We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Spot, Great Hosts”
Review of Underberg House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Underberg House
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Spot, Great Hosts”
Reviewed 16 December 2010

It's rare to find a hotel where the owners are as engaging and fun as the city you've come to visit, but this is it.

Yes, the rooms are spotless and stylish, the breakfast first rate and the location perfect for walking into town -- but it's Anne and Bruce's friendly interest in your day (without ever prying), and the genuinely amusing conversations from this fascinating and wise couple, that have stuck in our mind every bit as much. You sense this is a guest house run by people who don't take life too seriously, but take their guests' comfort very seriously -- and will quietly go out of their way to make sure they deliver it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnboyBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    49
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
73
348
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Anne and Bruce were extremely helpful! To all our questions (and they were numerous :-)) they had an answer and they gave us a lot of tips (advice). Breakfast was delicious and nearby were good restaurants in this quiet and secure area. Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy_Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Deutschland
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2010

Lovely guest house in Tamboerskloof, a great location for your stay in Cape Town. It is a central but quiet area, even at night we never felt unsafe in the area, and all amenities are in walking distance. To Long Street it is only a 5 minute walk and from there you can reach St. George Mall and the City Bowl within 15 Minutes.
The house itself is a beautiful Victorian Style villa, nicely decorated (I wish my house looked like it...) that made me feel at home right away.
Free parking is available, free WI-FI in the guest house.
The rooms are (almost) all renovated with modern bathrooms, a king size bed, down comforters and we had the pleasure of staying in room 6 with a private balcony.
The breakfast was good: we enjoyed a warm breakfast and the fruit salad to start us off in the day.
Most of all, we enjoyed the hospitality of Ann and Bruce who made us feel very welcome and helped us out with many useful recommendations. They were the nicest people and made our stay even more enjoyable!

We will definitely recommend this guest house to our friends and family and when we come back to Cape Town, we know where to stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wondercali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

very warm welcome by Anne & Bruce.
the house : beautilful Victorian style renovated house in a calm place at a walking distance (10min) of City Bowl best restaurants, bars and touristic attractions. Terrasse view on Table Mountain.
the room : nice king size bed, new shower in my room
services : good buffet breakfast, free parking, free WIFI connection
rate: 600rd / night for a single room mid November 2010
I recommend this guest house for any type of trip to Cape Town, holliday or business (Convention Center is less than 10 min. drive).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goulvenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Great B&B in central Cape Town (but not too central as to be bombarded by traffic). A 15 minute walk to bars and restaurants. The B&B is in a old but completely renovated colonial house with 15 feet ceilings (or so it seems), the rooms are quite large. Best shower I had in all of South Africa.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We felt very welcomed by Bruce and Anne. This is a top notch accomodation and beautifully finished. We looked at other guest houses in the area but this one came out tops. We would like to thank Anne for recommending Beleza and Millers Thumb because those became our favourite eating places. If you are coming to Tamboerskloof stay at The Underberg and eat at Beleza and Millers which are around the corner and you will have the most relaxing holiday of your life.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanpierregaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Had such a great stay and owners of the house were unbelievably helpful and accommodating of all 12 of us staying at the lodge that weekend. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gitalippstreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
An African Villa
#8 of 109 in Cape Town Central
999 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
986 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
1,024 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Underberg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Underberg House

Property: Underberg House
Address: 6 Tamboerskloof Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Underberg Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Underberg House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Underberg provides warm and hospitably service. All our colonial rooms are super comfortable with modern en-suite bathrooms. For further comfort, each room is equipped with a flat screen TV with satelite chanels, Air conditioning and heating , overhead ceiling fan, American plantation shutters, tea/coffee facility, hairdryer, free toiletries, fitted carpet, safe, white cotton percale sheets, down duvets in winter and cotton blankets inthe summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Underberg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Underberg House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing