We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lawhill Luxury Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed in a 2 bed room appartment and are very happy we chose this place.

It's the most convenient place should you walk it up to the waterfront area.

Parking-security and everything is top class. The appartment itself is spacious and well appointed with all modern equipment.

The table mountain can be viewed from some places in the building and outside. We will return to Lawhill Appartment on our next visit to Cape Town.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Girish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 September 2014

Dear Girish D Nagpur, Maharashtra, India

We are thrilled that we have become your preferred Cape Town accommodation choice! Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback.

Please do not hesitate to contact our reservations to make your next booking.

Regards,
The Lawhill Team
reservations@lawhillluxuryapartments.com
Tel: +27 (0) 21 418 2138

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for Lawhill Luxury Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the apartment was superb and the location ideal. In fact, we loved the apartment so much that we decided to stay in most evenings and cook our own meals. This was not because the local restaurants weren't good, but after busy days out we were glad to have a comfortable and luxurious place to chill out! I would highly recommend Lawhill apartments!

Room Tip: I asked for an apartment on one of the higher floors to get the best views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SueTervuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 September 2014

Dear SueTervuren,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Lawhill, we are so thrilled that you had a good time with us.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Thanks
The Lawhill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the Lawhill apartments in November last year (I know this review is very late!) and had a fantastic time. We were allowed to check in early and check out late and the management team simply couldn't do enough for us. The apartments themselves were very high quality, we stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment and had masses of room. The location (close to the V&A waterfront) is fantastic and we received passes for the local open top tour bus which was great. Overall a great stay and would definitely stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank BABing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salwa B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Lawhill Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear BABing Gerrards Cross,

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we appreciate it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lawhill very soon!

Regards
The Lawhill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just checked out of the Lawhill luxury appartments yesterday. This is our first stay in an apartment, we always opt for the 5 star facilities but thought we would give this a shot based on our South African travel consultants recommendation. Jason and Nicky Wiltshire of The Cape Tour Company & So. African Travel Co (JWNIC@mweb.co.za) have never failed to deliver on their quality or promises so we took the jump.

Again our entire stay was great ... ok, here it comes the BUT... the drier was problematic and if you think that drying a couple pair of socks and underwear was a challenge at 2+ hours dont ever try jeans. If you are going do do laundry be prepared to dry for a day and empty out the water canister in the process to ensure continued operations.

Lawhill is a great property, nicely secure and adjacent to the One & Only hotel which makes a very convenient 5 star hangout either on the way to or back from V&A or another location. Its also a great place to grab a cab from or be deposited at rather than going thru the security access scenario.

Place was cleaned daily but not to my spouse's satisfaction so some daily cleaning took place just because. Our habit no matter where we stay of leaving a daily gratuity also ensures we get a little above and beyond service and attitide.

We had a lower level unit with an un-useable plunge pool due to the water temp but it was nice not having to enter the building to get into our apartment. Lower levels are nice but you wont see either the water or Table Mountain, then again, you can spend a week in Cape Town and not see Table Mountain even with a great view.

We will be back to Cape Town which is almost a second home to us as it together with Sydney is the only other place we have visited that reminds me of the greatest place on earth, my town... San Francisco.

Room Tip: higher rooms may have views of harbor or Table Mountain, lower floors are very convenient.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CJPSanRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Overall a good experience. Our apartment was spacious, clean and very shiny. The location was excellent, the concierge service first rate, and the secure parking was also much appreciated.

A few relatively minor niggles: 1. The hot water could've been turned on before our visit so that we wouldn't have to wait to shower off the jet-lag. 2. The rooms were both doubles, rather than double and twin. Our kids hate sleeping in the same bed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salwa B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Lawhill Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Mark K,

Thank you for your great feedback, we appreciate all comments.

For any special requests such as bed configuration or special occasions, please kindly send this to reservations@lawhilllluxuryapartments.com or call us on +27 (0) 21 418 2138.

We hope to see you back at Lawhill soon.

Regards
The Lawhill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Great location, great apartment amenities but what sets this place apart is their customer service. Thou shalt want for anything! The concierge staff provided shopping, tour booking and travel logistic support without flaw. Most importantly when my husband fell ill EVERYONE stepped up, found a doctor, found transport to medical appointments, found a way to extend our stay and coordinated our travel changes.

The walk to the waterfront shopping is delightful and safe. We ate out most evenings and never felt unsafe walking back.

The tour guides they found for our Cape tour (Ibrahim) and wine tasting (Renee) were delightful and informative. They definitely enriched our experience immensely.

Go!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank sebagolizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salwa B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Lawhill Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Sebagolizzy,

Thank you for your lovely comments.

We hope your husband is feeling better.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lawhill soon.

Regards
The Lawhill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I will simply list the Pros & Cons of the Lawhill.

The Pros:
Excellent location in relation to the V&A waterfront, where there is a wide variety of places to eat, entertainment and shopping.
The property is very secure in which you use a FOB to access entry to the property.
The staff is very polite and for the most part is helpful.
The Cons:
The internet is free but only to a maximum of 2GB of data and doesn't make a difference of you are staying 1night or 6 nights (as we were) we ran out of data by the 5th night. This in my opinion needs to change.

The two bedroom apartment is large and spacious, with a washer and dryer that is difficult to operate .
The tile floors are really nice to have but are not cleaned properly and are very dirty, white socks are black within 10minutes of wearing them, gross!

The carpets in the bedrooms in the bedrooms are not vacuumed daily and have a layer of dust between the night table and bed. Underneath the bed I found an old tissue from a past guest.

Our bedding according to our introduction were to be changed every three days, this was not done during our stay at all.

The hot water is a real issue after 10pm the hot water is shut off unless you request that it be kept on. After our 2nd night I took a shower at about 10:30 the water was ice cold. I called down to have it turned back on, the gentleman said he would turn it back on but I would have to wait 20-30minutes before I would get hot water. Well after 40min the water was still ice cold~ so no shower, great! I paid to have hot water, simply unacceptable!

On our 3rd night after I requested that the hot water stay on 24hrs my family of 4 all had showers but my wife and daughter had ice cold showers again!! I called down to reception to ask why we didn't have hot water again , again I was told that they would check the tank again and that they would have to wait 20-30minutes for hot water. Unexceptable!!!
Again, after 30minutes the water was ice cold!!
Another call produced a visit to our room with a key to use apt 105B to use that shower. So I trekked downstairs with my family , like we were staying in a Hostel ( which my room rate was much more that a hostel) to have showers there. Again unacceptable!!! Where is the maintenance staff??
Finally the next morning I followed up with reception to insure that we would have hot water and was told that the timer was defective and had been fixed, which it was.
My point being that the problem should have been fixed before our arrival to ensure we had proper hot water. I was told by the night staff that our tank/timer was older and was the reason it gave us problems~ well that is not my problem! Other accomadations would have offered compensation, no compensation was offered!
Next visit to Cape Town we will be sure to try other accomadations .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank excelden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salwa B, Sales & Marketing Executive at Lawhill Luxury Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Excelden,

Thank you for your comments. We take all comments and criticism very seriously at Lawhill. We pride ourselves on our service and ensuring that we go beyond any expectations that a guest might have.

We sincerely apologise for the hot water problems you experienced during your stay at Lawhill, we try to consciously save water and energy without having to impact the comfort of our guest. We have contacted a new hot water cylinder specialist who is busy working on upgrading our cylinders for longer lasting hot water.

We have sent a detailed email to your travel agent, who confirmed that he will discuss this with you.

Once again we sincerely apologise for the unsatisfactory stay you had at Lawhill Luxury Apartments and hope that one day you might consider returning and experience the Lawhill luxury we pride ourselves on.

Regards
The Lawhill Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
0.0 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor Hou...
#14 of 111 in Cape Town Central
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawhill Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawhill Luxury Apartments

Address: Dock Road Bluff | Marina Residential, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £188 - £696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lawhill Luxury Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lawhill Luxury Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawhill Luxury Apartments Hotel Cape Town Central
Lawhill Luxury Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing