in all ways than staying in a standard, high class hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Underberg with its wonderful hosts and staff is my abosutely # 1 place to stay in Cape Town.
Regards, Anne-Marie, Norway

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband and I stayed one week at the Underberg Guest house in the first week of march. Let me say that from the first moment we arrived until we left we were in absolute awe, it as home away from home but better! The house is located near the Gardens neighborhood where there are many GREAT restaurants in walking distance as well as supermarkets. And of course in 5-10 minutes walk you are in the city bowl and the company gardens - so ideally located for business or pleasure! The house sits majestic on the corner of the street and let me tell you all the pictures can't do justice of the absolute loveliness of the house. The owners have restored all the beautiful tiles and flooring, and with modern electrical and shower facilities. You feel absolutely at home there, as Anne the hostess is always readily available to help with anything! Be it deciding tour locations or washing clothes! The breakfast room is also lovely with hot options as well as toasts, yogurts and jams. They leave you the keys to the door so you really can come and go as you like. There is also a bar room where you can sip some drinks or wine, or just take some water and soda to your room. This is suited for all sorts of travelers - from business, families or couples - Anne will make sure each will receive what they need! Ah! And of course there is a little library with great book options as well as free wireless all over the house. The only thing left to say is that is the way to go when in Cape Town!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,391 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,240 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,016 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underberg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg House

Property: Underberg House
Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Underberg Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Underberg House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and hospitably service. All our colonial rooms are super comfortable with modern en-suite bathrooms. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a flat screen TV with satelite chanels, Air conditioning and heating , overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer, free toiletries, fitted carpet, safe, white cotton percale sheets, down duvets in winter and cotton blankets inthe summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Underberg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing