We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveller rating
25
38
22
9
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
38
22
9
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long street city night life home away from home excellent stay lounge cleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 111 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018

The room to small for 6 ladies to change clothing. Very hot no ventilation. Poorly lighted.
Could not getup to top beds no ladders.
Very noisy outside. No plug s for hairdryer or to charge phone or tablets.
Most of all no secure parking.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank srpamgurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forty8backpackers, Front Office Manager at Forty8 Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Thank you so much for your valued review we will take it to consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

The hotel was honestly ok I love the cleanliness of the bathrooms however I do feel they can improve on the private room furniture and cleanliness. For example our room (Room 10) has this red arm chair that is dirty you would not want to sit on or hang your clothes on so maybe if it was either washed or replaced with a leather one so that it doesn't hang on to dust etc. Overall the staff is very pleasant to deal with and its a safe environment so I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pnkomo271582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al-Jay D, General Manager at Forty8 Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Good Day Nkomo

Firstly thank you for your valued review, we try and strive to deliver you the client our very best service at all times. we will take your comments very seriously and attend to these issues you have raised. Thank you once more for your valued review.

Forty8Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

We were very impressed with the Forty8 Backpackers Hotel. The staff was friendly and assists us with everything. We had a beautiful room and really has no complains. The location is perfect and everything is in walking distance. We will most definitely return to the Hotel and will recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank williamssue454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forty8backpackers, Receptionist at Forty8 Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you very much for your valued review we would be happy to see you with us again.

Kind regards,
Forty 8 Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

I booked at forty8 backpackers using booking.com 20 minutes before arrival. Upon arrival I was informed my credit card was already charged. The following day 5000ZAR of fraudulent charges were made on my card from a sporting goods store down the road. Since this was the only time I used my card the police informed me that it was someone at the hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rizzo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forty8backpackers, Receptionist at Forty8 Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for your valued response we will take it to consideration.

Kind regards,
Forty 8 Backpackers0

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Had a very comfortable stay and enjoyed the friendly and helpful staff. Great location and lots of shops and restaurants all around. Good advice given from staff and had a great time in the city. Will stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bsheph184131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forty8backpackers, Receptionist at Forty8 Backpackers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you very much for you valued review.

Kind regards,
Forty 8 Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews