We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic guest house”
Review of Underberg House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Underberg House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed here multiple times during my three months in South Africa (Jan-April 2014) and this guesthouse was first class; immaculate rooms, wonderful hosts Anne and Bruce willing to go the extra mile for their guests, wonderful in town location. Everything was perfect!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 23andi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for 1 night (18 April) and found no faults with this guest house. The owners (Ann and Bruce? I don't remember names very well.) were friendly and accommodating to our needs and the room (downstairs room) was a good, comfortable size larger than some hotels I've stayed in. Breakfast was first class, offering cereals, fruit, cold meat and hot cooked options. The owner helped us plan and organise our day and leaving our bags at the property after checkout wasn't a problem. All in all, a clean, well furbished property with friendly staff with excellent breakfast and service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrradiatingRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed there for a week during the last leg of our vacation and everything was perfect. the owners and staff were nice friendly. The owner Ann i think gave us maps, advises on where to go and will ask us everyday what we have done and if we liked it. The guesthouse itself was immaculate, white , clean perfect bed and bedsheet. Rooms were made to perfection even for us when we left the room in the afternoon they would still clean. The breakfast had everything you could desire in the morning. great location walking distance from the city center, V&A was 5mn drive, and they also have lot of very good restaurants and a laundrymat walking distance. the best was the bar , we made ourselves our drinks and felt like at home in this comfy house. All of this for a very reasonable price. Honestly the best guesthouse i have ever been too. Made me love cape town and wanna go back again. Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maeva101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed in April 2014 for 3 nights and it was the first part of our holiday and the fist time we had been to South Africa or Africa as a whole. We stayed in the suite on the ground floor and the room was absolutely great... huge bathroom, comfy large bed, quality linen, separate sitting room. Loads of space.

Our host Ann was lovely and very helpful - offering advice on things to do based around what we said that we wanted to see. The location of the guest house is great - lovely quiet street and easy to walk to near by Kloof Street.

The guesthouse also offered extra services such as an honesty bar and laundry (useful after an 11 hour flight, day on the beach and a hike up Table Mountain). In addition breakfast was excellent.

Would stay again and recommend wholeheartedly.

Thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed here for nine days in January 2014, and liked it so much that we booked again for a short return visit in March. Anne and Bruce were the most delightful and helpful hosts. The accommodation was clean and spacious. Breakfast is included in the room rate, with a variety of fruits, breads and cereals, as well as a full, cooked option. Within a short walk there is a cluster of excellent restaurants, most of which we enjoyed for dinners at some time during our stay. We were told that walking back after dark was safe, and we found it to be so. It is also feasible and safe to walk in daylight all the way from the Underberg to the waterfront, visiting great shops and restaurants in the Cape Quarter along the way. For excursions to Stellenbosch and elsewhere, their driver, Chris, was excellent. He was also our reliable airport chauffeur on two occasions.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank olico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Underberg B&B April 2014. We were fully satisfied about everything, from the suite we had to the copious breakfast. The guesthouse is perfectly situated in a nice residential area, close to the city centre and several attractions: Table Mountain is close, as well as the road for visiting the Cape Town Peninsula with Cape Hope. There are several good restaurants in the neighbourhood, especially the fish restaurant Miller's Thumb, real top.
The hosts An and Bruce are nice people, and the Honesty Bar is a real plus... An absolute must!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirklooHoogstraten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the Underberg for a few nights during our stay in Cape Town and it was awesome. Anne and Bruce were in contact with us prior to arrival through e-mail and made sure we were picked up at the airport. The gentleman that picked us up was Mario and he checked us in since it was fairly late at night. The next morning we were greeted with full breakfast downstairs and fresh pressed coffee which was yummy. Anne helped us plan out our days since we had never been to Cape Town and wanted to maximize our time there. She was super helpful and got the maps out and gave us our options on things to do. The Underberg works with a great Guide Chris- who actually does the picks up to and from the airport as well as tours. Since it was a bit dreary while we were there- we were unable to do shark diving but we were able to do a full day wine tour in Stellenbosch and a full day Cape of Good Hope tour-both were awesome.
I can't speak highly enough of both the Underberg and Chris our guide. The Guesthouse is beautiful and has been re-done quite nicely. Everything was very clean and we loved staying there. It is also centrally located between Long street and Kloof street- both great places to go out at night.
If you are looking for a place to stay in Cape Town-- stay here and book your tours through Chris!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely- some are bigger than others but other than that no major differences noted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsaavedra555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#3 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,472 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,057 reviews
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
294 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
290 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underberg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg House

Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Underberg Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £69 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Underberg House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and hospitably service. All our colonial rooms are super comfortable with modern en-suite bathrooms. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a flat screen TV with satelite chanels, Air conditioning and heating , overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer, free toiletries, fitted carpet, safe, white cotton percale sheets, down duvets in winter and cotton blankets inthe summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Underberg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing