We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nowhere Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nowhere Better”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The safety and security were first class, as was the hospitality of all the staff, who would go out of their way to help. They would book tours etc for you. The place was cleaned every day and the facilities were excellent. As a 70 year old, first time backpacker with a suitcase, I had quite an experience. The Lodge is in walking distance of the beach, shops, eateries and watering holes. I found the beds comfortable and, in general, a very vibrant, friendly atmosphere the whole time I was there. Set back off the main road, it is quiet, except for party nights, which happen now and again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickjcoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thanks for your review - we do try to cater for young AND old (er) so I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    75
    23
    5
    4
See reviews for
20
40
58
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hostel,rooms are spacious and clean. Great beds to sleep in. Staff go out of their way to help you. Showers and toilets were clean all the time while we stayed there.morning walks were great as it is only five minutes to the park. If one is staying in Cape Town this is the ideal place to stay price is perfect and it is easy to get everywhere. Thank you Ashanti

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank krugerandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you so much for your review - hopefully see you back again one day!
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed here for four nights after our overland trip from Uganda to South Africa. Great place, friendly staff and nice locatin near he beach. A little further away from the citycentre but still within walkingditance (30 minutes) from the Waterfront, therefur very nice and quiet in the rea.

Room Tip: We chose an ensuite oubleroom but the dorms are just as nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AniqueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Hey there!
Thanks for your comment. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you back again one day :-)
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

It's a nice enough place: good location, clean rooms, okay facilities but the service and atmosphere isn't close to the other hostels we stayed at in Cape Town. It has all the right ingredients but just seems to be something lacking. Not a bad plan B.

Room Tip: Get a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trickys_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Hi there
Thanks for your review. It is always interesting hearing different people's perspective on a place because obviously one cannot cater for everyone's taste. We had a Danish couple leave this morning who absolutely LOVED staying with us because it's quiet and they can have a drink on the verandah in peace. We don't have a bar (but you can still get a drink) and we don't have parties yet guests still get an opportunity to meet each other and socialise which is what going to a backpacker hostel is all about - it just doesn't always have to be in a loud, raucous way :-)
Nevertheless, I respect your opinion and perhaps Ashanti Green Point isn't what you were looking for but I am glad that you still see it for what it is. A clean, safe, secure, central, well-run, hospitable backpackers hostel with all the right ingredients :-)
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
155 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in an individual room, the room was very clean and in good shape. There was a flat screen TV and in room safe. Shower was down the hall. They do have a small swimming pool and wireless internet.

Location is about a 20 minute walk from the Waterfront area, a cab ride back was 50 or 60 Rand (US$ 6 or 7). Downtown was a bit farther.

I had 2 service issues that were more annoying than serious problems:
- The available breakfast; some items weren't available because they didn't have the materials (i.e. they couldn't make toast because they didn't have any bread, they were out of eggs)
- I sent some laundry out to their laundry service, some of the items were still damp when they came back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrell_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Hi there!
Thank you for your review.
I apologise for your service issues. I think we were taken by surprise with our breakfasts and ran out of a few materials. This is no excuse and I apologise for the oversight...I hope you were offered an alternative.
I will also address your laundry service with that provider as it is outsource and we will ensure that it doesn't happen again.
Once again - thank you for your constructive criticism.
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Ashanti Green Point has a very nice location, close to the beach, waterfront and several grocery stores, restaurants and main transportation routes.
The rooms are simple - literally, a bed, two night stands, a mounted TV, a safe and a bathroom. And they are very clean with new fixtures and a modern feel. The staff is friendly enough, although maybe a bit limited. (Didn't get a remote when we checked in and still didn't get one when we asked again that night. Who really cares, because you don't go on vacation to watch TV, but it would have been nice to get a response and I'm just passing along the facts).
It was 18 rand for a medium bottle of water at the restaurant, which is way too pricy but the breakfast prices were reasonable.
Wifi was fast but the one-hour chits generally expired after 10-20 minutes and constantly had to be replaced.
The only big complaint was the cigarette smoke. Maybe it's the layout of the place, maybe just everyone but us smoked while we were staying there, but there was too much smoke for a non-smoker. It's a small urban lodge, so there are limited areas outside to begin with, so there's usually some measure of smoke in the air when you're trying to eat or get some fresh air on the balcony. The worst part was at night when your room starts to reek from the smoking outside.
Again, maybe it was an unusual wind direction or smoky crowd, but this fact turned a very good backpackers lodge into one that I probably wouldn't choose again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paperlions20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your review.
Firstly I am surprised you didn't receive a remove for your television as they are all at reception, but I apologise for that.
As far as the smoke is concerned, this is the first time we have ever had a complaint about the smoke and I can only presume that it is as you say that there was an unusually large number of people smoking at that time. Next time (if there is a next time) please let us know and we will take appropriate measures.
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Luckily I was only staying for 2 nights, but that was too many! Lets start with the positives - it is within walking distance of most things - beach, shops, bars etc. Rooms are clean and spacious, with a handy sink. Shared bathrooms are a good size. There is a pool and kitchen.
Negatives - Staff! Well to be fair I only came across one, a lady who was so miserable (maybe just because I was female!), every question I asked was answered, but in a way where it was just so much effort for her to speak. I then got locked out of my room for an hour and a half beacuse the combination lock broke - I got an apology, but she could have offerred me a drink at least!! Lounge area was tiny, there was a TV, but I couldn't find the remote! Kitchen was so small, and lots of things falling apart. Bathrooms could have done with soap. As far as hostels go in Cape Town, maybe this is one of the best, but I did not enoy my stay!

Room Tip: Don't choose a dorm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah14387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LisaMas0n, Owner at Ashanti Lodge Green Point, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Hello Sarah
Thank you for your constructive criticism - we may not like it, but you do certainly say it like it is.
We have only had one woman working for us at reception, Aimee, and she is no longer with us. You are not the first person to have mentioned her attitude. I can only apologise, but she did leave at the end of November.
I am not sure which things are falling apart in the kitchen - I wish you had elaborated so that I could attend to them but as far as I am aware everything is working perfectly.
Also - all the bathrooms have soap dispensers mounted on the wall with liquid soap so not sure why you thought you may need soap. We don't provide soap in the communal showers - it is backpackers lodge after all!
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, but most people do!
Regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#11 of 125 in Cape Town Central
500 reviews
The Backpackers in Green Point
#1 of 125 in Cape Town Central
489 reviews
Atlantic Point Backpackers
#3 of 125 in Cape Town Central
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Never at Home Cape Town
#6 of 125 in Cape Town Central
276 reviews
City Bowl
Once in Cape Town
Once in Cape Town
#9 of 125 in Cape Town Central
501 reviews
A Sunflower Stop
#7 of 125 in Cape Town Central
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashanti Lodge Green Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashanti Lodge Green Point

Property: Ashanti Lodge Green Point
Address: 23 Antrim Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashanti Lodge Green Point 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and super stylish, Ashanti Green Point offers quieter, more private accommodation for the discerning traveller. Green Point is celebrated for its vibrant nightlife, and nearby Sea Point buzzes with shops and restaurants, a historic seafront walkway and secluded beaches. Also within walking distance are the V&A Waterfront, iconic Cape Town Stadium and the city centre itself.Building on the unrivalled experience of Ashanti Gardens, the Green Point lodge shows the same attention to detail with superb facilities, outstanding service and excellent security. Various accommodation options are available, from backpacker dorms to private en-suite bedrooms; all with fluffy white duvets, individual reading lights, personal safes and international plug points. Private rooms also have plasma screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ashanti Lodge Green Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashanti Lodge Green Point Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing