We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really authentic Asian slow food”

Chef Pon's Asian Kitchen
Ranked #355 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: City Bowl
Cape Town, Western Cape
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really authentic Asian slow food”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I cannot fault this restaurant, food and service were beyond what I expected. It was humming on a Saturday night and their service was flawless. I recommend the coconut rice and the orange duck. Definitely returning for another outstanding meal.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moonumber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    65
    18
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Chef Pon's Best in Town”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We wanted a special dinning experience as it was my friends birthday,Chef Pons was suggested. We booked and 3 days later arrived to a Great friendly atmosphere and staff.
The menu is asian fusion with loads to choose from it would have been tricky had the owner "Larry" not come over to introduce himself and make suggestions from the menu. We ordered and our starters ,main,desert were fan-tiggin-tastic!
We had a fantastic time and our birthday girl was made to feel very special along with our VIP guest-"The Beard".
Highly recommended,Larry keep it Hot XXX

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shocked F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Chef Pons service and experience”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had a particularly interesting experience at this restaurant.

My girlfriend ordered the Calamari with Chilli and basil and I ordered an Imperial Duck, which arrived about 2min later (very odd) when i saw the calamari dish i couldn't even distinguish what was calamari or vegetables it was a pile of "moosh". My girlfriend and I had a taste and it was awful, didn't seem fresh at all and the calamari steak was cold. I complained about the meal and the staff gave me really bad attitude, In the end I had to pay for a meal we didn't eat and we had to pack our own take-away up. Never going back there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwalshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“very good and worth a try when in Cape town”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

we had 5 dishes here and enjoyed them all. A lot of locals and repeat business so there is nothing more of a better recommendation than that.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good grown up dinner”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We went out with friends for dinner. The setting was great, service excellent, food really good. Perfect environment to sit back and relax. It was an affordable night out with money well spent: staff friendly but not intrusive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kahmiela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef Pon's Asian Kitchen also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Chef Pon's Asian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing