We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont even deserve the one star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Dont get me wrong the place is very posh and nice for a backpackers. But the service was dreadful to say the least, the lady of the place (who seemed to be very racist indeed)- had asked us to wash the dishes- when we had not even had anything to eat! When my friend had left her phone in the room, she made a fuss about allowing her to re-enter the premises to fectch it. We waited in the communal room for the ladies (who were a little over the checkout time) to finish showering, and we did move our things out of the room. The lady had a problem with this and had asked us indirectly to leave. I have been to many backpacking places before and never have I been treated so poorly. This is the new South Africa and I am embarassed, especially since I had foreign company in my tour group! I definitely think you should give this one a skip, especially if you are coloured!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank UltimatWorldExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sergio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ViajandoAvaliando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al-Jay D, General Manager at Forty8 Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nathaliep932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al-Jay D, General Manager at Forty8 Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mateus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnkebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 928lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.0 mi away
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On The Square
ONOMO Hotel Cape Town - Inn On T...
#90 of 111 in Cape Town Central
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
HomeBase Cape Town Backpackers
0.1 mi away
Unique Lodge
Unique Lodge
#320 of 533 in Cape Town
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
91 Loop
91 Loop
#14 of 128 in Cape Town Central
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kings in Cape Hotel
Kings in Cape Hotel
#148 of 156 in Cape Town Central
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
InnsCape on Castle
InnsCape on Castle
#362 of 955 in Cape Town
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forty8 Backpackers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forty8 Backpackers Hotel

Address: 48 Hout Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range: £18 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Forty8 Backpackers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Forty8 Backpackers Hotel, TGCSA 4 Star - Graded accommodation. It is a luxurious and affordable backpackers hotel located right in the heart of Cape Town's Central Business District next to the famous Long Street. Long Street in Cape Town is renowned for it's abundance of street shops, cafe's, bars, pubs, clubs and restaurants. Forty8 Backpackers is well known for its unique elegance, you won't find trendier economical accommodation near Cape Town's hotspots than our comfortable backpackers hotel. We cater for all travellers from solo or groups visiting Cape Town domestically or internationally as we have rooms to accommodate up to 50 people. Our backpackers hotel is under new Management, newly refurbished and modernized. We focus on great service, a clean space, safety and a friendly attitude. When you travel to Cape Town make sure to visit us. We cater for adventurers of all ages including backpackers, students and groups and we have taken special care to cater for our guests needs. You will find a well catered for environment to make your stay hassle free. We have a snack bar, FREE internet access (including Wi-Fi), a Communal Lounge and Kitchen, laundry facilities and free tea and coffee. Forty8 Backpackers has 6 Bedrooms Dormitory style ranging from 4 beds, 6 beds, 10 beds and 12 beds in a bedroom and 3 Private Double bedrooms. A Dormitory room consists of double bunk beds and the Double room with Double beds. The Bathrooms are shared one for the Females and the other for the Males. We are open 24 hours, 365 days a year. At the reception you can obtain travel information, tour bookings, safety box and a laundry service. We have our own shuttle services that offer Door-to-Door pick-up and drop-off, Meet and Greet services at Cape Town International Airport, Tours and Transfers to and from different places and destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Forty8 Backpackers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing