We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time Out in Cape Town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Capo!

Da Capo!
Ranked #830 of 1,142 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Description: www.da-capo.co.za
Port Moresby, National Capital, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Time Out in Cape Town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

I found this little gem while wandering around the CBD of Cape Town. I needed a place to sit down and regroup after visiting a number of different local "craft stores" in the area.
The location is perfect for people watching. I found the menu quite extensive and the wine list quite surprising. Needless to say this resulted in me staying longer than I originally intended.
A great little restaurant / bar with attentive staff, good menu and a surprising wine list. The people watching (Greenmarket Square) from the window an added bonus.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good food but facilities not top notch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Wandering around town we found this place, the food sounded interesting from the menu so we went in. The food was good although the reasons given as to why I could not have the sirloin steak very rare were unfathomable! I went to the ladies which were not that clean nor welcoming and was somewhat surprised when the man I took to be the chef (he was the only one there with a hair-net type hat) walked in on me. Apparently he wanted to check the loo was clean. It wasn't but this didn't seem to register.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KatG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good food and wine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

This appeared to be one of the few restaurants open on Sunday evening. We had an excellent meal, a good bottle of wine, and enjoyed talking to the friendly and helpful staff .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Edmands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, GA
Level Contributor
255 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Brief Encounter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This will be a limited review as we just had quick bowls of soup because we were in a hurry to get to an appointment at 7 pm. We ordered two different types and both were very good, tasted freshly made. Staff was attentive. The menu looked very appealing, and had we had another reason to be in the area, would have tried their desserts which soundeded wonderful. It is located just off Greenmarket Square, so during the day there are plenty of stalls set up for local marketers. Some harrass the tourists a bit, but just need to move on. We understand later in the evening there is a lot of partying in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Great menu, tasty food, friendly staff that never disappointed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Capo! also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Da Capo!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing