We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great!”

The Roundhouse Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 1,148 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Steeped in over 300 years of history, the former guard house, tea room, hotel and the hunting lodge of Lord Charles Somerset has been elegantly restored with the charm and sophistication of the Grand Old Cape. The style of cuisine at The Roundhouse is uncomplicated, contemporary French, inspired by seasonal ingredients and paired with one of the finest boutique wine collections in South Africa.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lovely hotel - very quaint building. Food was excellent as was the service. Wished we were there for lunch so we could enjoy the views

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie07984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    165
    63
    33
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The proper fine dining experience! Group of 12-15 people, served by a couple of waiters. Food and wine was fab.

Worth every penny. Will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vuyiswa_Raqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
612 reviews
417 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Pots of delectable delights”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Less than 2 Km from the Table Mountain Cable Car, good to have a meal here when making that visit. Beautiful scenery of the Bay enhance the enjoyment of hot pots of Cape Malay cuisine. We ordered almost all the dishes and shared. Spicy briyani rice, pappadum crackers, chicken curry, slow roast pork neck, oxtail potjie, black mussels - All go well with basmati rice. Must try the local Mnqusho - a semolina bean mash. Cheese fondue can be missed.
A fine selection of beers - Dragon ginger beer, cloudy cider, silverback were full of character and were a fine accompaniment of the meal.
The Malva pudding is highly recommended - warm and moist. Pear cobbler tasted like granola cereal with fruits.
Service is warm, friendly and helpful.
Overall highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank nsl115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Treated by my partner to birthday lunch today. Weather not good but did start clearing and we were able to enjoy the great setting, with a panoramic view over Camps Bay from a table next to the window. The manager, Mike, explained that the lunch menu comprised "polite" portions, by which he meant quite small portions brought to the table in small potje-type dishes, so we decided to ask for a starter of mussels to share, to be followed by oxtail for my partner and chicken curry for me. Oh no, said Mike, the idea is that everything comes together at once. After some haggling, in which we explained that we certainly didn't want to have our meat mains with mussels, he agreed (how accommodating!) that we could have the mussels first, with the other dishes coming later. Food was good but not outstanding. Portions were OK for us but would probably not satisfy a really hearty appetite. Contrary to normal South African practice, everything apart from the meat was extra, so what look like reasonable prices on the menu actually become pretty expensive, e.g. the oxtail at a basic R120 comprised just a couple of pieces of oxtail and once the mash and vegetables were added the cost was just short of R200. The plates were also not warmed, which I would think should be pretty fundamental for a supposedly fine-dining establishment (I did overhear a woman at the next table sending back her mash and vegetables to be re-heated). But what really irritated me were the wine prices. The wine list is pretentious in the extreme, with a large number of offerings from obscure estates that in my many years of wine-drinking experience are noted only for selling very ordinary wines at very inflated prices. Even though the Round House will be able to get these wines at some discount to what they would cost me, by the time they are marked up by 150-200% it means that almost all of the offered wines are well over R200 a bottle. Local Capetonians often complain that so many restaurants set their prices according to what they think the foreign tourist will bear. The Round House is one example. PS On making the booking my partner did mention that the lunch was for my birthday, so on arriving I was wished Happy Birthday, which was very nice. But was I given a complimentary glass of bubbly or dessert or anything? Not a chance.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank wbowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great View”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a wonderful honeymoon dinner here. The view from our table was amazing and the food was just as good! The service was very friendly but a little slow. Definitely worth checking out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Roundhouse Restaurant also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Roundhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing