We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch spot on Bree”

Birds Boutique Cafe
Ranked #462 of 1,144 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Cafe, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Long-established cafe in a heritage Dutch building under the trees in Bree Street (Cape Town).Our menu has a focus on healthy seasonal produce. Relaxed environment - a few things you might not find elsewhere. We also provide outside catering.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot on Bree”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Birds Café is definitely a go-to spot for lunch in the Bree street area. The menu is relatively brief, but surprisingly varied. Great food, good cappucinos too. Nice location in an historic Dutch building. Have been here during the previous ownership and under new ownership and enjoyed both visits equally. Service is friendly. Nice departure from the more frenetic, "trendy" spots on Bree's parallel streets.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdviceTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    15
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sublime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Where to start? Fabulous Belgium chocolate pancakes, light as a feather, not too rich and a perfect portion. Delicious Gnocchi, pork sausages, perfect poached eggs, delicious coffee and a well rounded good quality wine list, to much to mention! Lovely relaxed ambiance, a perfect Cape Town vibe and friendly service.

Birds catered for a party I gave, I am still getting compliments on the Moroccan lamb, butter chicken and roast vegetable lasagne.

Phone, book or just pop in for a quick bite, but do go, you won't be disappointed and I'm sure you'll go back :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This restaurant - in a beautifully restored building on the edge of the central business district - is just the place for a pleasant, unhurried lunch. My wife and I stumbled across it in Bree Street and were delighted. I had home made pasta with anchovies and my wife had the fish of the day. The staff could not have been nicer and the food was simple and delicious. But this is not somewhere for a quick bite - take your time, they take theirs to prepare the food fresh. And don't miss the wheat free chocolate cake!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oranjezicht1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shocking service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I've been going to Birds Cafe on and off for a couple of years, before and since change of ownership. I'm by no means a regular, but I've been there enough times to know the breakfasts are great, the 'moer koffie' tastes like my granny made it and that the staff are generally efficient.

Until yesterday. My guy and I were saddled with the waitress from hell. The only way I can describe it is that she resembled a beta version of robo-waitress - she could only recognise words and phrases repeated directly from the menu, could not answer any product questions and seemed unable to compute requests. Also this model's emotive capacity (i.e. capacity to smile) had not been programmed yet. I'll relate three conversations to illustrate:

Conversation 1:
Me: Can I please have a glass of water. Tap water. No ice, no lemon.
Waitress. [long pause]. Water. [pause]. Do you want ice?

Conversation 2:
Me: The pancake with chocolate: what kind of chocolate do you use?
Waitress: It's a pancake with chocolate inside.
Me: Can I have the bill please.

Conversation 3:
Me (as waitress walks past me in the door as we leave): Bye-bye
Waitress: .... nothing. Absolutely nothing. Not even a nod or smile.

Birds Cafe, you need to seriously look at your employment screening policy or staff training. This is not the service I'm used to from your establishment.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Capepicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

WE discovered Birds on Bree Street one evening while walking back to our hotel and were curious about the place. We assumed it was only a day time cafe but it turns out that they are doing dinners three nights of the week. We make a reservation and had one of the best dinners during our entire stay in the city and that says a lot as this is a city with a huge number of fantastic places to eat.
The room is lovely and well laid out, nice atmosphere and excellent wait staff. The menu is not large but features a variety of plates from the land and sea, both large and small. The catch of the day, always a sustainable fish, was angle fish risotto and we also tried the lamb loin. Both were wonderfully cooked, perfectly presented and excellent value for money. Desserts are equally divine. All in all a great find, worth the visit and would come back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birds Boutique Cafe also viewed

Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Birds Boutique Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing