We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Underberg House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Underberg House
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City, Florida
1 review
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I were very pleased with our stay at the Underberg Guest House. Anne and Bruce were great hosts; they greeted us every morning and served a breakfast that exceeded my expectations. The hosts provided us with all the resources we needed to make our time in Cape Town memorable. The location worked out perfectly; within walking distance to restaurants. I'd recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    49
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
71
335
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Beautifully maintained, clean guesthouse in a safe, quiet area. Walking distance to restaurants. Hosts Ann and Bruce are very warm and helpful. They will book tickets etc. if needed. Delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maaikedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

They did not get so many positive reviews for nothing and we were not disappointed - the couple who runs this wonderful guest house really know what they are doing. The breakfast was excellent and we were really happy about all the help we got - great service! Our room was one of the smaller ones, but still big enough for us and showed good taste (in our humble opinion). They made sure we had an enjoyable stay with them and genuinely seem to be in the "hospitality business" as far as we could tell. The house is also very close to the city cenre and Table Mountain, but still quiet (and with free on-street parking). We really can't find any reason why not to recommend this superb Bed&Breakfast to anyone visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gm_bluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Underberg Guest House in our experience I would rate as second to none. First class food, comfortable spacious accommodation, friendly efficient management and good location. I would recommend this guest house to anyone without reservation. Certainly 10 out of 10 in my opinion. Charles Bull

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I've stayed in Cape Town before and only wish I'd found Underberg earlier. Underberg itself is wonderfully decorated, comfortable and stylish.
Simply perfect location with many bars and restaurants in the area if you don't want to travel far or stagger home! You couldn't wish for a more central Guest house to explore the city and surrounding area.
Anne and Bruce have worked hard I feel to make this one of the top locations to stay at. Breakfast, information, check in, check out all made relax. Keep up the good work we say!
Many thanks, we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at Underburg for 4 nights with our 10 year old son and Anne and Bruce could not have been more helpful and charming. The location is perfect, a little away from the traffic and noise of Cape Town but near enough to the centre of town and Table Mountain to make it a short hop in a car or taxi. Our hosts were attentive without being intrusive and able to supply advice and information on all things South African.

The rooms were clean, bright and spacious and there was a comfortable sitting room and bar that is open for all customers to use day or night. The guesthouse was recommended by friends who have stayed there twice and we would not hesitate to stay there again or recommend it to anyone. There was a laptop for use by guests and free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Extremely comfortable small hotel in a quiet street. Lovely family atmosphere, and Anne and Bruce couldn't have been more helpful. Comfortable sitting room with antique furniture, and 'honesty' bar. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underberg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg House

Property: Underberg House
Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Underberg Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Underberg House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and hospitably service. All our colonial rooms are super comfortable with modern en-suite bathrooms. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a flat screen TV with satelite chanels, Air conditioning and heating , overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer, free toiletries, fitted carpet, safe, white cotton percale sheets, down duvets in winter and cotton blankets inthe summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Underberg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing