We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Wonderful Experience - Truly a 5-star...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Pembroke 403

Overlooking the Marina with Luxury Yachts, Seals & Seabirds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overlooking the Marina with Luxury Yachts, Seals & Seabirds
Lounge Area Beautiful Horses lead to TV Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
27 reviews
Overlooking the Marina with Luxury Yachts, Seals & Seabirds
Lounge Area
Beautiful Horses lead to TV Room
Corner of calm opulence in Marina Bedroom
Robin Manns Tulips
A Corner to Relax
Relax with a glass of bubbles while you plan dinner
Wonderful space to cook
TV room converts to twin bedroom
Luxury for the night in Marina Bedroom Suite
Bee-Eaters fly from Wall to Dining Table
Elephants & Orchid
Bang & Olufsen in Lounge
Evening Light
Reflections on Table Mountain Bedroom
No penance to sleep here either
Marina Bedroom exudes Space, Style & Luxury
Lovely Little Details
Designer Kenneth Cobonpue Dragnet Chair is so comfy & looks amazing
Marina & Harbour View from Balcony at Dusk
And Table Mountain balcony for evening sun
Wow! How's that for a balcony?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cape Town Central, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Santa Clarita, California
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location, Quality, Value, loved everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jan 2014
Thank you Lisa & Dave for your kind words.

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Pembroke 403. Given your extremely busy lives, I'm sure it provided a very welcome haven of peace and tranquility when you were not out and about. Ye certainly packed as much as was humanly possible into your short few days but there is still so much more to explore when you find some time to come back to Cape Town.

Meanwhile, I hope you both have a wonderful 2014.

Éilís
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jsr610
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay in Cape Town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our family has traveled to many places around the world, and Pembroke 403 was truly one of the loveliest accommodations we ever had. We thoroughly enjoyed the spacious apartment, its contemporary decor, and views of the harbor from the living room and of Table Mountain from the den. We packed a lot of activity into our short visit to Cape Town including the cable car to the top of Table Mountain, the beautiful drive to the Cape of Good Hope, and an equally scenic drive to see the whales in Hermanus. But some of our favorite moments of our visit were sipping excellent South African wine in 403 Pembroke while watching seals in the harbor, and enjoying the peace and luxury of the apartment itself.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location, views, amenities, style and, most of all, the charming owner, Eilis!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Hi Jeff

Thank you for your great review.

It was a real pleasure to interact with you by phone & email right from the moment of your initial enquiry and I feel we almost shared your time in Cape Town. You certainly packed so much in and we were delighted that you were able to follow some of the itineraries that we so enjoy ourselves when we are in Cape Town.

Pembroke 403 is our real treasure and we are always especially thrilled to share it with people like yourself, Barbara and your two daughters, Juliana & Isabella. I hope the memories of both Pembroke 403 and of your Cape & Cape Town experiences will live with you all for many a day.

Gura math agaibh.

Eilis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidaygi...
Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wow, wow and wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

This is an absolutely amazing apartment. It must be one of the very best apartments in Capetown. It is right on the V&A waterfront and has dual aspect, with balconies facing the sea and the Cape Grace hotel and table mountain and the One and Only Hotel, on the other side and so the views are just wonderful. It's really big and very luxuriously furnished.Everything was really top end. We stayed here in February 2013 and are already talking about a return visit.

We booked directly through the owner, Eilis, who could not have been more helpful or accommodating. She answered all our questions and really wanted to ensure that our holiday in Pembroke 403 was perfect in every way. Restaurant recommendations, day trips, what not to miss, where to get the best coffee, freshly baked breads, steaks, sushi etc were all kindly offered by Eilis and we felt she took a real interest in our holiday.

We loved so much about the apartment, it is hard to know where to start. The two balconies means you have sun all day and right into the evenings. Both have sun loungers and a table and chairs. I loved the bed linens which were specially commissioned from Italy and all the lovely fluffy towels in the three large bathrooms. I loved the views from both big balconies. I loved watching the seals in the bay right in front of the apartment, using the binoculars which Eilis had kindly left there for our use. I loved looking at Table mountain in all its various hues. The art work all over the apartment and the glass is just fabulous. I loved the chairs in the living room which were so comfortable. My husband loved the three gorgeous televisions with every sports channel imaginable. We both enjoyed the location. It was great to just walk over to the waterfront, and it is just a few minutes drive from all the other many Cape Town attractions.

This is a big apartment.Obviously it is perfect for a large group, as it very comfortably sleeps six. I think it would be perfect for two couples who like to travel together, but also like a little privacy. Both suites are large and are at opposite ends of the apartment. The Table Mountain suite is slightly smaller, but it gets lovely afternoon and evening sun and is just so peaceful. Both suites have electronic safes, which is also ideal for 2 groups. The kitchen has everything that you could ever need. We made great use of the picnic basket and cooler box on trips to Cape Point etc. Eilis is a wine expert and importer. She will also advise on trips to various vineyards etc.

We had all the services of a top class hotel, but with the added benefit of complete privacy. We were met by Ozzy, who was available to us for the duration of our stay, if we needed any assistance or advice. He was super, friendly, helpful and always accommodating. Eilis even provided a mobile phone for our use which was really useful to make reservations in restaurants etc.

We had a really wonderful time in Pembroke 403. If you are looking for somewhere really great to stay in while in Cape Town, stay here. We can't wait to go back! Many thanks to Eilis for all her help, enthusiasm and interest.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The high quality of everything in the apartment.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2013
Thank you so much Colette for your wonderful comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay so much.

Eilis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stex_8
stex_8
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxury at the Marina in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This enormous apartment is beyond luxury and is furnished with both taste and quality.
Overlooking the marina it is also on the edge of the V and A waterfront complex with many excellent restaurants and shops.
There is also fully secure underground parking and the whole complex is totally secure with plenty of security staff.
With unrestricted views of the ocean, sitting on the front patio in the evening is a joy ,and from the rear patio there are fabulous views of table mountain.
This place is not the usual holiday rental but is obviously a well cared for home.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location, furnishings and views.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Ottawa, Canada
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Morning views over the Cape Grace hotel.
Liked least: Heated towel racks that get very hot!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Nov 2012
Hi Cameron, Renata

We are both so glad you enjoyed Pembroke 403 as well as your Cape Town trip so much. I trust you had a safe journey back.

We look forward to welcoming back to Pembroke 403 at another time in the not too distant future. Meanwhile, keep well and have a wonderful Christmas.

Eilis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philippe...
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Private luxury in a piece of paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Pembroke in Febuary this year. We found the appartment on the Internet. The place is just amazing with easy access to the waterfront and fantastic security. If you have heard its dangerous in certain parts of South Africa, this isn't one of them. We are a family of 4, two boys 12 and 15. The boys could wander over on their own to the waterfront without any thoughts of safety.
The people running the whole thing are just wonderful, very helpful and extremely efficient. We had a problem with the Internet they came over immediately and fixed it. The whole place is like a home away from home and I can recommend it most sincerely. We had a small glitch which had nothing to do with Pembroke, they recommended a dry cleaner, they turned out to be not great. Would we stay ther again? Most certainly!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2012
Many thanks Philippe for your kind remarks about your stay at our beautiful 5 star property at the V&A Waterfront in Cape Town.

I am so glad you enjoyed it as much we would have liked for you. We do try very hard to make our guests stay at Pembroke 403 as enjoyable and seamless as possible.

I am also particularly glad that you emphasised the high level of safety - it is perhaps the one thing that people who have never visited Cape Town have some concerns about. Since we started to visit the Cape in 1998, we have never experienced any security issues though, as anywhere in the world, one should always exercise common sense. The fact that Pembroke 403 is within a very short walking distance of so many amenities for all ages makes it a perfect location highlighted by the fact that you were totally comfortable in letting your 12 and 15 year old boys come and go from the Waterfront.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Pembroke 403 in the not too distant future.

With every good wish.

Eilis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shwetashe...
bangalore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A luxury home with a breathtaking view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

We are a family of 4 ( with a son aged 20 and a daughter aged 4!) who were visiting Cape Town for a week. I had previously stayed at the Table Bay Hotel last Nov, when I was there on work, and hence keen on staying in V&A. From the time I heard from the owner ....Eilis, on mailing her about renting her apartment, I had a feeling our stay in cape town is going to be wonderful! And it was. Eilis is a wonderfully warm host..... and went way way out her way (!) to make our stay in Cape Town and her apartment memorable.
This was the first time we were staying in an apartment and not in a hotel and loved every moment of the flexibility and space that we had .... t'was a home away from home. Going from India where we have so much domestic help, was a tad worried about having to go about tidying the place and doing bathrooms etc.... however it is a fully serviced apartment and kept wonderfully clean.

Pembroke 403 offers you everything that a luxury 5 star hotel anywhere around Cape Town would .

The apartment is of exceptionally high standard. When one walks into the apartment, one is blown away by the splendid view of the marina and waterfront, the size and beauty of this carefully and lovingly furnished property. From the state of the art Bang & Olufsen TV & music system and lighting system to discerning furniture and artwork adorning the walls, this really is a property that you will love. Both the large Balconies have great views , 1 of which overlooks the marina and the waterfront complex and the other the magnificent Table Mountain.

The location of the apartment is great too... a very safe 5 minute walk to the main Waterfront complex ... 2 minutes to the One and Only Hotel ( lovely spa and some nice restaurants) and the Aquarium (amazing one... must visit!).
I recommend Pembroke 403 to everyone looking to visit Cape Town ... (my friends and family have seen our pics and swear they will be connecting with Eilis whenever they decide to go to cape town!).
Above all you will feel enriched having connected with Eilis!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The wonderful views from the balconies, the beds, furniture.... just everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2012
Shweta, I am so pleased that your visit to Cape Town and your stay at Pembroke 403 was so fantastic for you and your family.

We know just how amazing Pembroke 403 is and just love being there ourselves. Sadly as we are still working full-time, our own time there is very limited. Yes, you are right - the location is close to perfection, the views from the balconies are breathtaking both by day and night and the interiors were created with pleasure, love and huge attention to detail (not to mention cost!). While most of the furnishings and finishes were locally commissioned or sourced, some elements that were unavailable locally were shipped from various parts of Europe. All of the artwork, both on the walls and in the furnishings and finishes is original and local. Cape Town is such a creative place.

We do try very hard to provide a highly personalised service for our guests. We were delighted to be able to get reservations for you at some of Cape Town's most sought after and often unavailable tables and that your experiences there surpassed all of your expectations.

It was a pleasure and a privilege to get to know you though our many emails and phone calls in the planning and duration your trip.

With very good wishes.

Eilis
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing