We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, comfortable, great location”
Review of Underberg House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Underberg House
Certificate of Excellence
Golden, Co
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Welcoming, comfortable, great location”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Anne and Bruce were very welcoming, and helpful with advice on touring. The room was large and comfortable. The breakfast was ample and tasty. The location was convenient - we had a rental car which we parked outside for free; and we walked from the art museum (slightly uphill), but took a taxi from the waterfront for $5. Excellent restaurants within a 5-minute walk. Views of the neighborhood are pleasant, with a limited view of Table Mountain. We'd highly recommend this attractive, well-maintained, large Victorian B&B, which is located in a safe, upscale, somewhat hilly neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D0llyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    49
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
72
345
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We nearly booked a place near the Waterfront but felt that something in our price range would be too bland, impersonal and devoid of character. We looked at several guesthouses in a quiet neighborhood and Underberg was the place that could accommodate us for 6D/5N.

I'm glad we stayed at Underberg. Bruce and Anne were warm, welcoming and helpful and the staff was very polite though they kept mostly to themselves. I felt like I was staying at the home of a friend's aunt or something like that. Bruce and Anne don't stay at Underberg, I think they leave in the late afternoon so if you need anything done, best to get it done in the morning or early afternoon. I think the staff leaves at the end of the day so if you're one of those people who need staff on the premises, perhaps you'd be better off at a full service hotel (this is the only reason why I didn't give full marks for service).

Rooms were clean and comfortable and all the basics you need are provided. Rooms are cleaned and re-stocked daily. Some people might not like the fact that rooms are not air-conditioned but we were there in spring and Cape Town was nice and cool. On a few afternoons, it was a bit warm and I turned on the ceiling fan just to get the air circulating but it was always windy at night. A room heater is provided if you need it. I did turn on the TV for all of 5 minutes but other than the news channels, I wasn't too interested in what was on the telly. Free wifi (even in rooms) was generally reliable and I could keep in touch with people back home, got to tell them about the great time I was having! On the first day, I had trouble with the key as the key hole of the room door is a bit lower than usual but I got used to that. Also had some trouble with the safe, thought I had locked it but it turns out I had forgotten to turn the key so the safe was unlocked but the staff is very trustworthy. Nothing was taken. We washed some small articles of clothing (e.g. our bathing suits) and when we came back to our rooms, we found that our clean laundry had been taken off the hangers and folded and placed on our beds, thanks! My room mate's bathing suit was a two piece and for some reason, one of those two pieces ended up in our friends' room but that was the only minor mix-up.

A delicious breakfast comes free (available from 730-10AM) and I really enjoyed it. Fresh cut fruit in season, yogurt, cereal & muesli, bread (whole grain and white), cheeses, orange juice, apple juice, fresh milk, butter, homemade orange marmalade & raspberry preserves and condiments like honey, marmite, etc all laid out. You can order coffee or tea and a hot breakfast (two eggs any way you like, omelettes, delicious mushrooms, bacon and tomatoes). My favorite cooked breakfast was one poached egg, TONS of mushrooms, a grilled tomato and one rasher of bacon. By day 3 it was my signature breakfast and Bruce recognized it as mine on sight. One time we had to leave Underberg at 4:20AM to go see the sharks and I lamented that we'd miss the wonderful breakfast!

There's a nice little honesty bar if you want to pour yourself a drink. There was a bit of a mix up with the bar as someone had written that he had two drinks but the way he wrote it down was not so clear (perhaps those 2 drinks were too much for him?) and it looked like the occupants of Room 2 (my friend and I) had consumed those drinks. That mix-up was easily sorted out. If there were any issues, we had no trouble bringing them up with the owners who were very proactive and would act on something they felt might be an issue.

Underberg is located in a quiet neighborhood. To get to some shops/cafes you do have to walk maybe 3-7 minutes, 10 minutes if you walk REALLY slowly. Long street is not far away, a nice leisurely stroll from Underberg. If you want to walk to the Waterfront I suppose you could do it though that might take quite a lot of time. Hail a cab or figure out the bus system if you can (I never figured it out).

The area is safe, I did see a few homeless people hanging around the main street near the restaurants and the Catholic church (about 5-7 minutes away) but they never bothered me. They just said "Good morning!" when I saw them on my way to mass. I offered one some food I couldn't finish and he thanked me politely. Just as a precaution though, there is a security guard patrolling the street night and day. Underberg is a gated guesthouse and you just have to key in the security code to enter.

Available in room: coffee/tea tray set for 2, basic toiletries (liquid hand soap, bath gel, lotion, toilet paper), room spray, bug spray, complete set of towels, wardrobe with hangers, hair dryer, room heater, one adaptor (we just had to get another one because the one in the room was not compatible with our gadgets), TV, wifi, writing desk, no refrigerator in the room but you can have items refrigerated (we bought cheese that needed to be refrigerated). no phones in the room, you'll have to use your cell phone. there's a phone in the office so if you need a cab during the day, Bruce and Anne can call one for you. lighting and ventilation of rooms generally good.

You can borrow adaptors, a refundable ZAR10 deposit is required per adaptor.
Laundry service available (per piece). I didn't have anything done but my friend had her jeans washed and I believe rates were reasonable.

I was very comfortable in my room but I also enjoyed relaxing in the different common areas of the guesthouse (veranda, bar, living room, etc).

Only one set of keys issued per room so that sometimes got tricky when my room mate and I wanted to do different things.

I do plan to go back to Cape Town and I'd love to stay at the Underberg again :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engmaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, Devon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We arrived at the Underberg at 9.30 am, after arriving on a night flight from London. We were warmly greeted by Anne who gave us a cup of coffee and gave us invaluable information on Cape Town and all the wonderful places to visit. In no time they had managed to prepare our room, so we were able to unpack and freshen up. We then met Bruce, Anne's husband. A really great couple. Amazing hosts. The guest house is spotlessly clean and fresh, tastefully decorated. We had a room with a balcony which had THE most comfortable bed ever! Breakfasts were great with cereals, a wonderful bowl of fresh fruits with a selection of yogurts, a choice of cheeses, bread for toast, juices and of course an English breakfast. A newspaper was always on the table. The kitchen staff did a wonderful job and nothing was too much trouble for Anne or Bruce. Truly great hospitality. Close to the centre in a safe neighborhood. I would not hesitate to recommend the Underberg to visitors to Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spalds46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Underberg Guest House was the perfect location and a guest house full of charm and all the comforts. Our hosts Anne and Bruce were so hospitable and made our week really one to remember. as a frequent traveller the Underberg will be a guest house I would not hesitate to recommend and we will certainly stay there again and again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadiesLOVEtravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had had a month on safari in Southern Africa and ended our wonderful trip with Bruce and Anne at Underberg which was wonderful. We spoilt ourselves with a suite and loved every minute of it. Bruce has lovingly restored this beautiful building and his attention to detail in amazing. The peace of Underberg just wrapped around us as we walked in the door. The breakfasts we great and there were some wonderful restaurants within walking distance. They also organised a driver to pick us up and deliver us to the airport and we hired him to take as out for a day to show us Cape Town. He drove a BMW which was very clean, a wonderful change after a month on safari. I would highly recommend anyone staying in Cape Town to consider staying at Underberg.

Room Tip: all the room were lovely. Bruce showed us through as there was no else staying at that time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We are a couple in our honeymoon and we decided to stay in Underberg Guesthouse and that was a wonderful experience. It is a really nice place, so quiet but close to the center, safety neighbourhood, the perfect place to be.
The owner are a couple from there and they are amazing. They take care of our stay...
If we come back any time to CT we will return there.

Estuvimos en CT unos días por nuestra luna de miel y no podemos estar más contentos con la elección. Fue el sitio perfecto, la habitación perfecta e impecable, los dueños una pareja maravillosa que se encargaba de que estuvieras muy bien y dándote a conocer su ciudad, con sugerencias de turismo y de sitios para cenar.
Sin duda si volvemos alguna vez a CT iremos allí sin pensarlo.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrosa1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

A very warm welcome by Anne, a cuppa tea was just what I wanted. First impression wonderful, room excellent. Property renovated very well by Bruce who was also an excellent host. We had some great conversations together. An easy walk from CBD of Cape Town which I enjoyed. A range of places to eat within easy walk. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast great. Both Anna and Bruce very helpful in booking tours if required. Over all a very enjoyable stay, one of the highlights of my trip to Africa. Allan Jordan Australia

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,396 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,249 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,019 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 155 in Cape Town Central
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underberg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg House

Property: Underberg House
Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Underberg Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Underberg House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and hospitably service. All our colonial rooms are super comfortable with modern en-suite bathrooms. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a flat screen TV with satelite chanels, Air conditioning and heating , overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer, free toiletries, fitted carpet, safe, white cotton percale sheets, down duvets in winter and cotton blankets inthe summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Underberg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing